All member reviews for Naruto

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Popular anime series has lots of fights, strong characters.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 289 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysportgamer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This show is Perfectly Appropriate

First of all, I am a complete expert on everything on this show and I think people are completely exagerating on their reviews. It's is appropriate as long as the child has a brain. Nobody on this show says a bad word even once(trust me. I've seen every single episode). Sure there is blood, but very little. Only a couple drops of it at most. When Naruto transforms into the girl, you see NO NUDITY AT ALL!It is completely appropriate. There is a lot of violence, I'll admit that,but I don't see why that would be inaproppriate. As for the kiss Sasuke and Naruto share: it was an accident. One kid pushed naruto and he falls over. Besides they don't show the kiss. You just hear a smooch noise. One thing that is innapropriate is that Jiraiya, Naruto's later sensei, is a total pervert(he is proud of it,too). He constantly searches for young woman and goes crazy one he sees any. He also isn't shy to expose Naruto to it. He is also the author of an adult book that Naruto's first sensei always reads.But they never expose the readings of the book. It has a very insperational theme. The story is about a boy who had no friends or family and that was a no talent and who turned nothing into something. he is always improving, implying you can do anything if you try hard. For kids, this show is awesome. It's entertaining,sad,funny,action-filled, and it's full of suspense. Everyone should see watch this show.
Teen, 14 years old Written byturyalkhan September 29, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Naruto Mostly Ok

Everything in the series is mostly ok.But at certain time times Naruto becomes a nude lady which is quite disturbing for the young viewers and there is a lot of violence as well.But,on the other hand it teaches teamwork and believing in yourself.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byGaara-Kazekage May 1, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Well, I think it's clear that 'I' like the show..

Honestly, I just picked back up on watching it, (a few years back I watched it- and Gaara was 'still' my favorite character). The character development is pretty strong, they have complex emotions and some have very horrible back stories. For younger kids, the fights and the way some characters look might be a little scary- hense it being PG. A few people die here and there- blood is shown, and fights take forever at times- and believe me I hate long fight scenes. There is language at times, and the 'sexy jutsu' -(Naruto turns into a naked woman) made me almost loose my lunch. Even though these things are in the negetive lighting- and will stay there- there are so many good things about the show that I'm willing to dismiss those. The friendship/respect and loyalty the characters have for eachother is insperational. Bad characters change heart due to understanding, (like Gaara changed due to Naruto understanding him), before that, Gaara was a killing machine, keeping to his motto 'love only yourself'. Even, he is willing to kill his siblings if they stay in his way. Naruto made him see the light- those kind of transformations are something you don't always see in shows. I agree with AnimeFreak200, though. A very overrated show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 28, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
I. Absolutely love this show. It tells me, that anything is possible if I put my mind into it. I watched this when I was very young, and it has influenced me ever since. The fighting may be an issue for younger kids, but, if everyone in the world would take time to watch this, it could changed the world. This anime, is about a boy with a monster trapped inside him. Everyone shunned him, but he found someone that acknowledged him, and he was top ninja. This anime is a true classic, and there will never be an anime that will be as life changing as this. There are many kids that are in the position of being "hated" and this, will change their life. Please take time to watch this, and don't judge it by the first few episodes. This show has absolutely brought me to tears.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 and 13 year old Written byVeryProudParent June 6, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A great anime.

My 8-year-old son and I watch this every Saturday when it airs on Disney XD. I used to watch this with my 13-year-old son, but he doesn't watch it anymore (he instead watches Kekkaishi and others).
Teen, 15 years old Written byrock lee rules,... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byGerald Stepp February 26, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

My Review is in the link

Click
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygood father who... May 3, 2010
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Naruto, the truth behind the facts

Okay, I am a huge fan of Naruto, and have seen every episode, in Japanese and English, in Japan it's up to a part 2 after a time skip of 3 years and everyone is 3 years older, nonetheless, the review: As the show is aired on Cartoon Network I'd give it 10+, but the fact is it is extremely edited from the original Japanese version, the Japanese version used words such as "shit" "damn" "bastard" an awful lot, and the violence was much bloodier, that is why there are Naruto Uncut box sets, which many collector's and kids probably want, be careful, the English version of these is fine, with cursing such as "crap" or "damn", but the violence raises it to Viz's T+ rating (16+), and part 2 of naruto is being released in a year, and that is after the time skip, which is much bloodier, sexual, and using more cursing then many shows on adult swim, Part 2 is planned to be aired on adult swim as TV-14 for a reason, it's scary as well, as the akatsuki members consist of a Grim Reaper, a man made of dead bodies sewn together, a man who turned himself into a living puppet along with thousands of others by removing their organs, etc. Be careful But it is a great anime, great plot, America did some terrible dubs, I recommend the Japanese version for the more mature kids, I've seen the uncut in Japanese and every episode, and I believe it's a terrific anime, thumbs up
Adult Written byjoshuaryung January 11, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This is a very good kid show but if u want a more adult show watch naruto shippuden

Adult Written byCocktailSquid October 19, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great adventure, heroes, and story

If they had had this series when I was a child, I would have wanted to be a ninja until high school (I would have still wanted to be a ninja but would have found out that there were few colleges for it.). It is a great story, it has wonderful role models, and it focuses on following dreams and trying to help make the world a better place. There is a lot of violence, since it is an action series; but most of the actual hits are done "off camera" or not shown closely. There are a few parts that can be hard if you have a sensitive child, but in general, I would say it is safe for most ages. There is some smoking, drinking, and stupid anime girl oggling; but it's nothing too serious and not something that is really something they could mimic. There is some death in the series, but it is something that is handled as a very serious thing. It is shown as being something that affects their lives, not as something that happens every day -- even ninjas.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byParranormalHour June 21, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

More to the story than Naruto

On thing that really bugs me is the 'there is blood and violence'. Yeah you should have figured that out going into the series. THEY ARE NINJA! A ninja is in all honesty an assassin. They kill for money. While these ninja's are slightly different and take other missions they are still ninjas not every kill is going to be a clean one. Next Naruto has a nine tailed demon fox sealed inside of him. He hates being treated as the fox (Kyuubi). However Naruto had an easier life than the other Jinchuriki (means human sacrifice) Gaara of Suna. Gaara's name literally means I love only myself, I am demon. His name describes him very well. Next we have Jiriaya, he rights adult novels and is scene doing 'research' meaning watching women bathe. Then there's Itachi and Sasuke who have a very dysfunctional family relationship. Oh, another thing that bugs me about Common Sense's review is they forgot to mention Sakura. Personally I think Sakura is weak until Shippuden. Then there is Naruto's Sexy Jutsu and Harem Jutsu. He transforms in a young, gifted woman with smoke covering all the innapporate parts. He mainly uses this to expose perverts or get something from Jiriaya. I think it is funny and not offensive at all as it shows how perverted men are. I guess what I am trying to say is its a show about ninjas in a country where wars are not uncommon. Children are trained as ninjas who kill because it is kill or be killed, but they are also protecting their village. Betraying your village is seen as taboo. Loyalty and betrayal are two themes of Naruto. I personally I think Shikamaru makes a better role model than Naruto because Shikamaru actually takes responsibly, thinks things through, and is very smart.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pretty good Anime.

I love this Anime so much! It has a great theme song and great animation!
Parent Written byKakashi_Hatake October 9, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Epic story telling at its finest!

Nartuo and Naruto Shippuiden are both excellent, filled with rich character development, multiple story arcs, and points of view. Taken together, these are easily as sophisticated as adult shows produced by HBO and Showtime. Frankly, they might beyond the capacity of younger less mature viewers to follow. The Japanese is version isn't censored and in my opinion better.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old June 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Naruto-good or bad

Well if you like ninjas this is your show. Some episodes on season 1 can be innapropriate like episode 2 and a couple more. But if you want to watch the fights and stuff like that but dont want to watch the iffy stuff and your young start at episode 4 and skip episode 52 and so on. Then start at 60 or 59 i cant remember also dont watch episode 140. You can thats your choice but i recomend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 16, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Cool Show

Don't know why everyone hates it. I think its really cool and funny.. some of the morals are stupid, but I still think its awesome. ^.^
Parent of a 17 year old Written byhistorygeek53 September 26, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

reconmended for teenagers

I think parents should explain to thier child under 11 or 12 that the stuff in naruto is not real. Violence is problem for children under the age 12 (especialy for 6-10 rage). The uncut version and shippuden sub titled should be watch by teens and possibly 12 year olds
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bycameo January 4, 2009
Kid, 12 years old June 19, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Mild language and Pervy Sage

There is some language in the dubbed I don't know about the subbed the language is just da** bas**** and sometimes we're screwed . Pervy Sage is quite the perv he get tons of nose bleeds and is always doing his so called research for his porn novel (which Naruto's sensei loves) but this is put in the show for amusement and Naruto's sexy haram jutsu covers all the sensitive parts and it is also meant for amusement because when he does it the men get nosebleeds which is meant to be funny...The show is about ninjas expect violence...This shows good for 11 and up... By the way one of my faves also try Naruto Shippuden which continues the story...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 17, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

some concerns

well Naruto is a ninja based story about a young boy with a demon sealed within his stomach. he uses this power to help him defeat enemies from his village. the show is about teamwork and has plenty of great role models. yet Naruto when he was younger would use his jutsu sexy jutsu and transform into a nude lady. that might be a little disturbing to younger viewers. the genitals and breasts are covered. there is very minor language such as h*** d*** and very brief a**. overall it is great for viewers ten and up. the violence is a little much though. people are sometimes bloodied beaten up killed and more so beware. there is one episode where Naruto has to help guard a man who drinks a whole bottle of vodka every time you see him which might be a little shocking to parents. also one of the jonin or sensei are a chain smoker but no too much more than that. also there is one sensei who is a pervert i rate it TV-14 bloody violence brief language suggestive themes and use of tobacco and alcohol
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMary Fallon Smith June 12, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TERRIBLE INFLUNCES!

My son is usually a pretty well behaved kid. His name's Gabe. He asked me to watch this, because all the kids at school are, and I checked the rating. TV-14 for season 3. He's 15, sure, I said. The first episode he finished changed him (he started at the 3rd season). He says that he wants to watch South Park now, because he's not a kid anymore. He claims Naruto taught him he's not a perfect child anymore, or even a child. I just don't think he can handle it. Really? I couldn't believe it! Luckily, they don't show this show on TV that much, BUT STILL! I was wrong. I told him he couldn't watch South Park, and he went nuts. He's watching Naruto on You Tube now... It's only been week, and he finished. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I told him enough is enough. I'm forebiding him to watch it. I knew he might watch it behind my back, so I'd check his You Tube history. Know what I find? He's been watching Naruto AND South Park. CURSE YOU ANIME! I take away his iPod for a punishment. He throws a fit. His grades have also gone down since watching this show. I talked to some other moms, and they said it has many agressive moments that makes the children agressive too. Yes, even 15 year olds. I feel really bad about this. Any suggestions?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages