All member reviews for Sons of Anarchy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent biker drama has blood, sex -- and a twisted heart.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byEoin1230 August 9, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing

I think its amazing, really enjoyable i watched 5 seaons in a fortnight. I just couldn't stop!!!!! The show can be really gory i have a strong stomach but i had to look away at certain bits. Other than the violence its a great show. I would recommend it for 14 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byScreenshot47 September 28, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Don't Bother; Garbage in Garbage out!

Truly a terrible show and there is nothing good that comes from it. Full of evil.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 year old Written byJasmine585 April 10, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Teens and Adults

I really love this show but there are tons of negative outputs. The show is for high schoolers and college people. Not seniors and kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byBroncosdude September 17, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great show, but for mature people.

The show is very violent, a lot of sex, a lot of drugs a lot of cursing. For example the first episode of the new season, one of the enemy gangs burn a women alive and they make her boyfriend watch. You see everything as well. Iv been watching it since it aired back in 2008 so I was 14 back then, 18 now and some of the stuff still disturbs me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

AHA!

No wonder it's rated TV-MA-LSV TV-MA: Mature Audiences Only L: Crude, indecent language S: Explicit sexual activity V: Graphic violence (Thanks for the info, DirecTV) MovieMan2000
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySomeperson1234567890 April 16, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

It is what it is.

This show is completely ridiculousness, far removed from reality, to the point of being silly. Watching it is a complete waste of time, but I guess so is most of TV. The actions depicted in this show are unrealistic, the entire script is silly, the relationships are silly, the conflicts and agreements are silly. It will possibly lead your kids to have silly thoughts or unrealistic understanding of reality.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byTigerPickles February 12, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

No Children Allowed

I love this show, but it is a definite no for anyone under 17 in my opinion. Extremely violent and very dark.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old September 24, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good for anybody

i loved it and soo did my kids loved it too
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byMJintheMitten December 8, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Amazing show, terrible for kids!

Amazing show with great writing and complex characters. However, this is not meant for anyone under the age of 17 by any means. There's constant violence, language, and drugs. And as the seasons progress, this content just becomes more graphic and prominent, especially in the last two seasons. If you're looking for a great show that'll hook you, this one's for you. Just not the kidlets.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byNatashaMarie2 February 19, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Love this show! It keeps you wanting to watch! Definitely NOT a show you should watch while your kids are still up!
Adult Written bydarthsitkur October 17, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

this is a really badass biker thriller

this is a really great show, I just finished the first season and now I'm officially a fan, and it's safe to say that this is a guy's show because there's lots of really intense shootouts, chase scenes, ambushes, and fist fights, and lots of bloodshed, and also, season 5 is by far the best, it has shootouts, fist fights, chase scenes, ambush scenes, and bloodshed galore, season 5 is the craziest pretty much lol
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written byninjagrrl May 21, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great adult entertainment

I absolutely love this show, but it is definitely not for the kiddos. The sex, violence, drugs and language are completely inappropriate for anyone under the age of 16 or so. Tune in when they are sleeping, you won't regret it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBauer Power April 8, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Show, but for teens only!

Great show!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old December 11, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Bad.

This Movie is Rated R and it's not for children 9 & Under.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTaqueli July 31, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hamlet

this is like Hamlet
Parent Written byrotowriter January 14, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

GREAT show, but know your kids

This is my favorite television show -- ever. However, before letting any child under 16 even watch a, preview of the next episode, know your children, their ability to separate reality vs. drama, their penchant for mimicking what they see and hear, etc. Certainly if you're going to let someone under 16 watch, you'd better be watching too and be able to have mature conversations about what goes on, screen. If that's too much work just to let a kid watch a show, then don't let them watch. Some of the show is watch-through-your-fingers type of brutal, so be forewarned. For adults who enjoy this genre, there's nothing better.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhaylam December 7, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byEating Fruits January 16, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Dont judge these Outlaws

Honestly in society people look at bikers as bad people. I love bikers and aspire to be one myslef when i m over 18. You should be a teenager to watch the show just to get the over all messages and story line. Since they are an outlaw MC there is alot of violence. This isnt an MC type like the Outlaws, Mongols, Hells Angels etc. these bikers only gun run. They take care of their community by keeping out big chain companies like Mcdonals, Dunking Donuts. There town is basically run by mom-and-pop shops. In fact one ATF agent who comes to monitor the MC complains about looking for a starbucks. They also help the community by doing fundraisers at Junior Highs, blood runs for children and more. I personally do not find the characters outlaws, i find them as people who do the right things that society has deemed "wrong''. In one scene they castrate a man who raped an 11 year old girl. To watch this show you need to be open to ideas and put your self in the characters shoe. I find this show violent because there are alot of gun fights, stabbings, killings. But it doesnt bother me because you are watching a show on An Outlaw Mc so you should know what your watching. The sex scenes are not that frequent but when they are you can only see the males behind. I find this show to be my favorite on tv and reconmend this hsow to anyone who is mature enough
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Written byAnonymous November 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

25+ Should watch if you are a Mature Person. If not. You can't see it.

They have a TV-MA which this show Rated. Not for Kids. The Show is called Sons of Anarchy. You have be very careful with this program. Because of the Amount of the Violence. Stay away if you are not Mature enough to watch this. You must be 25+ to see this show. Sex is much like you can get on Cinemax on FX. Plus they add stuff to this which means you are more likely want to watch it. You can't if you are Immature. You must not watch if you are under 25 Years of age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byhagrid21 May 14, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Impressed

Got into this show on Netflix, and couldn't get enough, as in, I watched four seasons in a week! The drama is great, as is the acting. The show, based on Shakespeare's Hamlet, is captivating, but is also graphically violent, occasionally sexual, two rapes, and everything BUT f**k is used. Still a great show, and on late enough to watch without worrying your kid will catch a glimpse.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages