Common Sense Media says

Modern and funny, but edgy content isn't for young kids.

Users say

(out of 64 reviews)
age 8+
Review this title!
Adult Written byRockoWallaby September 9, 2011

Sexual Jokes Run Rampant

I recently bought season one of this show and having seen it, I can't believe that Nickelodeon got away with so much stuff we can't show in kid's cartoons today without at least (I think) a TV-PG rating. If any of you did your research, the recently released DVD is not "intact" as far as content goes. One scene in "The Good, the Bad, and the Wallaby" is completely removed as it showed, when it first aired and since has had this correction, Heffer experiencing pleasure with a milking machine. In "Skid Marks", the driving school that Rocko goes to has a watered-down video of a simulated car crash using tomatoes. The students cheer before the clip is shown and cry after the wreckage. In "Bedfellows", there is a short clip of a nudist colony formed in Rocko's backyard. What has been done is that every time the offending body parts might come into view, an object quickly blocks those parts. The censoring for nudity is a bit inconsistent. Rocko can be seen fully nude in a shower scene in one episode but then is censored in another after an animated censor spots the problem and puts a black box in front of the offending areas; at one point the box falls done when we see Rocko face-first.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byCartoonLover February 8, 2012

Best Show Ever!!!!!

Awesome Show!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bydanny 7000 October 13, 2014

rockos modern life was not for kids

rockos modern life is an amazing classic cartoon but it is not for kids because theirs lots of adult jokes in the show that are very adult and dirty and very innapproapriate for little kids some even where banned also it can sometimes be pretty vilonte with some blood with that being said i think rockos modern life is an amazing cartoon but it is not for kids it is a cartoon aimed at Adults and i dont reccomend it for kids under the age of 13
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn June 13, 2013

So-so

I don't think this is good but it's not that bad, there are episodes I like and some of the jokes are funny. I don't agree with commonsense's age rating, how the hell is this edgy for 11, the jokes will go over kid's heads, dumba** CSM...
Kid, 11 years old April 10, 2011

Awesome for all ages!

BEST SHOW I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old September 9, 2010

Funny show, but non-stop innuendos.

This is a brilliant children's show that appeals to adults too with it's cartoonish depictions of real life events that people go through, and they just twist it around to make it hilariously insane. The problems with this show are it's non-stop innuendos which includes scenes of a character mistakenly grabbing a bear's testicles, a scene of a character having an orgasm from a milking machine, an entire episode where a character tries to seduce another one, and tons more. On the plus side, the episodes have great messages and educates children too, a good example being an episode entirely about recycling.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byDanJKL January 9, 2017

Dirty But Clever and Funny

While it does have some pretty dirty jokes and innuendos hidden in it, Rocko's Modern Life gets away with it cleverly. Just watching Rocko communicate with his town is a crazy good time of a cartoon. The humor is a sly blend of pleasant down-to-earth life messages and VERY dirty jokes. Best for teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 2, 5, 13, and 17 year old Written byUnmenow2003 October 28, 2016

Great show!

This show was amazing! It had excellent writing and plots, decent voice acting, and pretty great animation for its time. The characters were mostly likable, and the sexual jokes were pretty funny and well executed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2016

Funny cartoon, mild rude humor

It's a very funny cartoon. Sure there is some rude humor, but it is okay.
Parent of a 1, 3, 7, 12, and 16 year old Written byCrappola March 20, 2016

Edgy. Put it in front of your toddler.

Innuendo, mild depictions o' blood, cigars. I love this show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old November 22, 2015

Modern and funny, but edgy content isn't for young kids.

Sexual innuendo is hard to miss in coy references to sensitive body parts I shouldn't name and euphemisms like the "Chokey Chicken" restaurant, most of which will be recognizable to tweens' keen eyes and ears. In fact, "Chokey Chicken" was removed when the censors realized it meant something really dirty that I shouldn't say. I've seen on screen puking, one episode had the word "h***" on a sign, Heffer was gonna say the H word before he was interrupted by Satan, there's blood sometimes, it can be gross, and characters can be seen smoking. Yours, Goatworlds.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 1, 2, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 11, 11, 12, 13, 13, 14, 15, 15, 15, 16, 17, and 18+ year old Written bynicoleandmeatwadss February 10, 2015

good but some kids might find it disturbing

its a cool show but if you are under 4 DO NOT WACTH IT
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2014

Shows good values, but edgy sexual content.

I went back to this show after a few years, and thought I'd review it. Rocko's Modern Life show a wallaby named Rocko transitioning from Australia to the States. It does show some good problem solving skills, and some good-hearted humor. However, like I said before, it does have some touchy sexual references that can be said as innapropriate. For example, when I started watching this show a few years ago, all of the sexual references sailed above my head, such as the Playslug magazine in the first episode, obviously a reference to the pornographic magazine, Playgirl. Or Rocko's favorite restaurant, Chokey Chicken, a reference to masturbation. Well, a few years have passed, I've gained knowledge, and when I started watching this again, it was awkward to watch with my family, and I was afraid that they would deem the mild sexual references as inappropriate, and ban the show. But, overall, this is a good-hearted show, with good humor, and good for kids because most of the sexual references will sail above their heads, as it did mine in the past.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byEntertaimentCritic88 November 26, 2013

This show was super-good.

This show was a classic. I loved it. I like the theme song and the animation. This is my 2nd favorite 90s Nicktoon next to Hey Arnold. SpongeBob is my favorite show overall, but even it premired in 1999, I wouldn't consider it as a 90s show.
Adult Written bySourGalaxy October 13, 2013

Great cartoon with some moderate edgy content

This 1990s Nickelodeon series focuses on Rocko, a young wallaby from Austrailia who lives out his modern life with his friends Heffer and Filburt. The show was very spot on in exaggerating bad things that happened in the adult world. Rocko is constantly getting held back by bills, his friends, his jobs and life in general. The show did a good job at parodying America without relying on too much pop culture. Now this show is noted for it's racy content and some of it is kind of crazy for a kids show. The features some cartoony violence like people hitting each other with blunt objects and fists but it isn't really that bad. Other instances involve vehicle crashes on screen and even a whole episode about plane crashes. Sometimes limbs were shown falling off with blood, but mostly in the first season. The language is pretty tame, but I have heard the word "hell" mentioned in one episode and it was written out on screen for about 30 seconds in another episode. Also Crap/Crappy were said in very few episodes, most notably "Fish and Chumps" where a guy was named Crappy Jack. Also replacement words were used like "Holy Spit!" or something to that effect. Probably the edgiest thing about this show was the innuendo. They got so much sexual content past the radar that I'm surprised this show lasted as long as it did. Stuff like people getting their crotch grabbed, overly emphasized breasts, side boob, and "balls" jokes were common in the series. Probably the biggest offense was the restaurant named "Chokey Chicken" having a strong presence throughout the series. However they considerably toned down the show in season 4, even removing the "Chokey Chicken" reference. Overall, the content will most likely fly past kids heads, but the cartoon violence and the "Chokey Chicken" may be much for younger kids. Also, this show surprisingly had a lot of smoking and some drug references in it. Only side characters smoked, and in one episode a baseball player gives Heffer a chewed piece of tabacoo. One episode featured Rocko getting high off a pill in detail. This show definitely doesn't deserve it's TV-Y rating and it should have been rated TV-G/TV-PG. But the edgy humor is pretty funny and the show has a lot of references to stuff an adult can relate to. It was pretty much the "Regular Show" of the 1990s. I feel this show was made more for adults as well as kids and it holds up surprisingly well to this day.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymusicforver July 25, 2013

Edgy Cartoon For Mature Young Ones

Iffy for 10 and under
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byAlexLovesCartoons June 25, 2013

I Love Rocko!

I grew up watching Rocko's Modern Life and honestly, it's an amazing show. I wish it still aired. I watch it with my little brother, who's 12, and I think it's fine for him. He doesn't understand many of the jokes or adult humor anyways. There are quite a few adult jokes throughout the series, but a lot of them got cut out anyways and weren't aired. Yes, the restaurant is named "Chokey Chicken", but little kids won't know what that means. There's jokes such as Spunky falling in love with a mop and, as Rocko says, "trying to make love" with it. There's an episode about how Heffer gets sent to "Heck" for being a glutton. Rocko speed dates in one episode, and in another Heffer thinks he dad is trying to tell him about "the birds and the bees". One of the show's running gags is Heffer's brother being gay, although it is never said straight out. I think the main things people pick up on about the show is the edgy humor. There's no drinking, minor cigar smoking, and no drug references. There's also minor violence, such as being chased by a giant vacuum cleaner and Rocko wanting to beat up his childhood bully. But it's perfectly fine for kids 10 and up. The thing that stuck with me about Rocko's Modern Life through all these years is the humor or the shows. It's just filled with quirky and lovable characters. Plus, Rocko is a great role model for younger children. Overall an amazing show!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 11, 2013

This show is not for young kids? I first watched this show when I was a little kid, and the edgy content didn't bother me.

Yes, it is a little crude for the little ones. But it's really funny. I loved this show so much. I loved RML because it was funny, just like everyone else. I love the epsode where Rocko gets a haircut.
Teen, 16 years old Written bySuperSonicSteve896 April 23, 2013

C'mon CSM, it's not THAT edgy.

I thought Rocko's Modern Life was a great show. It was really funny. Nice theme song too. One word: CLASSIC.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytvzillia March 11, 2013

Nickelodeon's best classic (next to Ren and Stimpy)

This is a good classic cartoon that I have been watching since I was like 6. This cartoon led to the start of other very popular creators and directors like Stephen Hillenburg (Creator of Spongebob Squarepants) and Jeff "Swampy" Marsh (Co-creator of Phineas and Ferb) and Chris Savino (Director of Dexter's Laboratory) Sure the show has some innuendos, but nothing major (even when, it is EDITED OUT) but it is very funny and sure the word "hell" is on a sign but it is only in ONE EPISODE and they have to hear it eventually and youngsters won't even notice the innuendos (I sure diddn't) Sure it's edgy, a lot of shows are edgy these days. Bottom Line: Good Show, Good For 6 and up.

Pages