All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 731 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 November 28, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Old Episodes Were Great, Now...Not So Much.

I LOVED Spongebob back in the late 90s early 2000s. The episodes were clever and funny. Now it's just overly used gross humor and slapstick. A little slapstick and gross humor is fine, but this is too much. This show was at its high point in 2003, I recommend you go watch those episodes. Pretty much any episode of this show from 2006 on (with the exception of the one where Squidward becomes handsome) is terrible.
Kid, 12 years old July 6, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A Classic!

I've watched this show all my life, and its really good. It is MUCH better than new shows, like Fanboy and Chum Chum.
Kid, 10 years old April 16, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Old episodes are the best, new ones have lost their touch

I grew up with Spongebob and everyone in my family loves it. I like the older ones since they are more mature and funnier humor unlike the newer ones that aren't really that funny and are sometimes really gross.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 13, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

should not be for kids

some sexy stuff not for little kids and nakedness and the new season is not appropiate for kids not a funny show anymore
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old November 16, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

WHAT IS EVERYONE TALKING ABOUT!

Everyone is saying that you can't learn from it ,that I don't want my kids trying this stuff,and it rots your brain. First, it's a cartoon, you're not spost to learn your spost to laugh and spongebob is a show to LAUGH at. SECOND,if your kids are trying this than you need to have a serious talk with them. Last, a cartoon like this can't lower there IQ or ruin there life or teach them to fail all your test it's just a CARTOON, C A R T O ON , CARTOON!!!!!!!!!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byKnowWhatGood March 31, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Spongebob=KIDS BEING HURTFUL

This show was good for when it started, but not NOW! The plots are silly, the characters are as dumb as doorknobs and it's just plain BORING. Kids shouldn't be repeating this stuff and it is just wrong. It's not even right for kids ages 7 and up! Kids that age don't even understand that material.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Wonderful show for kids who like to have fun.

To all you parents who think SpongeBob isn't a good role model for your children,your just making your kids suffer.SpongeBob is a fun-loving character,and if you can't handle that,something is definitely wrong with you. Don't you want your kids to have fun and live life freely? EXACTLY!!! So SpongeBob is a very good cartoon to watch,and it always will be. But,I do have some concerns about the new episodes. Ever since the movie was aired,the episodes have gotten a little haywire. Some injuries can be grossening to little ones. "Dumb" and "Stupid" are said in the show,and my little brother says it all the time now. So,overall,SpongeBob is wonderful,but try to be careful with the newest episodes.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 6, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Appropriate, but...

While there's nothing particularly inappropriate in Spongebob, I simply find myself not enjoying the show anymore. I remember a few years ago, I would flop on the couch after school with a glass of milk and a pile of homework, watching Spongebob and laughing aloud quite frequently. It was once a great show, with episodes containing pretty good plot lines, entertaining characters, and rip-roaring humor. Unfortunately, that Spongebob is no more. The characters who's antics once surprised and delighted you are now boring and overdone: Spongebob is too happy, Patrick is getting more imbecilic by the second, Squidward has something akin to manic depression, and Mr. Krabs does nothing but talk about money. Along with this, the creators have simply run out of ideas, exchanging their old, intelligent humor for slapstick and cringe-worthy puns. I'm afraid Spongebob Squarepants' golden days are over, and will provide entertainment for only the youngest of children. Parents might want to pick up a good book when this one comes on.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old April 10, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Horrible Show!!!!!!

Letting you know I HATE THIS SHOW!!!!!!!! It is ever so pointless and STUPID!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheFMan December 14, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

This Needed To Be Said

Ok, just to be clear, if it weren't for the greatness of pre-movie Spongebob, this show would have a ZERO star rating. Almost all of the episodes produced after the movie sucked. I can't bear to watch this piece of crap. Spongebob used to be a fun loving, innocent childish character whose idiocy was funny and kind of adorable. Now? He's SOOOOO ANNOYING! When he isn't torturing the people around him, he's singing off key, crying, making people's ears bleed by laughing, and driving Squidward to suicide. Speaking of Squidward, he is always being tortured by Spongebob and Patrick for doing damn near nothing! Spongebob sneaks into his home and tortured him and gets off scott free. While Squidward gets arrested for little things like littering and reading Spongebob's diary! Squidward is by far my favorite character because he hasn't changed and is the one of the only 3 characters left on this show who I don't despise (the others being Gary and Sandy). Patrick, my FORMER favorite character. He used to be a hilarious character, whose stupidity was charming and funny. Now? He's either being a smart-ass or a dumb-ass. Yeah, neither is funny. He is nowhere near a good friend to Spongebob. He has gotten him stuck in his own wringer, tormented Gary, abused his "power" of chopping and destroyed Bikini Bottom, etc. He is now the absolute WORST character on this show. Another character who I hate almost as much as the pink retarded criminal is Mr. Krabs. He used to be a greedy son-of-a gun with a heart of gold. NOW? He's a greedy son-of-a bitch with no heart whatsoever! He once drove Plankton to suicide and laughed about it! The plots aren't funny or interesting and are full of holes. Soooo, here are some of the WORST episodes..... Stuck in the Wringer- Patrick ruins Spongebob's life by getting him stuck in his wringer. Little Yellow Book- Squidward reads Spongebob's diary and gloats about it. This is one of the few episodes that Squidward is unlikable. Trenchbillies- Full of redneck stereotypes. One Course Meal- Mr. Krabs dresses up as Pearl to scare Plankton and drives him to suicide. This episode is the main reason that I now root for Plankton over Mr. Krabs. Demolition Doofus- Mrs. Puff tries to MURDER Spongebob! Atlantis Squarepantis- The worst of the worst. Full of unneeded songs and plot-holes. Truth or Square- Full of MORE plot-holes! Good Neighbors- The first Squidward torture porn. A Pal for Gary- Spongebob is blind to reality as his new pet mauls Gary. Pet Sitter Pat- Speaking of Gary, he's in more pain in this episode than he is in A Pal for Gary! Boating Buddies- Spongebob torments Squidward at boating school. The FMan out!
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnimeIsAwesome808 May 4, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? THE BEST SHOW EVER!

CSM is acting very stupid. This show isn't iffy for 6 at all. It is plain AWESOME. It is hilarous, the animation is stellar, the humor is perfection, and the theme song is extremely catchy. I also think people are overreacting when they say the show went downhill after the movie.
Kid, 11 years old February 3, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

The people of bikini bottom stink!!!

I hate how when squidward plays his clarinet everybody acts like it's he end of the world!!! That is just plain MEAN!!! Squidward rules!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 7, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Sponge bob

Sponge bob is a really good show. It is really funny and it is cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kid, 12 years old August 20, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Sponge Blob

SpongeBob is probably the most un-educational program on television; an if I spelled that word wrong, it is because this disturbing show turned my brain to mush. Although kids may be attracted to the cruel sense of humor, parents: be warned. Studies have been released that a child's IQ can drop when watching spongebob. They do not learn any life lessons, nor do they gain any drop of knowledge. The main character, spongeblob, doesn't even have a brain; literally! In the wild, sponges, fauna which live in the ocean, don't have brains, eyes, noses or mouths, which is probably why this disturbing character is so disfigured. In addition, Spongebob, has an incredibly annoying laugh; if your child adores him, don't be upset when I write "I told you so!" when he/she starts imitating his aggravating laughter. And believe me, they will adore him for life! Although you may think I am another kid who is just having fun writing a hilarious review on Spongebob, I assure you I believe what I write. Along with the extended list of reasons not to watch this show above, I have a few more terrifying reasons why not to watch spongebob. I have read a few reviews listing this show as inappropriate. Although I have watch the show, like, 3 times in my short life, I have heard about this annoying sponge making inappropriate remarks. For example, a review on Common Sense Media says that spongebob said "Patrick, your genius is showing!" Patrick followed up by covering his "area". In addition, they have given inappropriate closeups on other characters, like Sandy the Squirrel. In addition, kids can grow as annoying has Spongebob, thinking he is a role model. Believe me, he is not. There was a guy in my old neighborhood who put his dogs solar on and ran through the electric fence. If he taught me his trade, at least my brain wouldn't got o mush as fast. Tell your kids to stick to Elmo, where they actually learn something to make for Sponge Blob's damage. Every time I see spongeblob, I begin to worry that I will fail not only my SAT's but I will... darn. I forgot what I was gonna say... Memory Loss! Save Yourselves and Your Children!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byLucas Couldron May 18, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

My #1 favorite show of ALL TIME!

I've never seen a show better than SpongeBob in my ENTIRE life! Anyways,this show is NOT AT ALL iffy for 6 year olds! It's for the WHOLE FAMILY! Anyways,the animation and jokes are GREAT! I've seen every episode and I never want to miss an episode!
Teen, 15 years old Written byMovieLover1222 January 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Better for tweens/teens

This show is horrible. My younger brothers (5 and 3) go around saying I hate you and that i'm stupid just from watching this show. I also think that this show is pretty boring. I'd change the channel.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 21, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

GROSS

I like this show but Don't watch it while your eating because there is some really gross stuff in the show. Like show organs ,baft and other gross stuff , Like in one epoise there is a war about washing your hands and patrirk donset wash his hands.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byNASCAR101 April 16, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Sponge Boob

this show is terrible. after the movie, it should have ended. the old episodes were good. 2005-present was dumb. let's take a look @ the characters. Spongebob: he was a guy whom loved working, and was a liitle bit dumb, now, he's hopped up on sugar, and incredibly annoying. Patrick: he was only a little bit dumb, now, he's brain dead. Squidward: he's a guy who wanted sponge bob and patrick to die. he's the only likable character now a days. thank God for Squidward. Mr. Krabs: he was a son of a gun who had a heart of a gold, now, he a son of a witch whose a money-greedy butthole who is a complete pain . thanks for reading this review
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byI like family guy June 16, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Spongebob review

I have seen more then 100 episodes of Spongebob
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byDrCool May 30, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

My favorite show of all time!

Out of every brilliant cartoon,this one is the BEST! The animation is really colorful and the jokes are funny! SPONGEBOB RULES!

Pages