All member reviews for Orange Is the New Black

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Quality true-story prison dramedy with sex, strong language.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 46 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 19 year old Written byValdoria September 25, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Sad exploitation of women even in a woman's film

Why they need to make women get naked for this movie is beyond me. Tell the story, don't prostitute the actresses.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byMegan0101 July 19, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS

I saw a trailer for this a while ago. Now seeing that it was on Netflix, I decided to give it a try. In the first scene there were. Lesbian couple taking a bath together. Shows nudity. Second scene is where she's in prison done taking a shower. She bends over to wrap her hair up in a towel and in the shot you can clearly see her breasts. In my opinion, it is not for children or teen. At this age you should not be seeing anyone in your life or on tv naked. Although the drama and suspense is incredible as well as the plot, as far as apropriateness goes, it's horrible.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

awesome!

The movie has positive messages and role models. The show has some violence, there is some scenes of lesbian sex, there is graphic language and a scene of a toilet made alcoholic beverage, there are corrupt prison guards who sell drugs to some inmates. The show has a very good story and is worth the watch
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14, 18, and 18 year old Written bySaima1111111 June 22, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 9, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Fewer shows capture such great drama and comedy

Before I start the 2nd season, which I hear is already incredible, I wanted to come on here and just gush about "OITNB" for a bit. The performances are all around fantastic, especially Piper, played with humanity and an underlying sadness by breakout Taylor Schilling. To list my favorites: Red, Larry, Nicky and Pornstache. All colorful characters with extremely colorful language that never fail to entertain. This is certainly adult and older teenage drama, and there could never be anything like it on cable...maybe HBO, but not cable! Binge on it now so you'll be in the loop!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrpsrascal October 15, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

how mature is your child>

while there is lesbian sex literally every 5 minutes, it has a very intriguing plot line, and the constant nudity isn't a huge issue.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bydevin.stormzilla June 11, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Sex Sex Sex

Why they need to make women get naked for this movie is beyond me. Tell the story, don't prostitute the actresses. The fact that little kids are watching this blows my mind. Become a parent and dont let kids watch this!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAriana507 October 11, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW ON NETFLIX.

I'm fourteen years old and I love this show. I'm way to young to watch it, but my mom is fine with it and I often watch it with her, she loves it too. This show is a comedy. But it has a lot of sex, cursing, and drugs. The main character piper, is in prison for smuggling heroine. There is a lot of lesbian sex, then there is also sex with piper and her fiancé, and other men and women having sex. VERY DETAILED. This isn't scary at all, but sometimes has depressing and sad parts. One person is hung in the first season, in the second season finale a person is hit with a car, which could be frightening or scary to some. There is a few fights.
Teen, 14 years old Written byf-u June 24, 2014
Teen, 13 years old Written bySybTaco August 21, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great! For mature audiences.

OINTB (orange is the new black) is a great show. Amazing actors, plot, and writing. The cast is very talented, the concept of the show has many lessons about life, and the writing flows perfectly to keep you on the edge of your seat. I started watching this, I'm 13. But, I know not all kids or teens can watch more mature shows. The show includes nudity, frequent swearing, and lesbian/straight material (sexual scenes) it only shows breast and behinds nothing else. However the story revolves around drugs, except unlike most shows, it's not encouraging about drugs. In fact, I believe it can teach the consequences of drugs. Piper (main character) was in love with a female drug dealer, and carried the drug money for her. 10 years later, she went to prison for it. Even though it was 10 years ago. She was charged about a year, and the show is about her year in prison. It also includes other inmates stories which also include lessons. The show is inappropriate, but great for teens and adults. The best part it's based on the true story of Piper Kerman. The show is her about her actual year in prison. I wouldn't reccomend 10 and under (or even 12 or 13 year olds) but above that if they can handle watching inappropriate shows without being encouraged then overall it's a great and funny show to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byhagrid21 June 8, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

New favorite show!

After downing Season Two this weekend, OITNB has truly proven itself as a highbrow dramedy. Though there can be nudity, sexual situations, and strong violence and language, the show is so real and relatable. And that's where it gets you. Also, the fact that an 8 year old wrote a review on this show is insane. Nice parenting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bynoellel December 23, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate

Completely inappropriate on so many levels. Why allow this filth into your home. We need positive shows especially with how society is deteriorating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Tv Addict September 25, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazingly done show has lots of "sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll"

This show has lots of lesbian sex and some drug use. Actually a lot of kids my age watch this show but it is definitely R rated. There is actually lots of positive role models showing feminism, heroine, and etc. This show is a very well written show and recommend it to any one 13+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bytylerkippert September 22, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Hilarious Comedy About Prison Also Has Heart

Orange is the New Black is a comedy about a woman's time spent in a prison. This show is strictly for mature audiences only. Since it's on Netflix, they can get away with practically anything on this show. Every curse word you can think of is uttered. Violence isn't too frequent, but when it is, it's graphic (regular prison fights, one graphic fight that has teeth and blood shooting out one's mouth). The sexual content is heavy for sex scenes are shown in and out of prison. Drugs are a main theme in this show mainly because that's how people got in prison. Illegal drugs are imported into the prison and prisoners find ways around getting alcohol. Overall, this is an excellent show. Highly recommended- but viewer discretion advised
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant year old Written bykatiem3 June 18, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Pornography integrated as a normal part of entertainment

Just because popular media says its ok, doesn't mean seeing the pornographic images and learning the hypersexualized "reality" of this show will not harm your children and yourself. Those images can't be erased and there's no clear warning of what you'll be exposed to anywhere except for "MA" on the description page. Maturity has nothing to do with it. No matter how mature a person is, the brain isn't made to casually view porographic images and NOT be impacted. My family can't enjoy the story because of all the sex, masturbation, and other explicit ideas in this show. Sorry.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byheybrittany June 14, 2015
Parent Written bybugmq July 31, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Anti Christian

STOP DEFAMING THE NAME OF JESUS CHRIST
Teen, 15 years old Written byeloisep16 June 26, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for younger kids, but absolutely amazing

I love this show, it's hilarious and heartfelt. But there is a lot of nudity, and sex, and language, and some violence. But if your kid or you are mature, it's no biggie. It's a really great show with a positive portrayal of LGBT+ characters, which is sadly pretty rare. It's well worth a watch.
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
LOTS OF LESBIAN SEX. Lots of nudity. Many swear words. Greta plot. Great characters. You must be mature to watch this!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byJustLiveLife July 4, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Maturity and Awareness are Key

The show has an AMAZING plot line and every single character is incredibly developed and thought out. I could not stress how much I recommend the show - to those who are able to take it. Obviously there is strong language, nudity, etc. as should be expected. Children raised by parents who did not allow any of this and did not teach their child that bad words and sex exist should probably not venture into this side of television. I'm sure Disney Channel has some lovely shows for them. As a 16 year old - this being the age I am and the age I watched it first - I've seen quite a few r-rated films, most notably the American Pie series which is one of my favorite comedy film series in existence. My parents know this show exists and are aware that I watch it, while neither has seen it, but my sister, who is 26, and her husband are big fans of the show and I have watched it in her presence. In all honesty, unless you or your child has been raised under a rock, there isn't much to be afraid of. Teenagers know this stuff exists. So long as you're aware that this is what you're getting into when you start watching the show, it's absolutely, 100% worth it to watch and I'm sure you'll love the plot and characters. P.S. As I've marked "great role models" I'm going to explain the fact that even though they are in a women's prison - so the characters aren't all "great" role models, the idea behind it is that - especially for girls who know the boundaries - they are very strong women characters for the most part and even outside of that the actresses are all amazing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages