Common Sense Media says

Smart detective series more funny than graphic.

Users say

(out of 191 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent Written byvals June 12, 2012

Not what it once was

Psyche used to be a nice clean funny and entertaining show. I tuned in to watch it the other day and will not watch it again. The language was bad, and there were repeated references to sex. Using *Christ* as a swear word on a supposedly family oriented show is absolutely unacceptable.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bysarahkay89 April 16, 2011

Good for adults and older teens, but not kids or young teens.

I personally LOVE this show. It is so hilarious and brilliantly thought-out! I love the dynamics of Shawn and Gus and the witty, humorous dialogue between the two Psych does have language in it, as well as a few sexual innuendos that occasionally manifests itself in a sensual scene. Overall, I think this show has many positive points, but the negative things, make it unsuitable for young teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 3, 2011

one of the best

Psych is 1 of the best shows, Its funny its suspenseful. I recommend it!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byWisdombody February 23, 2015

Awesome show for slightly older crowd

I love this show so much, I know every episode like the back of my hand and want to share my thoughts for other parents. I let my then 9-year old daughter watch this with me but with great caution. This is such a fun show but you must consider your child's maturity level. Dead bodies are shown (thought never over graphically) and there are some taboo scenes and innuendo. There are still a handful of episodes my daughter hasn't seen and won't see until she's a couple years older. If in doubt, I suggest watching a few episodes to get a feel for the content and use your best judgement.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byhorselover326 April 9, 2008

A little confused...

Um am I missing something here or did everyone on this website pretty much just say they loved this show. I'm a little confused. Not that it's that bad or anything I just don't see how it's so great. It's not very funny and my whole family agrees with me. It you want to watch a good USA show watch Monk.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheTeenEye August 12, 2012

One Of The Funniest Detective Shows Ever

"Psych". Where to begin? I started watching it when I was eleven. My parents began to watch the Pilot, and I was shocked by the beginning scene; character Shawn "making out" with a girl. I thought that might have been inappropriate then, but now I realize it's no worse than anything else on TV. Besides, some kissing is all that has happend on Psych, so I deem I appropriateness not an issue, but I do think the age for most kids should be 12+. Psych is an absolutely hilarious show, and I have gotten many friends into it. The occasional b- word is said, but nothing to foul mouthed. The main character, Shawn Spencer, can she immature at times, but I consider the characters of Psych to be good role models. Some scenes of drinking is shown, but only small amounts. Psych is a must see; only to be rivaled by Monk.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byChrissy505 February 20, 2009

i love this show!!!!

This is my favorite show ever!!!! It is hilarious and it's fine for 6 year old me my sister (10) and my brother (6) love it. The only episode that you should worry about is the Tuesday the 17th episode because it's based on friday the 13th the movie. At first it's a joke but then people really get murdered. Think prom night and you've got it. One girl is stabbed to death and a man is electrocuted by a man who the victims liked and trusted.
Parent of a 11 year old Written bySteven Matthews September 1, 2012

Funny, But...

This is a very funny show. My 11-yr-old son and I discovered it when a local TV station was having a Psych marathon. We became instant fans. Some of the episodes are scary though, enough to give my son nightmares. The Yin/Yang episodes and "Devil in the Details..." come to mind. There are probably others. For this reason, I stopped him from watching it. And, while there are certainly worse shows, regarding cursing, I always thought that this show could do without it. It adds nothing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bySunnyZim May 2, 2014

Hilarious, fun detective comedy

I have thoroughly enjoyed watching all 8 seasons of Psych over the past few weeks - I haven't laughed so hard in a long time! It is relatively clean (no sex scenes or nudity, minimal language) and full of interesting storylines and characters. Well-written and acted and well worth watching.
Adult Written byMidwestguy January 16, 2014

Sad this shows went South

This season and last season's episodes are terrible. They had to change writers or something. This is more like Naked Guy "humor" Very disappointed.
Adult Written bydadnmelover123 January 28, 2012

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hillarious!!!!!!! i am addicted this show is educational and awesome although there is one episode that can scare the crap out of anyone 12 and under if you have young children the bad episode is tuesday the 17th great series must see!!!!! for 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byfriscomama January 28, 2012

entertaining, but you know your children best

Witty and funny. Things to discuss: it's intended to be silly; no adults could behave so childishly and get away with it. The father and son relationship is conflicted and caring at the same time; just like it can be in real life. Flashbacks convey the constancy of the friendship between the partners, who were also childhood friends. I've just been catching this in rerun broadcasts, and read elsewhere in the reviews that they cleaned it up a little after the first season. I have found it *relatively* wholesome. Great puns and word play. "You're prophetic!" she says admiringly. "No, you're prophetic!" he responds, obviously getting it mixed up with "pathetic." That kind of clever.
Teen, 17 years old Written byjohnthemon September 20, 2010

Usually good for 8+, sometimes 10+, depending on your kids.

A really funny show! Mostly good for kids 8+. There's some mild sexual stuff, but never explicit, so age appropriate. Violence is the main concern, sometimes the murders can be fairly graphic, but it's always appropriate for 10+. If your kids are particularly sensitive to violence, they'll be too distracted to see the comedy, so make sure they know it's all "not real".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Adult Written bytolkien geek mi March 21, 2014

Pleasant but Predictable

Psych is great for about ten episodes. Then it gets incredibly redundant. They're on the final season now, and the initially very mild content has reached a peak. There's swearing and innuendo but very little violence for a crime drama. Oh, and the main character's life is based on a lie that he's a psychic. There is that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byxXxGaborik10xXx May 6, 2012

The best

Amazing, best show I've ever watched it honestly is a show for the family to watch it is a great show you can try to guess who committed the crime, and nothing is snot sex, drugs, or anything our kids shouldn't been witnessing at a young age.
Adult Written byKee2008 April 9, 2008

Safe TV Show to watch with my Kids!

It's nice to watch a show that isn't entirely geared towards kids or adults. It's fits nicely between the two with absolutely no nudity and sex scenes, no bad language and no overt sexual references.
Adult Written byWendy Darling April 25, 2011

Very Clever

There is rarely, if any innuendo in this show. It is funny because they are clever, and doesn't have to use crude humor.
Teen, 14 years old Written byOncomingStorm January 9, 2011

good show

Commonsense's review pretty much covered Psych.If they'd bothered to spell Shawn's name right.(yes,it's shawn,not sean.The epsisode title w/his name say so,as do the credits.)I think the show would be okay for some young tweens,depending on how easily they scare.It didn't even phase me when I was twelve,for example.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byPoetic Ramblings December 20, 2010

A fantastic light-hearted crime series

Fantastic family show! I love watching this with my mother and older sister (16)- we have tons of laughs, and we love solving the mysteries together. I remember first seeing an episode on the TV when I was 13, and had to turn it off because I was frightened by the dead bodies. I'm absolutely fine with it now, but beware that some images may frighten children and teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAnna_lana November 25, 2008

Easily one of the best shows on television

Psych is HILARIOUS and amazing. The two main characters work great together and add intelligent, comedic elements to the show. All of the supporting characters have great chemistry with the dynamic duo and make the show even more worth watching. There is very, very little objectionable content (the occasional blurt of language) and makes for a superb family show. Hats off to the writers, as well as the great actors. I have yet to see an episode that I didn't like. Very highly recommended!!!

Pages