Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Orange Is the New Black

Common Sense says

Quality true-story prison dramedy with sex, strong language.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 36 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 98 reviews
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013

awesome!

The movie has positive messages and role models. The show has some violence, there is some scenes of lesbian sex, there is graphic language and a scene of a toilet made alcoholic beverage, there are corrupt prison guards who sell drugs to some inmates. The show has a very good story and is worth the watch

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byAnnie Cowe October 25, 2015

Let them

Everybody is complaining about the sex, but many parents don't realize how much sex is on the internet and life. All around you there is sex: in movies, advertising, ect. Keeping your child from watching a few shows wont stop them from knowing what sex is. If your teen already knows what sex is there is nothing left to hide in this show. The amount of perspective and deterrent from prison and the unique story shouldn't be taken from your teen because of a few breasts shown once every 3 episodes.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byellaspence124 July 7, 2019

Amazing show, only for mature audiences

This show is incredibly well written, and I think that it’s gotten better as it’s gone on (I have seen all 6 seasons that are out now and am waiting for the last season to come out). It highlights important issues such as racial profiling, homophobia and transphobia, mental illness, and the harsh treatment of inmates in prisons. Seasons 4-6 particularly show the brutal treatment inmates face on a day to day basis, and strong characters are shown fighting for what they believe in. That being said, there is a lot of sex scenes between partners, both heterosexual and homosexual, particularly in seasons 1-3, though the number of scenes lessens as the show goes on. There’s also a few masturbation scenes (both men and women), and a couple times characters are seen watching porn. The show does have occasional graphic violence, but it’s so little that I could count the number of times that happens on my hands. Some characters are former or current drug addicts who sometimes smuggle in drugs or buy them off of other inmates. There’s also a storyline in which the main character starts an illegal business selling used panties to people online (it’s actually quite a funny storyline and not at all as graphic as it sounds). Prisoners and guards alike can often be racist and homophobic, but overall the main characters are good people and you develop empathy for many of them. I let my mature 15 year old watch this, and I probably would have let her watch it a year ago as well, but I wouldn’t recommend it unless your child can handle these topics responsibly (ask them about the topics first before just saying no!)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 14, 18+, and 18+ year old Written bySaima1111111 June 22, 2014

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Written byAnonymous February 13, 2019

People of All Ages Deserve Good Content.

First off let me say that this shows very inappropriate. It shows moderate sex scenes, but it's nowhere near Game of Thrones. The show is extremely interesting and eye-catching. The characters have such great roles and play the parts well, and I just can't get enough of it. The rating of the show is subjective, it depends on how mature you are. If you're a kid who knows right from wrong and gets good grades, you should be able to watch it. If you're an adult who giggles every time someone says "Boobs" then you shouldn't be watching this show. It all depends on maturity. So how about instead of an Age ranking, how about a Maturity ranking, because I find it offensive that the people in charge of ranking these TV Shows and Movies are assuming that all kids and teens are immature. Hope you enjoyed the review!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bygoodingame July 8, 2015

Needs to be taken off Netflix

I was disgusted by the amount of sex and graphics shown during those scenes there are, and then I saw the porn scene. These scenes are so detailed and graphic. The label 'MA' does not prepare anyone. This is beyond MA and it should be taken off Netflix for just anyone to see. I was disgusted by it but when I saw the actual porn scene showed on the television in Pennsatucky's room, that is when I snapped. I had to say something. This is not okay. The writers should be ashamed of themselves as should Netflix. Just because this content is on tv doesn't make it at all okay.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of an infant year old Written bykatiem3 June 18, 2015

Pornography integrated as a normal part of entertainment

Just because popular media says its ok, doesn't mean seeing the pornographic images and learning the hypersexualized "reality" of this show will not harm your children and yourself. Those images can't be erased and there's no clear warning of what you'll be exposed to anywhere except for "MA" on the description page. Maturity has nothing to do with it. No matter how mature a person is, the brain isn't made to casually view porographic images and NOT be impacted.
My family can't enjoy the story because of all the sex, masturbation, and other explicit ideas in this show. Sorry.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byValdoria September 25, 2013

Sad exploitation of women even in a woman's film

Why they need to make women get naked for this movie is beyond me. Tell the story, don't prostitute the actresses.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byFatalCulture July 29, 2019

Not Very Interesting

Seems like a show that’d be interesting to some, lots of pointless sex and nudity that distracts from the story - usually a good tell that a show is rubbish, especially if it’s the opening scene.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byHeather M. July 27, 2019

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLilmiscorps July 27, 2019

Mint

Great although many drugs and sex scenes are shown impeccable storyline

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byProtectiveMonitor11 June 25, 2019

This show has mean characters but I still like the show

It should not be watched by ANYONE under the age of 16 and certainly not by any immature audience.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMeliNicole19 May 7, 2019

Good plot but too much nudity.

This show is very well done when it comes to the plot and keeping the viewer interested, but there is a disturbing amount of graphic sex and language. Parents need to know this is not a show for children at all. There were scenes I had to skip through because of the graphics. Truly gross.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJchap April 30, 2019

Good show, for mature audiences

Appalling how many kids are on here giving reviews. So irresponsible of Netflix bc they know kids watch mature content and it helps their viewership. Yes, 14 year olds can probably handle the content, but this is not the messaging I want to support to my 14 year old. Im actually surprised we still have ratings. Honestly, no one seems to care anymore.
Adult Written byAnne89 January 1, 2019

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Written byAnonymous November 23, 2018

The butt review

This show is more for adults and older audiences. There is no drugs but rare scenes of them drinking alcohol. There is some nudity showing full bodies. There is strong language and someone yells get the f*ck out of there to someone in the shower. This is a mature show that is not meant for younger audiences. The show also has some scenes where they talk about drugs. There is rarely any action in the show but people do die and there is some blood. In one episode there is a gory stabbing with sounds in pain and death.
Adult Written byBriannat02 October 29, 2018

Good plot line but sex is portrayed very graphically.

I am 16 and am reviewing on the parent section because I think it’s very important for parents to know what their kids are really watching. I’ve seen reviews from 10 year olds and frankly, I’m surprised these kids lived long enough to even write a review. My parents would have killed me if they found me watching this show at 10 years old. The sex is shown pretty graphically and there are VERY up close and detailed pictures of vaginas and breasts. Sometimes women’s bodies are shown fully naked, sometimes in a sexual way and sometimes not. Oral sex between women is a common depiction in this show and other homosexual relationships. Sex between men and women is much more minimal and when there is any, it is mainly implied instead of actually shown. The cursing in this show is of a ridiculous amount. There’s lots of talk about sex in the show and some relationships between guards and inmates. Drugs are not a big deal because it’s a prison but there is some talk about them and one inmate dies of an overdose. I have not finished the show so this is only what I have seen in the beginning portions and if there’s this much mature content in the BEGINNING of the show I’m sure there will be much, much more as the show progresses. I would highly advise against allowing any of your kids under 16 to watch this. It doesn’t matter how mature you consider them to be, this is really not a show for any kid under 16 to watch. Honestly, I get uncomfortable with the things in the show. Please, be mindful of what your kids are watching and make sure they stick to the things appropriate for their age. No child should be exposed to things like this at any age under 16, or even above 16.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byAndrew G. October 27, 2018

Incredible!!

Absolutely amazing show for all ages!! I think that while the show is inappropriate any 15 year old and older should be able to handle it. Amazing storyline, which only gets you more hooked throughout the show. Beat show of all time!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDoNotWatchThisN... August 16, 2018

Too much sex!

I am a parent of a 15 year old. I let him watch this, and he claims the show has good plot. I’m all for a show with good plot, but whenever I peeked over his shoulder I saw this:

-Lesbian Sex
-Nudity
-Drug dealing (which he claims were flashbacks)
-and HE REPEATS BAD WORDS TO ME!!

The last note is a big one. He says words to me that are offensive. He has called his little sisters “p---sies” and told me to “f--k off.” DO NOT LET YOUR KIDS WATCH THIS

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bybryvney July 23, 2018

Ups and downs

As other reviews say the content is very graphic but there are always pros and cons to consider.
Pros- The storyline is amazing and the show really hooks you in, eager to see every step of the prison journey. It is usually seen from the main character, piper Chapman, point of view however the various point of views is an interesting twist in the story. I personally love the way the show allows us to take a deeper look into the prisoners personal lives before prison and what they did to end up locked up. I must say it is very different from any show I’ve seen an they always manage to make every episode interesting.
Cons- Yes the previous reviews are very agreeable. There is a very lewd show and they often incorporate unnecessary nudity into the episodes. If I had to give an educated guess I would say there is nudity maybe every other episode making it very difficult to sit through it with family. There are also scenes that may trigger some people, examples being suicide, mental health, crimes (of course) etc. If you were wondering if you should watch this with family, definitely not. With a close friend? Sure? By yourself? Absolutely.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages