Common Sense Media says

Classic 'toon mixes spinach and stereotypes.

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
age 7+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner March 26, 2011

Don't you just wish they had stuff like this on T.V. now?

I admit that I am a Popeye fanatic. He was back then what we call now: "THE MAN!" Violence between Popeye and Bluto is the basic bad thing about the cartoons. Every once in a while you'll see a charecter smoke a cigar, and Popeye always has that pipe in his mouth. The Grown-ups will just need to talk about what was tollerated on t.v. back then is very wrong. Popeye is a good rolemodel for small kids. So little-ones, EAT YOUR SPINACH!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

its funny

popeye is a great childrens show that isnt too violent and in lots of episodes popeye was a great role model because studys showed that in that in tha 1930 that 30% of kids ate more spinach and popeye rocks!
Teen, 17 years old Written bynduns April 9, 2008

A very funny and entertaining classic

Now in terms of children, I think this is okay for them, but it's true what commonsense says, the show can get very violent, even more than Looney Tunes. Also, in the classic Popeye episodes, it's true that Popeye's a good guy, but he has serious anger issues to work out. Even his theme songs says so. It clearly indicates that if you make him in the slightest bit mad, he'll send you beyond the hospital. Now this is the old episodes, in which a few were banned (Mostly for racism and world war propaganda) but the newer episodes were more tame. Certainly they were violent too but they weren't as bad and Popeye seemed like more a role model in those episodes. My favorite thing about this show is that it proves something. I hated how Popeye was always being beaten by that fat chunker Bluto but in the end, he would always win and that proved that there was justice in the world. Sad to say, something commonsense forgot to add is that a lot of the time, Olive seems to be a bit of a two-timer, hypocrite and some other words you can come up with. There's only 2 episodes where Olive gets what she truly deserves, Popeye dumping her on the spot.
Adult Written byLowe's man April 11, 2014

much to point out and discuss

Popeye greatly increased the demand for spinach. When Popeye first came out in the 1930s children who had detested spinach were suddenly demanding it, as Popeye promoted spinach as being good for you (which it is). If I could compare Popeye to any U.S. President, it'd be the first President Bush (George H. W. Bush). Just as Bush tried peaceful means with Iraq as long as possible after they invaded Kuwait in August of 1990, Popeye tries peaceful methods as long as he can. But, like Bush in January of 1991, when Bush felt that we had no choice but to use force against Iraq, Popeye eventually feels that he has no choice but to use force against Bluto. Regardless of how parents feel themselves, they should tell their children that there comes a time when people feel that they have no choice but to use force. Since Popeye spans decades, cultural changes can be noticed. For example, while Olive was helpless for a long time, she was more assertive in the Hanna-Barbera cartoons of the 70s and 80s. For the longest time Popeye, like many men and perhaps even some women at the time, was against women drivers, but was fine with it in the Hanna-Barbera cartoons. In the theatricals that ran from the 1930s to the 1950s Olive was a disastrous driver (which was the way some people at the time perceived women drivers, even though there was no factual basis to support that), but in one episode from Hanna-Barbera Olive drove a truck! Popeye and his father (Pappy) frequently got into arguments regarding what he should and should not do at his old age. In the Fleischer cartoons of the 1930s Popeye won, but in the Hanna-Barbera cartoons Pappy won these battles. It may have helped that Bill Hanna and Joe Barbera were still working full-time even though they could've been collecting Social Security. Wimpy, in my mind, was autistic. Others agree with me. In the Fleischer cartoons Wimpy had a job as an announcer, just as he did in the Hanna-Barbera cartoons. In between those eras he did not have a job. Presumably he received either welfare or SSI. This is a great opportunity for parents to introduce their children to the debate about whether or not able-bodied disabled people should be required to work. In a sequel that premiered in 1987 and lasted for a year on CBS titled POPEYE AND SON (which will hopefully come out on DVD fairly soon), Popeye and Olive finally got married and had a 9 year old boy. This shows that even people who are odd or different eventually will be accepted if they're good and good-natured. Parents can ask their children how they think Popeye finally won Olive over. (Incidentally, in this show Bluto was also married, to a woman named Lizzie, and they too had a 9 year old boy.)
Teen, 15 years old Written byrebma97 December 7, 2012

"Popeye" review

It's an okay show. Violence: This show contains frequent violence (most of it cartoonish), which was popular back when it first aired. Drinking/Drugs: Popeye smokes a pipe, but that was accepted back then. Also, Popeye eats spinach to make himself stronger, which I guess could be seen as a drug, but it's spinach so it's not really bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAbe1998 June 30, 2012

Slightly violent but appropriate enough for kids

This is a classic T.V. show that is totally awesome and child-friendly. While there is some violence, it is very cartoony and unrealistic. Here's the scoop: Violence 3.5/10: While very cartoony, some parents might find the "mild" violence a little too much for kids under 5 or 6 (Popeye gets his head shut in a table by Bluto, Bluto chokes Popeye while doing a magic trick, and there are some sword and fist fights.) While slightly violent, they manage to keep it on a family-friendly level, without blood and/or gore, but sometimes black eyes and bandages. Sex 2/10: Bluto seems to lust after Olive (not obvious to little ones but it is clear that he really is infatuated with her.) In several episodes, he tries to force her to kiss him (one where he is in a very lustful state with his tongue sticking out.) Both Popeye and Bluto fight over her and one eventually wins her over. Popeye and Olive kiss occasionally (usually with the camera turned.) None of this, however, is too inappropriate for children. Language: 1/10: No cussing or slang, but insults like "runt" and "double crosser" are used. Smoking 4/10: Popeye smokes a pipe, Bluto occasionally smokes cigars and cigarettes. Positive message 7/10: Teaches kids that spinach is healthy and will make ya strong! Entertainment and funny 8/10: Very fun to watch and overall a positive show
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 6 years old January 7, 2012

Funny

I EAT MY SPINACH!!!!!!! AND MY WHOPPER's
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2011

For People 5+

It's good for almost all 1.Off for 0-3 2.Iffy for 4 3.5+ on I did this because Bluto uses an Oven as an Bomb WTF
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byYlndgomez September 26, 2009

I LOVE POPEYE.

I LOVE POPEYE HE'S MY FAVORITE.
What other families should know
Great messages