All member reviews for Southland

Common Sense Media says

Realistic look at the LAPD is gritty, violent, enthralling.

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written byatv009 March 12, 2011

Awsome, over the top cop show

Very excellent show. Shows how cops potray when catching criminals. Though its violent and has some swearing but I defenitly recomend for ages at least 14 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written bychristian2011 September 2, 2013

Very entertaining yet a grim realistic look at the lives of police officers.

Southland is a TV-MA rated crime drama show that is more darker and realistic in nature than your average CSI show. It deals with tenacious and ambitious police officers dealing with the potential dangers within their job, and even their daily lives. The whole show has a very gritty and tense atmosphere throughout, investigating grisly and disturbing crimes such as violent acts of murder, torture, rape, abuse, drug/sex trafficking, gangs, school shootings, and kidnappings - some involving children. The violence can be quite graphic and bloody, rarely any gore - this includes acts from criminals and civilians alike - shootings, domestic violence, assault, etc. There isn't any graphic sex in this series, but heavily implied with some crude/vulgar dialogue and references. The language can range from moderate to pervasive in some episodes - beeped uses of f**k, c**k, c**t, mother**ker, and unbeeped uses of sh*t. Drug use is common - some characters smoke, drink, party and use drugs - nothing too graphic or pervasive. Violence (3/5) Language (3/5) Drugs (3/5) Intensity (4/5) Sex (2/5)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMoviefan101 August 6, 2009

Southland is a load of crap

This show sucks don't watch it
Teen, 17 years old Written byPTC October 21, 2012

PTC Summuary

Southland is filled with graphic violence and disturbing content. Shootings and gun use are prevalent. In the first episode, police discovered a rotting corpse that had been partially dismembered and devoured by dogs, causing Sherman to vomit. Profanity is frequent, with uses of “a**hole,” and “d**k,” bleeped s- and f-words. Sexual content includes an officer on the vice squad who poses undercover as a prostitute, and Dewey’s frequent offensive jokes at women’s expense. Southland is not recommended for viewers under age 18.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrainey September 11, 2013

Great show

It's a great TV show, but can be inappropriate at certain times. But if your kid is able to watch PG-13 movies, then they will be fine watching this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJon Hardwick February 10, 2012

Great

i love it it is a realistic cop drama. sure sh-t assh-le p-ssy d-ck b-tch all all uncensored (in the tnt version,some of these explectives where censored when it was on nbc) which is a plus that tnt can have fx level profanity. it can be violent but its realistic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byhisp34 February 3, 2011

Perfect for any age

Same as all other tv-14 crime dramas, good show though
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 5 year old Written bytravelinlite75 June 10, 2009

blep, blep

i don't like to hear blepping the whole time where there are supposed to be cuss words. i tmake make it more real having them talk this way, but doesn't make me want to watch it.
Adult Written byGamePlayer12 April 10, 2009

Great Show!!

This show is really good. Its only the first episode and i love it. I love crime shows like these and action.. Its a mix! I can not wait for the next show! Its not the best show for kids but its great for teens. Man its a great show.. Its not the best show ive seen, But it got a spot in my Top 10. it gets a 9/10.