All member reviews for RuPaul's Drag Race

Common Sense Media says

Drag queen contest is campy and carries a message.

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bymaggiesanch November 29, 2014

Simply Beautiful.

Drag Race is an inspirational spin on competition reality shows. Shows like 'America's Next Top Model' are not particularly great influences on young girls, seeing as they're purely beauty competitions. RuPaul only gives the queens four guidelines: charisma, uniqueness, nerve, and talent. I feel that kids of 11 or 12 won't really get the sex humor, it'll probably fly over their heads. The series contains heart-to-hearts between the queens and Ru, and overall the show contains a lot of feel-good moments. Even though it's a competition, each contestant is made to feel like a winner. The camp and humor is awesome, the fashion is great, and the queens are unbelievable. I started watching this show when I was twelve, and it opened my eyes to individuality and inner beauty. Basically, this is the best show ever. And you should watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymatthager July 20, 2012

What kind of rating system is used here?!

How could this show not get a full rating for positive role models?! What demographic better teaches the rest of us how to love ourselves and accept others more than the drag community? Am I missing something???? And no, there is NO sex on this show. ever.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written byjhalisha April 29, 2012

No Kids Allowed!

Really people. Enjoy it by yourself, but this is definitely not for your kids. Maybe a few of your high school age kids might appreciate it, but not for middle school or younger at all! Its a fun show for adults however.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnimeGirl-Nikki April 11, 2010

It's a pretty awesome show :)

This show is basically 'America's Next Top Model' with a drag queen twist. The cattiness, hijinks and fashion aspect of the show makes it entertaining, while the fact that the show is centered around drag queens (men (usually gay) who dress up like women to entertain) teaches acceptance of different people and being yourself. I think that you should be at least 12 to watch this, because there is quite a bit of profanity (most of it bleeped out) and sexual innuendo (but nudity is blurred), but the overall message of the show never gets lost.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old January 21, 2016

BEST SHOW EVER

This show is awesome. I think that the language is pretty bad but if you watch it on regular tv the words get bleeped out. The queens on this show have very heart warming stories that almost make you cry. RuPaul's Drag Race is very entertaing because there is singing, dancing, raping, sewing, and lypsinking. It is basically a mix between Face Off, Progect Runway and Americas Next Top Model.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byVeronica A October 27, 2015

Amazing

Some of these queens are amazing role models. This is a great show, can be a bit iffy at some points, but nothing too out of hand. Some queens like Jinkx Monsoon or Chad Michaels, are really inspirational and amazing!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bykaltesklareswasser June 9, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byAbsoluteHarlequin August 11, 2012

Confidence is Key.

Honestly, I am a VERY big fan of nearly anything involving the L.G.B.T.Q. community, but I believe that this television show is genuinely all right. The the humor may seem a bit racy for smaller children, but it's all implied, and most likely will pass right over their heads. The show features the contestants having an occasional cocktail but, all being of age, I don't believe it would pose a very suggestive message. While the show doesn't particularly have a very strong message of life lessons, but does promote self confidence and tolerance towards L.G.B.T.Q. individuals.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byhamstergurl09 February 17, 2012

Entertaining

I like drag queens a lot. While I'm not the biggest fan of RuPaul's drag act, I find his TV show to be quite entertaining. If you like drag queens or gay media, Drag Race is worth checking out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylllllllllllllff... June 18, 2010
i watched the show and might watch it again
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing