All member reviews for My Name Is Earl

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Offbeat, heartfelt comedy, but not for young kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old July 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing show with some explaining to kids

This is one of my favorite shows. There is violence mostly comical and cartoonish like chairs being wacked over heads. There is alot of sexual refernce seeing as one of earls children is a love child. There is also a day time hooker named patty who apears freaquintly and most times she is there there is a sexual refernce (usauly somthing kinky). They have a best friend who is a striper at a crazy, rich mans club so there are often stories about her job. They drink almost every episode not often is it heavy, but it does happen. The role models are good when it's not showing you things from earls (main characters past) he pretty much went from a no good thief who would steal when ever he got the chance to a true good guy. The language isn't that bad it's usualy when joy (earls ex-wife) makes fun of randy (earls slow brother).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byCrazy Chel April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good Goal, Bad Surroundings

Poor Earl just wants to make the world a better place. Little by little he works to fix his past mistakes and help others have a better life. While his intentions are good his actions, and those of people around him, are not always the best. Each episode has a clear message but there is enough violence (thanks to his ex-wife) and questionable content to make a parent pause before allowing anyone under 14 to watch.
Teen, 14 years old Written byaTmeam July 17, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny but watch for little ears!

Crude Humor
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bygumba61 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynancylynn June 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
My son loves this show. He's almost 14 and I think that overall this show has a positive message.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old June 11, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great show!

Started watching this last night and its great, but a lot of kids wont get some of the jokes but still its a great show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written byTheBigJ April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I like it so far

I think this show is funny and has a good message. Earl used to only care about himself and then learns about karma and decides to turn his life around. It reminds me of a 12 step program in that he makes a list of all the bad things he has done and vows to correct them, whether it be apologizing to the people he has wronged or quitting such behavior as smoking. When he does good things, good things come his way. We could all learn a little lesson about this!
Parent Written byPlague December 17, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

My Name is Earl

Very funny show. One of my favorties to watch.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old October 17, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
I started watching when i was 7. There is this hooker that is in most episodes and they say some cuss words
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written byrobibeiss December 13, 2008
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Best Comedy on TV

Love this show! Characters are insanely funny and premis of Karma is great for bringing a positive tone to a comdey that at times could be considered vulgar. I let my near 11 yr old watch it with me. I am a little less conservative than most parents, but I am ready to explain when things such as gay bars, hookers, and such comes up...although most of the time , he doesn't even ask cuz he doesn't get it. I.E. Hookers he thinks in the first episode- Earl tries to pay a girl to kiss and date the gay guy (because he doesn't understand 'sex' fully). If you are uncomforatble as parent explaining such things then wait till at least closer to 12.
Teen, 15 years old Written byChambear November 16, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

THE redneck comedy!

This is an amazing show for a redneck comedy! I have followed this show for some time now and it is still fresh and fun to this day! It is all about a man named Earl and his younger, innocently funny brother Randy who tackle a list full of past events that hurt other people. This list is led by Karma.The show though does feature some vulgar humor, some occasional language, and characters such as a prostitute, gay character, and Joy, Earl's ex wife who is sassy, rude, and funny! The show is a teen must and is guaranteed to delight your redneck comedy urges!
Teen, 13 years old Written byZer0 July 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Make sure they know not to repeat lanauage.

I think it's cool. I watch it often. As long as the kids know not to repeat the language it's cool.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byHuebel April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, For Teens and Adults

I wouldn't recommend this for under 14. But it's a very funny show about making things right with people you have wronged. There are stereotypes: rednecks, mobile homes, beer drinking. But in the end, the show always has a happy ending.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovieperson23 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old March 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

great but a bit salty

This is brill. earl is a great role model[when he is good] and there are some hirlarous jokes.its a bit rude on langue and one chracter is a homosexual but apart from that this is good family fun!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJWilliams303 September 8, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I heard from a lot of people that it was a very funny show, so i tried watching it and it became one of my most favorite tv shows ever. Has some sexual humor in the show and some language, nothing much to worry about. Very good show.
Kid, 11 years old January 25, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I laugh so hard at this!

This TV show is the best TV show EVER! I love it! I started watching it when I was like 9 or 10 and it is so amazing! Watch it!
Teen, 15 years old Written bylalaland462 May 28, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I like it

Best white trash redneck show ever
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages