All member reviews for Naked and Afraid

Common Sense Media says

Survivalist challenge reveals teamwork ... and nude bottoms.

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Parent Written bybootsieginger July 27, 2013

Fascinating series

Find the series fascinating. So much is made of the nudism but that aspect only adds to the vulnerability of the participants. How uppity can one be naked? Minutes after watching an episode one forgets about the nudity and wonder how in the world are these people going to survive? Could be wrong but it seems that the women have an overall survivor rate better than the men. Is it because men are not used to putting up with crap and women are and learn to work with that and pain? One can only surmise.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymgyogurt October 5, 2014

I love this show

I love survival shows as is and this has like a new twist on it. Though there is some booty showing who cares. Its a butt it isn't something new.
Kid, 8 years old June 22, 2015

Great, but gross, violent, and extremely bloody show has lots of nudity, racy references, language.

This show is about women and men who must go to parts of the world and survive 21 days in the nature, nude and only have a knife, or rope, and no water or food. This show includes constant gross images of dead bugs, people eating scorpions, having gory infected wounds, bug bites, and fires burning people's skin. There is lots of swearing frequent non bleeped language including s--t and b---h, bleeped swearing includes f--k etc. There is lots of graphic nudity including bare bottoms and breasts. My rating:PG-13 for graphic nudity throughout, bloody violence, and language.
Teen, 17 years old Written byprincessofkeys. December 17, 2014

Its about Surviving!

It's not inappropriate for children because its all about surviving! Why do people always think so wrong that way! Nudisim is natural and we're born that way! We just live in a society where we have to wear clothes/been taught it's unacceptable! You people make a big deal out of it, you make it worse on the kid!
Kid, 10 years old September 26, 2015


This show has nudity in it!!!!! It's disgusting and scary. It shows people getting bug bites and wounds. It makes me want to throw up. I can't believe it got a TV-14 rating. It should be rated TV-MA.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymarlar74 July 14, 2015

Naked = a lot more bug bites :)

My kids immediately saw past the nudity and love this show. I was concerned about it at first but their only comments on the nudity are along the lines of "Ewww, look at all his bug bites," "Oh cool, they are using mud to cover their skin against sunburn," "Ouch, that fall had to hurt even more without clothes to protect you," etc. My kids enjoy learning how to make fire without matches, build a shelter with only what is in your surroundings, filter/boil water to make it safe, etc. There is nothing funnier than my son, the city kid, critiquing the contestants' shelter design.
Adult Written bytvconnoisseur June 17, 2015

Super Idiotic

Do these people have anything better to do?
Educator and Parent Written byCommon sense dad November 1, 2014

Anyone who lets their kids watch this is sick in the head.

First, this is totally unrealistic. Even the most primitive humans dress for the climate. Next, it is totally exploitive. I don’t care what culture you come from, it is not ok to have your spouse sleep nude with someone else’s spouse. It is fine for adult pornography and belongs on a porno site. Anyone who lets their kids watch this is sick in the head. It is a shame that the perverts ruined the discovery channel for my 11 year old. I guess all I can do is find out who the sponsors are and stop buying their products.