All member reviews for Skins (U.K.)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Unflinching British teen soap isn't for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bylumosliz January 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A great show for older teens.

For anyone under 15, this show really isn't something to watch, but for those of us who are old enough to understand the messages as well as relate, on some level, to the characters and situations, it's great. I love this show and I believe it's something that teens should watch, as long as they don't take it to heart that they have to party and do illegal things to be cool or anything because that's definitely not the message. Sure there's a lot of swearing (come on, they're British) and sex and drugs but that's what makes the show so great: it's really realistic and original and not all fake (cough, Disney channel, cough). It deals with some real life situations that, though they may not be common, have pretty universal themes... and it offers solutions to these problems that should be taken with a grain of salt. Often, the characters make bad and frankly stupid choices, but it makes viewers realise what should've been done or at least think of alternative actions. Oh, and I think that for all its entertainment (I mean, it's better to watch other teens screw up their lives than to live those problems), the show might actually be beneficial. At least, for me it helped me understand myself better... Effy's depression and breakdown in the fourth series made me realise that I was severely depressed (and in denial) and was literally the reason I sought out help on my own. So for parents who won't let their teens (especially those at least 15) watch Skins, I highly suggest reconsidering your policy if you want to be open-minded towards your sons/daughters... and for my peers, if you saw the American version and then learnt about this one, I definitely say watch it because it's way better, and if you're just iffy about the show, I also say to watch it (unless you have moral issues with what you've seen/read) because you might learn a bit more about life.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byajw1234 March 19, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Mature teens only..

For Mature views, who are less likely to be influenced by the content.
Teen, 16 years old Written byxmolly March 30, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Watch it with your kids!

Skins UK is an incredible show and has the potential to be very educational. Yes, there are a lot of heavy themes. No, these are not the kind of kids you would want your child to hang out with. However, beyond the setting, there are some powerful messages that you sometimes just can't get with squeaky-clean shows. Skins is real and any viewer can relate to at least one character. If you watch Skins with your kid and talk about some of the themes, you may be able to become closer with them and educate them in a way that's more than just saying, "don't have sex and don't do drugs." It may be a bit mature, and you may think I'm crazy, but parents who think they know everything about their child, don't even know 1/1000 of what they do. Catch your kid early and show them what's out there and how to make good choices. Absolutely do not let your kid watch this without you present, though!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFancyReality June 13, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Perhaps an Exact View into the Life of a Teen

I'm 14 and I first watched this show after all the hype over the US version. Needless to say, the original show is much better than the US version. As stated in its article UK skins has a lot of partying and sex BUT there is a really believable story behind all of it. The story of friendship is great because they help each other out no matter what. I like how it shows the true face of anorexia. My friend struggled w/ it and still does and she was bullied for it. I'm not sure but after watching Skins, I feel a "normal" person could empathize w/ an anorexic person. I think that side of Skins is very educational. I'm not sure what it's like on BBC America but if you watch the uncensored version on YouTube you see everything. Although the only time I saw fully nude bodies was the bedsheet on Tony's blanket and a scene where a female teacher was getting out of the faculty showers. By US standards; it's too raunchy to be fully shown on TV but many of my friends have watched it uncensored without feeling uncomfortable. I think it depends on your comfort level though. Perhaps it could help other kids my age feel that nudity is OK instead of "weird." Also, the language isn't anything worse than what I hear in school. Unlike Jersey Shore or reality TV shows kids my age watch; I believe what attracts others like me to watch skins is its authenticity. It's very real.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bywilliam_1601 July 8, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

16+ at Minimum, Recommended only for Adults

Exceptionally offensive British show with graphic language, very strong sexual material, drug usage, and poor morals.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4 year old Written byFelces January 24, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

wow

I think im a open minded person. Who cares about the violence and the language. But teenagers having a show wherre they can watch other kids having sex and doing drugs. Come on world kids look up to kids on MTV. When I was growing up MTV was so cool to me. This shows kids that it is infact cool to do drugs and have sex if you want to stick in with the crowd. I think it's a great show.. for child molesters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySapphire Wilson February 25, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older teens

i f*ckin love this sh*t!!!!!! Mitch Hewer is officially a sexy god
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written byLeo Vega October 24, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
It's too much aggresive to bee seen: sex, drugs, parents who has much more problems than their own teenagers, manipulation... and so on. I don't think this the way to live the life for no one. Although the story is interesting and its a good drama... I don't need to see all the bad things to understand that selfish is a no-happy-ending story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byisabelle16 December 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Skins

Skins is a fun show to watch every once in a while if you are mature enough, but it's not a helpful or good show for impressionable teens, neither is it very memorable.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bypaigenatane May 21, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for Kids

The main idea of this TV show is underage (I believe) drinking and casual illegal drug use. There's also a never ending slur of every curse word in the book. Not to mention the not quite rare enough to be called occassional nudity. I'm 16 and this show is probably not appropriate for me. lol. But I like this show. It takes a bit of time to get into it but once you do, you understand the unique style and start to care about the characters. It's really a personal opinion. But if you're looking at it for kids, it's a no-go.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 May 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

cool

There are some positive messages in the show and the show does contain some sex. The characters experince arguments and start fighting. There is frequent drug use and teen alcohol drinking. Some brands are visible throughout the show. The show is entertaining and great though but isnt child/teen porn as some parents like to call it. It shows what teens actually go through like degrassi is nothing what teens actually go through thats just an insult to us teens. Im in 8th grade and people in my school do drugs and have sex but just by watching this show cant make you do those things.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJmR x September 24, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Realistic

Im 16 and i used to watch skins when i was like 14? and now im like in the same situations as the skins characters,its pretty realistic but not for the parents who want to protect their kids from drugs,booze ect..,
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byhappinessisawarmgun June 18, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Skins

This is a very entertaining show, but there is nothing in it that is appropriate for children. There is lots and lots of sex references, the whole show revolves around teenagers having sex. The nudity is not that much of an issue, there are some episodes when older characters are shown naked but the female teenagers are never shown naked and the males are only shown naked from behind. Stong language is pervasive in this show, 'f**k' is used throughout every episode and 'c**t' is used a few times in a few episodes. There is violence in the show, though not all the time. Some bloody scenes. Tons of weed is smoked in the show and some other drugs (usually pills) are used. The show is all about rowdy teenagers living depressing and dysfunctional lives, so showing it to a child would be a mistake.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySynchronicity March 19, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I'm a dude, and I hate most teen soap operas, yet I love this show

Skins is an excellent show that is definitely for teens and up only. This series is about a group of teens living in Bristol, England who attend a college. Tony is the popular one, but he always protects his younger sister Effy, who is extremely mysterious. Tony has a few friends too: Sid is quiet, but in love with Tony's girlfriend Michelle, whose best friend Jal is an excellent clarinet player. Their friend Anwar is a confused Muslim (played brilliantly by Dev Patel who is also in the film Slumdog Millionaire!), his friend Maxxie is openly gay, their friend Chris is a party animal with family trouble, and Cassie is basically crazy. There's also Lucy, nicknamed Sketch, who lives near Maxxie. I've only seen Series 1 and 2, and can't wait for Series 3 to hit America; in that series, Effy is the main character. Like I've said before, Skins is for older teens and up. In its native Britain, the series was shown on the pay-TV version of Channel Four (E4), aimed at teens and young adults 15-25. So there's no doubt Skins isn't a kid-friendly series. This makes Gossip Girl look tame by comparison! Sex is a frequent topic: there are scenes of simulated sex of all types, stalking, awkward sexual advances, masturbation, and more; there's also a lot of nudity and crass sexual dialogue. Also, profane language is frequent. F-bombs fly a lot, but are muted on BBC America broadcasts. However, on the DVD, online, and original British broadcasts of this show, the F-bombs are loud and clear. Various milder profanities are spoken, and I do remember some uses of the word "c**t" (muted on BBC America, uncensored elsewhere). Finally, there is rampant, near-constant use of drugs and alcohol by teens. A few drugs of choice: cocaine, ecstasy, lots and lots of marijuana and tobacco smoking, and extreme drinking. If you can handle the offensive content, you will really like Skins. The BBC America version is fine for most teens ages 13+, but the DVD version, which is uncensored and contains additional sex scenes and very strong language, is more appropriate for those 15 and over.
Teen, 17 years old Written byMarilynMansonLover March 31, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 13 or older

I am in love with this show! Yes there is nudity and language but nothing that someone 13 or older could not handle! I know parents can freak over things like that but we both know you kid knows what sex is. Very good show. Relates to teens rather well.
Teen, 14 years old Written byShaiBaby July 29, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

I actually really enjoy the show because it has real teen problems. Sure it has too much language and sex but that's why i watch the 3rd and 4th seasons that has a completely new cast and doesnt show sex as much as the 1st and 2nd seasons
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byrianne@jbsc August 14, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good for 14 but unsuitable for younger kids

Im only 13 but I really love skins there is alot of drugs and alcohol and sex but is a good drama
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byYBNormal January 7, 2009
Parent Written byHillary Rhinlo March 30, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Skins teaches police life lessons.

There are many positive lessons to be learned from Skins.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bykayleyc March 21, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages