All member reviews for Samurai Champloo

Common Sense Media says

Sex, alcohol, swearing, fights = anime for adults.
 

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byqwerty keyboard December 31, 2012
 

Best show ever!!!!

Amazing show, great plot, great humor, and great ending. I will never forget this show. It is amazing in all directions. I'm glad they didn't make any more newer episodes to ruin the show like they did with Spongebob. Everyone, I am impressed. WATCH IT!!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written byyankee01 April 9, 2008
 

cool

a cool show but way violent for young.younger anime fans whould like naruto,prince of tennis,and inuyasha.
Teen, 13 years old Written by6millionpesoman July 11, 2013
 

a great subject for family discusion

first off, i don't see why they have sexual content up. yes there were some scenes with brothels and semi-graphic content, but its all culturally relevant .The scenes are not so much erotic as they are depressing, showing you the sad, miserable life these women must lead. they do have quite a lot of alcoholic consumption, but again, culturally relevant. Saki has been a part of Japanese history far longer kenjitsu or the dai-katana, and it helps give a sense of the time period and even helps build character for mugen. the violence, however, is by far the biggest concern. its not really over the top(this an anime about some ronin, what did you expect?) but definitely stomach churning in some moments. not advisable for the squeamish, and i guess you could justify it given cultural context and history, but this alone makes it in-appropriate for anybody below 11. there are a lot of great things that you could learn such as lessons on vengeance, family duty, race and sexual orientation too. i would recommend sitting down with your child and discussing about the differences between the japan in the edo period and post-civil war america. talk about differences /similarity in technology, warfare, morality, medicine and the treatment of women. the language is a bit excessive at times, but kind-off serves to elaborate on mu-gens character as a brutish, rude person with a head strong personality. a definite watch for anime fans above 14, and even adults too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byYdoUask April 9, 2008
 

A great work by Shinichiro Watanabe

Contrary to what CS said, I didn't notice much sexual imagery out of context, that is to say, Wantanabe didn't go out of his way to make actual porn. Rather, Fuu (the main female character) is in constant trouble, in one episode getting in trouble and having to work in a brothel (this is actually an enlighting scene, because one of her friends she made while working in there is working off a debt her father owed for gambling. Is it right? Thats for parents to decide. Is it culturaly correct? Yes. Another episode that might have triggered this review was when Fuu was targeted to be a subject for a painting, then sold off to europe. Her painter/partial kidnapper had a change of heart once his bosses henchmen showed up and where more rough than was needed with Fuu. Other then those few scenes and possibly another brothel scene i missed (which maintains context to the story, if you want a story with no context, just fanservice, watch Girls Bravo) Violence is exactlly as bad as the reviewer mentioned. This series is not at all for the scwimish, as there are copious amounts of blood, violance, and hate abound. Why is this? Well, at the end, Mugen (crazy male main character) and Jin (calm, collected main male lead), are reavealed to be Yin and Yang, in constant chaos. Languge isn't nearly as bad as it could be, the dub replaced swears with scratches from a turntable I could almost compleatly disagree with the CS reviewer on Social Behavior. Mugen and Jin generally always go their sepreate ways when they enter a town (such as them entering rival gangs, or Mugen mugging while Jin plays Shogi) But in the end, it is Fuu, the female lead, who brings them all together and restates their goal to find the samari who smells of sunflowers. Comericalization: None Drug and alchol are used. Why? Because the drinking of Saki is a cultural staple. Saki is to Japan as Whisky is to america. I can see where the reviewer goes with the pot though. That episode, at best, was a filler.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLu Bu November 21, 2012
 

Way better than bleach and naruto.

This show is awesome, this and south park are two pretty good shows. This show has good time put into it. I especially liked the last episode of this show. This is a great show that actually tries to be awesome.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bykidnaruichi September 23, 2012
 

appropriate for mature 13 year olds but not not for younger viewers

a good anime but not suitable for kids under 13. it contains violence (especially in the last 3 episodes) but has very rare scenes of of sex/sex referneces. the language is what i think most 13 year olds would of heard by that age but there is one, just one use of the f word.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byCharlieBundy February 18, 2012
 

Seriously great show, guys!!

Although for sure not meant for children. by what I meant by "great show" I meant for you adults. Good action, good story, and the japanese version is more bloodier, and more AWESOME!!! Although while some people said they've watched this when they were kids, I do not recommend them for yours if you fear for their future. Some kids can handle it, though the ones who can't, can't.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySamurai 2.0 May 6, 2011
 

One of my favorite anime.

I've been watching Samurai Champloo since I was 10 years old; even after watching the series multiple times, I still love it. Two stars? 16+ despite rather tame language and as much blood as in Kekkaishi, which you give 11+? Okay then.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byL or £ May 31, 2010
 

Show Mixes History With Hip Hop

The show is excellent and is another great aork by Shinichiro Wantanabe.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBlueDragonMaster98 May 29, 2010
 

Violent all the way

The whole woman thing is based on the time period- old Japan. It's for realistic purposes, and it could be a whole lot worse. Sex in brothels and human slave trade are mentioned several times, but something interesting always comes out of it. Violence- sword fighting and blood, but I've seen much, much worse. In all, the story is set by revenge and the characters don't get along very well, but it's still fun for those older than 16.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byalfanfl March 27, 2010
 

an excellent anime for teens

There's quite a bit of violence here, but I think any mature level headed teen can take it. Also the sexual concerns, I don't think it's that big of a problem because it's all done for comic relief, and there's no actual sex. About the language, truthfully I think most teens are pretty used to it by age 13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byGamerbro June 9, 2009
 

A brilliant anime for mature teens.

Samurai Champloo is a great anime with beautifully animated fight scenes, an involving story, and great characters. That's not to say it's for the faint of heart. Fight scenes do get quite brutal(for example, a mans fingers are broken one by one). I didn't notice much degradation of women. There's one episode in which the characters go too a brothel, and another where a character is forced to join a brothel, but no sex is seen at any point in the series. Frankly, I'm utterly stunned that commonsensemedia would give this brilliant show a 2/5.
Adult Written bybporter28 April 9, 2008
 

This show is extremely graphic and should only be viewed by adults.

My only issue was the rating. It's a great show for adults, just not for kids. P.S.- Your rating is wrong. If you check http://www.imdb.com, it will tell you that Samurai Champloo is actually rated TV-MA. THe edited version is TV-14, however the version that you speak of is actually the TV-MA version. So, you need to update it.
Teen, 14 years old Written bylordmax April 9, 2008
 

REALLY good anime show (but not for anybody under 11)

this, along with cowboy bebop,(another show done by the same guy) is the only anime show i like. along with each episodes story, it deals with how the charaters get along. Yes, there is A LOT of violece and swearing, but there are worse shows out there. also, what was that bit about women being put down? i dont really see any of that. in fact, there are a few strong women in this. yes, there is a bit of sexual stuff, like the guys going to a prostatute house, but it still deals with relationships.