All member reviews for Silent Library

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Game show contestants silently endure humiliation and pain.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAngel1234567890 March 27, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

THIS IS....

well, this is......FUNNY! loli mean isnt this funny or wat. i can watch this 20 times a week.
Kid, 9 years old February 1, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

awsome i think it should be on more offten

I love it i think that there is nothing bad about it and could be aloud for ages 8 or 7+
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byreser2 August 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best game show since Jeapordy.

I think this is one of the best game shows around.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrandonh1996 February 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It's a great show but under 12 shouldnt be watching it
Kid, 12 years old January 30, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

:)

It's a good show and it's funny, unless you're a SUPER paranoid parent then you'll see nothing wrong with it, I like it :D
Kid, 12 years old October 8, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

:D

:)!!!! I love this show. It is basically just pure crude humor, like a tween sponge bob
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bybieber_fever55 August 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hilarious But Violent

I dare someone to watch this show and not pee their pants out of laughter. The only problem with the show is the violence. Most of the tasks are just downright mean! (Just saying, I saw this one where a guy had to stand in between two rotating apple trees! It looked so painful!) But the show is funny because the people's reactions, not actually the challenges. Great show for anyone 11 and over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byneonnloveeee August 20, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

i really like it

It's funny ; I don't see anything wrong with it . (:
Kid, 11 years old August 20, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

HILLARIOUS!

I love silent library! This is one of my favorite shows but does have a few issues. They have one group punishment that refers to foul tasting shots. It is not good to say to put people through humilliation, and pain for money either. But overall this show is age appropiate for kids 12+ like me!
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
silent library is hilarious and i wanna be on it i wish they had a season 4 with kids 11 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I love this show its soooooo funny.
Teen, 13 years old Written bywerewolfgirl February 23, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfectly funny!

It's awesome!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byvsquadcheer July 24, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

stupid yet interesting

the game's stupid. the things they have to do r whats funny. it keeps me entertained - i guess that's what matters.
Teen, 15 years old Written bySynchronicity June 19, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

US version of a hilarious Japanese game show segment. Pretty funny, and excellent by MTV standards

This show, Silent Library, is based on a segment from the Japanese game show "Downtown no Gaki no Tsukai ya Arahende!!" (translated to "Downtown's This Is No Job for Children!!" or "Downtown's I'm Not An Errand Boy!!"). This Japanese game show's segments (including Silent Library) losing a bet and subsequently being forced to take part in an unpleasant, humiliating, or just plain mean challenge, which is called a batsu (punishment) game. Well, Silent Library is one of these types of segments. In Silent Library, six contestants in a (staged) library are each handed a card, and the contestant holding the yellow card with the skull and crossbones is subject to the batsu game. Some of the games include attaching a balloon to a man and inflating the balloon to bursting, snorting Pixie Sticks, and midgets jumping out of cardboard boxes armed with boxing gloves punching the contestant. You get the idea. True, some of the games are just plain mean, especially the ones involving the electric shocks, but they're not as bad as Fear Factor. Overall, this is a hilarious game show. I hope the people who produced this show do another one based on the "Don't Laugh" segments of the show Silent Library is based on. Now THOSE are HILARIOUS!