Common Sense Media says

History at its most raw, vulgar -- and exciting.

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Adult Written byExalya October 18, 2009
I LOVED Rome, and wanted to watch it when I was 16. My mother did not allow me to, however, 16-year-olds can be more... advanced-thinking than one might believe. I was writing about this kind of violence/sexuality when I was 13, and I was NEVER allowed to watch stuff like this. As an adult I have thoroughly enjoyed Rome. It's an amazing series, great acting. Lots of blood and tawdry humor... but if you like that kind of stuff, then you'll loooove this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byskenney13 April 9, 2008

Great show

But kids shouldn't be watching, and the history is inaccurate
Teen, 16 years old Written bydark rose April 9, 2008

buy the edited version

the edited version takes out bad sex scenes and language. if you've read all the episode guides like me than it's really easy to understand. 2nd season is better. atia rocks. this show is genius
Teen, 14 years old Written byaleppoman April 9, 2008

Best show ever.

This is the best show ever hands down.
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoe_juve July 16, 2014

watch worthy

If u are 15 and above u should watch it. It tells the history of Rome in the roman republic, which was filled with sex, violence, filth to an extreme level.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMovieBufff January 18, 2013

Awesome

Epic but definitely for mature it is very graphical in its violence and sex some of the language is quite vulgar also. But it is a brilliant TV Series
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byVolchitsa December 27, 2010

Hands down AMAZING!

For once, this site is accurate- this show is NOT for kids (-15). Why have I watched it? It is an AMAZING historical drama with truly entrancing characters (one of my favorite TV shows). All actors are simply believable and provoke emotion; from pure disgust for the bad characters, to grief when a loved character dies, etc. Very pornographic and violent (violence doesn't bother me though). The director could drastically cut back on sex scenes, full frontal nudity (in my opinion) is fine, it is only the showing of the human body. Sex and rape are toned down after a few episodes (luckily). Special effects are believable and well done. There is some drug use, much alcohol use, gore, bad language etc. If you have a mature kid then I think they can handle this show. (I know that most 14 year olds see worse on the internet and TV than this). Not as historically accurate as I had hoped, but it is still very good. Very refreshing from the drama and trash-TV you see. You can probably get an edited version without the sex and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byslasher23 September 5, 2010
extreme violent.explicitly sexual content and nudity.strong drug use.very strong language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

A great show

I happen to be mature for my age and love it it is refreshing change of pace from sex and the city not for most my age
Adult Written byjjjj@aim.com April 9, 2008
this is a very good show but isen't for kids
Teen, 15 years old Written byjesuslovesthischick April 9, 2008

..

it's ok, but i heard it's historically inaccurate.
Adult Written byfiona April 9, 2008
I would have enjoyed this more - and think it would have been a better piece - had the sex not been so explicit. The sex could still have been there, but dealt with in a less overt manner. The impression I get from watching this is that the writers knew they could get a lot of sex in here and went the whole way with that. (I'm sure a lot of people will like it for that reason!) If you've ever seen "I Caudius", well "Rome" is not nearly as clever or as entertaining.
Adult Written bytrojan51 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byKormek April 9, 2008

A Must See Show

This series is the best I have ever seen on TV based in Ancient Rome, nothing has ever come this close to how it was then. Awesome battles. Passionate drama. This is a must see if those who are fans of this kind of drama.