All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, frenetic animated comedy is iffy for youngest kids.

Users say

(out of 1004 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

Sponge it up

Spongebob rules!!!!!!I'm definetly gonna see the movie on opening day!!!

A playful cartoon with some mature humor but is not inappropriate.

Spongebob Squarepants is a cartoon about a sea sponge that lives in an ocean city. There's some mature humor that's not inappropriate for any kids. If you ask about any violence there's the normal cartoon violence. But I asure you that adults themselves will love this show!
Adult Written bywilloton April 9, 2008

Very Humorous

Spongebob Squarpants is not educational but it's the funniest tv show meant for kids ever. I mean, there's some jokes not meant for babies, but nothing thats going to screw with someones behaviour.
Adult Written byzaydogg April 9, 2008
Adult Written byDMX_Hater April 9, 2008

Great!

I enjoy Spongebob, as it's a great show. But recently, the episodes have been rated TV-Y7. This is not needed! Spongebob is TV-Y content, no matter what you try to say! That's a fact!
Adult Written byfigueroa April 9, 2008

A Spongebob review

Do you like sea life and comady? Then Spongebob Squarepants is the TV show for you. This cartoon show is about a sponge who lives in a pineapple with his pet snail,Gary and his two neighbors,grouchy Squidward,and Spongebob's BFF Patrick. Spongebob works at the Krusty Krab with Squidward and his boss Mr.Krabs.Spongebob Squrepants is great for evreyone to watch,you will love it.I know I do.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJack_Staples4 January 16, 2017

The classics are always the best!

I hope this doesn't go off air, it is really good and has been on Nickelodeon for the past (almost) eighteen years!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySquare root January 7, 2017

Fun for little kids, not so much tweens and teens

Spongebob is a cartoon aimed at younger kids (Which is evident in some of show's humor) but that being said there is still some objectionable content, mainly the absurd and disturbing violence. For example, in one episode, the main character falls asleep doing a drivers test, and he enters a violent dream in which his house comes alive and sets itself on fire . Another example is an episode where spongebob becomes obsessed with finding a blue jellyfish called no name. Soon, Mr. Krabs finds out and catches a mass of jellyfish, which appear in his grotesque ads with a disturbingly deformed version of mister crabs. Later, spongebob is kidnapped by no name and brought to a facility where he witnesses jellyfish being brutually squeezed to death for their jelly. There are many episodes that follow this pattern of a warped sense of reality, ranging from psychological torment(Being abandoned, taunted, witnessing grand destruction of society.), to physically violence( Characters are shot at with arrows, attacked, kidnapped) or scenes of near death. Of course, it is all bloodless, but I would say make sure parents review episodes before they let their youngest watch, sense it is unpredictable wether an episode is just a silly adventure or a twisted one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byI'm just a bill December 28, 2016

Good show that got resurrected from the brink of flanderization doom

The older episodes are better. These episodes have good comedy, they teach values, and are just plain classics. These episodes (and some newer ones) are the reason why I put this as age 4 and up. After the Spongebob Squarepants Movie Hillenburg retired and new writers (some were animators before) stepped in. This is where it got bad. Sure, season 4 was good and retained some of the classical parts, but after season 5 it started showing gross out gags, got boring, became cliche, etc. Some episodes were good, like the Special Pest of the West, and then it hit rock bottom in season 6 with One Coarse Meal. Now, I understand Spongebob by this time became a cash cow for Nick, and so they'd start to get stressed and make inferior episodes, but still... After season 7&8 came the show got somewhat better, especially so when Hillenburg came back around season 9-11. The problem with a lot of the season 5-7 episodes (and some later) was flanderization. They thought if we'd exaggerate a certain characteristic of each character, kids would like it. However they did it far too much and made Patrick a sociopath, Mr Krabs a greedy antisocial person, Spongebob too childlike, Squidward a man about to snap, Sandy into someone who doesn't exist, etc. Some good episodes were around, Sandcastles in the Sand was a great episode, Walking the Plankton and New Leaf was good, etc.
Kid, 11 years old December 22, 2016

Some Funny-Most Inappropriate

First of all, the city is called THE BIKINI BOTTOM! Squidward seems very suicidal. There are some funny moments, but most of it is spelling out a dirty joke through child's play. And in one episode, Spongebob watches a TV channel of a sea plant that is being "active", he starts puffing up his lips and he gets a bit closer to the TV, then his pet snail, Gary, comes in and he quickly switches the TV to the sports channel. I think that this is an example to porn.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 22, 2016

i love this show really good

there are some word like idiot moron shut up and there are some violence but its as good as the simpsons
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old December 10, 2016

this isnt a show for learning!!!!

So the whole point of a cartoon is to enjoy and watch it, its aimed for kids. its a cartoon, so you dont have to learn anything from it. Yet some people are making a REAAAAALLY big deal about"oh, there is no learning in it, oh my iq is going down from it", wah. WAh. WAH! ugh!! not everything is for learning, and this show is for leisure! Maybe your iq is going down because you dont know what a leisure show is!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byPup M. December 1, 2016

I love the show

It is a great show. I watch it and I laugh my head off. It maybe a little too much for kids on the younger side. Sum episode are creepy. Like the one when spongebob gets a tough side might creep some kids out because his head turns and the a green face appears. In the show people explode and stuff like that. No one dies though. Right now I have not seen sex. Sandy's outfit is a little revealing. Dang, darn, idiot, moron, jerk, shoot, barnacles, barnacle head, and tartar sauce are said a lot. In the episode sailor mouth Spongebob and Patrick learn a swear word. It is blanched out by a dolphin noise though. Later one there are many sounds as Mr Krabbs hits his foot resembling swear words. Every once in awhile a frightening face might show up on the screen. There is a bit of Martial arts violence. Other than that it is okay.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrockyroad November 26, 2016
Not a show for younger kids because there are some parts that have jokes intended for adults. Kids say 2-6+ but actually is 7+.
Kid, 9 years old November 19, 2016

omg

Best show i've ever seen in my entire life. why does it have such a low score on this website. that's plain stupid.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLewis2003 November 1, 2016

Spongebob is Funny

Parents need to know that Spongebob is a funny cartoon but it has positive role models
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old October 26, 2016
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJoey Jones October 7, 2016

Spongebob Is the best show ever

Spongebob rocks, because this show has been put on nickelodeon since 1999 and it's still going and I think spongebob is still gonna keep going
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written by.Picklecat. October 6, 2016

Funny, but a little stale now

Back in the 1990's when the show first aired, the episodes made much much sense. Now, all the episodes are pretty much all the same. Not saying it's bad, but just saying its gotten a tad stale over the years. And when you say that it rots your brain, well, all shows can't have educational value! Everyone needs a show to laugh at now and then. Where was younger, I would always set a series recording on Spongebob. Patrick used to be my favorite. He was silly and dumb. He was practically my role model. You think I'm dumb now, eh? Considering over been adoring an empty minded starfish? Well no. Spongebob has been the longest running series on Nickelodeon, and has won a whole lot of Kids Choice awards. Millions of children watch this show. And you think its going to hit the headlines, saying millions of children have turned into zombies, laughing like Spongebob? Well I just say its JUST A CARTOON. Now onto my opinion. This show, I have not seen an kind of sexual references, nor violence. Its is humorous and fun. So, I just say its a fine show. Not perfect and dandy, but fine.
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byShopkins1230 October 1, 2016

Spongebob

This show is funny! (Do not watch the episodes "Texas" and "Naughty Nautical Neighbors" because they have too much bad language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages