Common Sense Media says

Dysfunctional family dramedy oozes booze, drugs, and sex.

Users say

(out of 53 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bytj123 July 3, 2011

.

.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byBellatrix-Lestrange March 22, 2015

Appropriate for Mature Older Teens

There is a lot of sex, nudity, substance abuse and swearing. The show uses dark humor and slurs quite often. There is rape. There are heterosexual and homosexual relationships with explicit sex (the latter in not present in the first season). The show is definitely not appropriate for younger teenagers. At the same time, there are role models. One of the main characters, Fiona, is eighteen and manages to keep her her five sibling afloat by her various, low-income jobs. Ian is hardworking, manages to get into a prestigious military school despite his background, and has to deal with mental illness. Mickey is the most unlikely character to be considered a role model, but he overcomes life-long abuse from his father and wears his sexuality proudly (in later seasons).
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bysandwad January 20, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byinnieidk April 8, 2015

A really good TV show!

I love it! It's one of my favourite. Teens should enjoy this show, don't stop them from watching it. It's worth it. Come on, every teen or kid knows how to swear. Me and my friends started watching it when we were about 13 and we all enjoyed it. Even though it has a lot of nudity and swearing, I reccomend it because it's so funny, there's a lot of drama and once you start, you will want more and more.
Teen, 13 years old Written byMickeyMilkovichBabe August 11, 2014

FAV SHOW!!

I'm 13 and love this show. Even I have to admit I'm probably a bit young to watch it but all my other 13 year old friends watch it and love it as well! I think that once your child is at least 14 they've probably already seen all of the stuff on this show so who cares? Believe me if you think your child in middle school hasn't heard of sex or drugs yet then your terribly wrong. This show is nothing new to them.
Parent Written bysassieo December 17, 2015

Shameless TV Show on Showtime must be paid for by Big Tobacco

This show has every single character, even showing a 12 year old, smoking excessively. There is constant smoking of pot and cigarettes in the faces of infants, even a newborn. The word "fuck" is used no less than 40 times PER episode. There is also the actual sex act in every single episode with FULL female and male nudity. I realize this is a cable channel (Showtime) but it's constant and unnecessary to story line. This show is about how far a cable network can push the boundaries to shock its audience with sex, nudity, profanity and drug/cigarette use. Also, despite all the awful shock to viewers, the characters can't be believed. There is no way anyone can be this stupid and ignorant. If Showtime wants porn to be broadcast in prime time, then go for it. You'll have the scum of the earth there to watch. However, to expect even the scum of the earth to attach to the characters and believe characters portraying real people can be that stupid is stupid. I'm so sorry I wasted even 10 minutes of my life trying to watch this awful show. I saw more penis/tits/balls/asses and heard the word "fuck" far too often in that 10 minutes too. Pathetic Showtime....pathetic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byLLC4260 January 14, 2013

I am a fan but this show is NOT for kids. Of any age.

Uh...at 38, *I* can barely watch this show. While I am a fan and it is beautifully acted and I do root for the success of the Gallagher kids, there is simply NO way would I allow any of my kids to watch this. EVER. (How the parents of the child actors on this show remain ok with their kids being on this show is a mystery to me, frankly.)
Kid, 11 years old February 5, 2011

for adults.

my mom watches it but i cant watch it because of so much nudity and Language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bytessbeth July 10, 2016

GREAT

SUPER SEXUAL BUT GREAT N GALLAVICH THOO AND CARL IS MY SON
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written bylavender_lily November 15, 2011

Ok for Teens

Definitely not appropriate for small children, but teenagers can watch. They speak and swear in a true to life form - overall it does have positive messages and shows the strength of the family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylelexy2000 December 20, 2013

Shameless

I think this show is really good but It also has alot of nudity, and language in it. I think Fiona is positive role model because she took on the role of raising her 5 younger siblings and more sisters won't do that.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bynalatytytobylulu February 12, 2017

It's entertaining

I'm 14, and I've watched seasons 1-7 of this show. It's addicting. It does include nudity and drug use but aside from that i love it! I watch it so much you'd think i didn't have a life. I don't recommend you tell your parents right away about you watching it. I watch it mostly with my friends (same age and younger) so if they're allowed i should be, right? I LOVE SHAMELESS!!!!!!!!!!
Teen, 14 years old Written bymelodylee02 January 17, 2017

It's not as bad people make it.

As a 14 year old, none of the language and sex never bothered me. If a parent is reading this, just know most teenagers hear swearing all the time at school, and all teens have probably seen porn at least once. It's not necessary the sex and language that's the real problem, but how a kid handles the situation. A person who watches this should NOT think living in the hood is cool and badass, but instead be grateful for the family they have. If a teenager can take the right message out of this show, I don't see any reason why not to watch it.
Teen, 14 years old Written byanarolemberg September 25, 2016
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byjmaur21 May 24, 2012

Best show in a long time!

Fantastic show! Really addicting and there is always something good doing on! Recommend to everyone!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by14lox December 6, 2011

Awesome!!!!

I love the show!!! It's my dirty little secret!!! I won't miss it!! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byReviewer29 February 20, 2017

Gallavich

I just started watching this show and from what I can see common sence focuses on the bad parts in this show yes there are swears including the f-bomb every episode and some sex scenes. But when they say no role models? That's a lie Fiona Gallagher has been reading her family from when she was 6, if you ask me that's a pretty good role model. This show probably isn't for teen but really it depends on the maturity of them. In my opinion this show teaches you and let's be honest it really good. Don't miss out on it. Highly recommend.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bylizeighties November 30, 2016

Great show but not for kids

This show is funny and dramatic. It shows how important family is, and how drugs and drinking can really mess up your life. There's lots of drinking, drugs, and sex done by both Teens and Adults. No kids should be watching this, but for teens it all depends on maturity.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMaliyah.14 November 13, 2016

BRING THEM BACK

I think shameless is one of the best shows I have ever watched , I have watched a lot of television but this was a new level season 1-5 THE BEST EVER but I kinda start losing interest in season 6 because all the characters who made the show left and that was a bummer one of the all time favorite Mikey milkovitch he has to serve up to 15 years in federal prison the new character I forget his name that's how bad he is Ian's new boyfriend I personally like mikey not the new character another character that I want to come back is karen & her mom they kinda made the show with Karen's drama and Sheila craziness that would make you pee your pants ! Also I know she will be back in season 7 bur Mandy milkovitch I think if at least mikey doesn't come back I would lose instrest in the show and so would other people I know ! Other then that awesome show BRING MIKEY BACK!!!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byborkybornes October 24, 2016

"no positive role models" my ass

(im only on s4 so dont yell if i say anything that changes in the later episodes) ok yeah all the characters are pretty shitty but they not completely bad. fiona takes care of her five siblings as if they were her own children. veronica and kev love the gallaghers and cared greatly about ethel and surely will for their own children as well. ian eventually gets into the army after lots of hard work. lip graduates college. sheila loved wimey and karen and debbie and is just generally nice. and in the end, the gallaghers are all there for each other and love eachother regardless of their numerous mistakes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages