All member reviews for Orange Is the New Black

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byMegan0101 July 19, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS

I saw a trailer for this a while ago. Now seeing that it was on Netflix, I decided to give it a try. In the first scene there were. Lesbian couple taking a bath together. Shows nudity. Second scene is where she's in prison done taking a shower. She bends over to wrap her hair up in a towel and in the shot you can clearly see her breasts. In my opinion, it is not for children or teen. At this age you should not be seeing anyone in your life or on tv naked. Although the drama and suspense is incredible as well as the plot, as far as apropriateness goes, it's horrible.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bytylerkippert September 22, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Hilarious Comedy About Prison Also Has Heart

Orange is the New Black is a comedy about a woman's time spent in a prison. This show is strictly for mature audiences only. Since it's on Netflix, they can get away with practically anything on this show. Every curse word you can think of is uttered. Violence isn't too frequent, but when it is, it's graphic (regular prison fights, one graphic fight that has teeth and blood shooting out one's mouth). The sexual content is heavy for sex scenes are shown in and out of prison. Drugs are a main theme in this show mainly because that's how people got in prison. Illegal drugs are imported into the prison and prisoners find ways around getting alcohol. Overall, this is an excellent show. Highly recommended- but viewer discretion advised
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrpsrascal October 15, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

how mature is your child>

while there is lesbian sex literally every 5 minutes, it has a very intriguing plot line, and the constant nudity isn't a huge issue.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byThecoffeeowl224 February 6, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bychapmas October 31, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bykjhebb October 16, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Depends on parental/family views

In my opinion, this series is fine for mature 14 year olds however for under 16s parents should research/watch first. I haven't seen all of the show yet but in my experience while there is a lot of nudity and swearing there isn't much violence. I think personally that sex and things like that are fine as long as they aren't violent. There is a lot of lesbian sex and some unpleasant comments from guards and things like that. I don't think there is anything in this show that would really "disturb" a child however I also think anyone under 13/14 wouldn't really find it that interesting.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAriana507 October 11, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW ON NETFLIX.

I'm fourteen years old and I love this show. I'm way to young to watch it, but my mom is fine with it and I often watch it with her, she loves it too. This show is a comedy. But it has a lot of sex, cursing, and drugs. The main character piper, is in prison for smuggling heroine. There is a lot of lesbian sex, then there is also sex with piper and her fiancé, and other men and women having sex. VERY DETAILED. This isn't scary at all, but sometimes has depressing and sad parts. One person is hung in the first season, in the second season finale a person is hit with a car, which could be frightening or scary to some. There is a few fights.
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Tv Addict September 25, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazingly done show has lots of "sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll"

This show has lots of lesbian sex and some drug use. Actually a lot of kids my age watch this show but it is definitely R rated. There is actually lots of positive role models showing feminism, heroine, and etc. This show is a very well written show and recommend it to any one 13+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byhugopaws September 21, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

With one word: Intense

OITNB (Orange is the New Black) is a fantastic show. It shows how no matter our race, sexual orientation or any other barrier between us, we're all really the same. There's a lot of great messages of people being brought together, even under the circumstances. There is some sex and a lot of swearing, but if you have a mature kid who understands those things, this show is a must see. If you can see it, you should watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCharisLia September 13, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Best Show For A While

This TV show is really good, and to be quite frank, it isn't as bad as people make out, it is a good show, with an intriguing plot and sort of relatable characters, and although there is nudity and swearing, I can guarantee that most kids aged 14 will have heard all of this stuff before.
Teen, 16 years old Written bychosreviews August 26, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing show but be warned..

i LOVE this show. all the characters are played soo well by the actors. each character is so vibrant and learning about their hardships and lives is so amazing and eye opening. i'm 16 years old and i do think that this show has alot of inappropriate scenes including lesbian sex scenes with full nudity and really bad words that you wouldnt hear on regular tv shows. but it really just adds to the show and is a big part of it that adds to the effect! i think that there isnt a certain age that people should be allowed to watch because it all depends on the maturity level of the kid and how they react to this. for me, watching the scenes with drugs and sex dont influence me in a negative way where i want to go smoke or anything! but for someone else it could influence them to do drugs or really corrupt them i dont know haha. but it really just all depends on the person. the show is amaaazziinngg though.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySybTaco August 21, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great! For mature audiences.

OINTB (orange is the new black) is a great show. Amazing actors, plot, and writing. The cast is very talented, the concept of the show has many lessons about life, and the writing flows perfectly to keep you on the edge of your seat. I started watching this, I'm 13. But, I know not all kids or teens can watch more mature shows. The show includes nudity, frequent swearing, and lesbian/straight material (sexual scenes) it only shows breast and behinds nothing else. However the story revolves around drugs, except unlike most shows, it's not encouraging about drugs. In fact, I believe it can teach the consequences of drugs. Piper (main character) was in love with a female drug dealer, and carried the drug money for her. 10 years later, she went to prison for it. Even though it was 10 years ago. She was charged about a year, and the show is about her year in prison. It also includes other inmates stories which also include lessons. The show is inappropriate, but great for teens and adults. The best part it's based on the true story of Piper Kerman. The show is her about her actual year in prison. I wouldn't reccomend 10 and under (or even 12 or 13 year olds) but above that if they can handle watching inappropriate shows without being encouraged then overall it's a great and funny show to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
LOTS OF LESBIAN SEX. Lots of nudity. Many swear words. Greta plot. Great characters. You must be mature to watch this!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bypopking565 August 16, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Insightful Netflix drama dives deep into the world behind the bars of prison..

This is one of those shows where you really got to know your kid. OITNB is going to be one of those shows everyone's going to want to see to be on the bandwagon, when it has a lot of iffy material. Mainly, the issue is the sex which is mostly put in for thick plots and shock value, but it rarely occurs during the first season. Each new episode delves into the inmates back stories and let's you determine their innocence. I'm mature for my age, which gives me the power to watch this without giggling, but I should let you know there are pictures of a vagina and penis early on, that might shock of disturb you. But overall, it teaches everyone that we all make mistakes and are all discriminated for what makes us different, which is a good thing to build off of in your future, while still being able to crack up at a Russian chef! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlue Crayon August 2, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good show, bad stuff

I've read some of the other reviews made by kids and must say that you should never ever look at kids reviews ever again. This show is incredibly inappropriate, but very good. I personally love this show but... You see adult things. Lets be serious, It is a show about a women's prison. In almost every scene/Conversation the word F**k or Sh*t, even Pu**y is said. There are racist scenes, sexual scenes (with insane amounts of nudity, like you see everything), drug dealing, killing, fighting, rape, and a lot more.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRainsong July 29, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The best show not on television

I'm halfway through season two and I absolutely love it. OITNB is probably the most diverse and realistic show I've come across: the women at Litchfield come from all walks of life, and they look and act like real people. Everyone, from the guards to the inmates to the people outside, has flaws and vices, and you learn the why and how of them, which doesn't happen often with TV shows. As far as content goes there is definitely sex (but relevant sex, it's not senseless pornography), language and drugs to worry about, and some pretty heavy themes. I'm 16 and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone younger. But if you're mature enough to handle it? You need to start watching this show, like, yesterday. Brilliant cast, brilliant writing, definitely my favourite show at the moment.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bynaomixoxo July 22, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Worth It

Yes there is sex and nudity but not as much as you may think. nudity comes up on occasion but you usually only see it for a couple seconds seconds. As for the sex it's all part of prison drama it's not insanely graphic like porn either. It doesn't happen often either. there are sexual "references" more often than sex. violence is minimal and drug use isn't necessarily inappropriate. The plot line is amazing and the characters are impecable. loaded with life lessons as well. Great great show I would recommend to anyone who can handle seeing a boob once in a while. I've seen worse in sex ed in school. the sex and nudity is overbearing and it's totally worth it because the show is so interesting
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byLooks_blue_tastes_ July 7, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pause

Pause get to know your child me and my mother watch this together if your child's mature enough let them enjoy this show it has some role models but also a lot of drugs not a lot of drinking some smoking but a lot of sex lesbian sex sex and a gay sex scene
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJustLiveLife July 4, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Maturity and Awareness are Key

The show has an AMAZING plot line and every single character is incredibly developed and thought out. I could not stress how much I recommend the show - to those who are able to take it. Obviously there is strong language, nudity, etc. as should be expected. Children raised by parents who did not allow any of this and did not teach their child that bad words and sex exist should probably not venture into this side of television. I'm sure Disney Channel has some lovely shows for them. As a 16 year old - this being the age I am and the age I watched it first - I've seen quite a few r-rated films, most notably the American Pie series which is one of my favorite comedy film series in existence. My parents know this show exists and are aware that I watch it, while neither has seen it, but my sister, who is 26, and her husband are big fans of the show and I have watched it in her presence. In all honesty, unless you or your child has been raised under a rock, there isn't much to be afraid of. Teenagers know this stuff exists. So long as you're aware that this is what you're getting into when you start watching the show, it's absolutely, 100% worth it to watch and I'm sure you'll love the plot and characters. P.S. As I've marked "great role models" I'm going to explain the fact that even though they are in a women's prison - so the characters aren't all "great" role models, the idea behind it is that - especially for girls who know the boundaries - they are very strong women characters for the most part and even outside of that the actresses are all amazing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byeloisep16 June 26, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for younger kids, but absolutely amazing

I love this show, it's hilarious and heartfelt. But there is a lot of nudity, and sex, and language, and some violence. But if your kid or you are mature, it's no biggie. It's a really great show with a positive portrayal of LGBT+ characters, which is sadly pretty rare. It's well worth a watch.

Pages