All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, frenetic animated comedy is iffy for youngest kids.

Users say

(out of 953 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrownie1234 March 19, 2009


it good for ID say 4 year olds
Adult Written byspongezim March 15, 2009

good and bad for kids

Some episodes are good for young kids some are bad in one episode spongebob and mr krabs think they killed a man. One episode shows them fallinkg off a cliff and losing ther head.This show can get bad and good for kids.
Parent of a 1, 4, 7, 11, 16, and 24 year old Written bypopcornpop1997 March 15, 2009

Watch Out...

Fellow parents! Do not forget about the content in this show just because it is for kids! There is violence, nudity, and bad language in many forms! Be careful, I don't reccomend this for youngsters!
Kid, 12 years old March 15, 2009

Great Heartwarming show!!

I think spongebob is a nice alternative to all the stuff they show on Nickelodeon! Spongebob is just a guy who loves work, and loves to help people! Yes it has a few crude humor, but not as bad as some shows! Spongebob is a great rolemodel for kids! Not the silly stuff, but I mean Spongebob himself! This is just a happy show!! Happy I say, HAPPY!!! =)
Parent of a 2 and 5 year old Written bymomof2teacherofmany March 13, 2009

Pay Attention

You would be hard-pressed to find a kid under the age of 10 who hasn't seen this show. My almost-6-year-old son started taking a very big interest in it lately. I watched it with him once in a while, and thought some of the humor was off, but it would go over his head. I was mildly bothered when SB and Patrick were laying on the beach, Patrick pulled out the front of his bathing suit and you saw his hairy butt. Another episode had SB shooting clothes out of a cannon at Naked Mr. Krabbs. One of the resulting outfits was a bra and panties. I thought my son was ok with it until he got in trouble at school for talking about some of the racier stuff he saw. Know your kid and talk about what you see that's inappropriate. Don't ban it, but make sure your kid knows that this is not a show they should be taking their behavoiral cues from.
Kid, 11 years old March 12, 2009


I would wait for it on Nick all the time because I love it.
Adult Written byFALLOUT3ROCKS March 3, 2009

Awesome show but...

This show is funny but does have sexual jokes, and the two main, male, characters have been repeatedly seen with little or no clothes on hugging and laying on each other. as long as your kids aren't perverts this show is fine my 2 and 5 year old cousins love it and they haven't been doing any nasty stuff.
Teen, 16 years old Written byOtakuKing March 3, 2009

A show for a more 'Grown-up' Audience

Well... I can't agree with those people, who says this show is for young kids. For the first, the new episodes have been really disturbing. Squidward getting his nail ripped off and then a chair gets throwed at his wound, Patricks butt blowing up and later showing only his skeleton bellow... Yeah, that was even disturbing for me as a 16 year old teen! Plus, it contains some blood too, like when he performed surgery on Squidward, because he though he would die. Language... Well, it's very mild. And the Sexual comedy is pretty high, but only adults will get it anyway. They used it a lot in the old seasons, like "You're shoes are untied', where Spongebob were looking at underwater porn... Not many gets that. So, this is a show perfect for 12 and up, at least 10. And by the way "Commonsensemedia", the show has a TV-Y7 rating now...
Kid, 11 years old March 1, 2009


I really don't think spongebob is appropriate at all. I mean young kids pick up things they hear and see and you do NOT want your kids to repeat ANYTHING from spongebob.
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2009

You're kidding me!

Really? Do you think Spongebob causes pregnancy and violence among us?
Kid, 12 years old February 19, 2009

Very cartoon

They really do not say anything bad. The worst thing they say is like moron, idiot, etc. They say no real bad words. Some of it is a little crude but when it is it is very very mild. Any violence like getting stung by a jellyfish is not bad. All of it is cartoon and shows no blood. I recomend watching it with your kids first. This show really depends on the parents standereds with what their kids whatch so check it out.
Adult Written byxMadxScientistx February 19, 2009

A great show for younger kids!

I think SpongeBob is a great show for kids. It's our favorite show to watch together as a family. I think it's probably they only show other than Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends that I actively watch with the kids.
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2009


this is crazy. spong bob is the most tame cartoon out there and still parents are going coo coo about it!!!!
Kid, 10 years old January 4, 2009

This sow is very funny

this show has minor language and crude humor. This show is approprate for kid's 8+
Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written byrojobahr January 2, 2009

Not Good For Kids

Inane. Moronic. Idiotic. I will not let me kids watch this show until they are 14+. Hopefully by then, they won't want to watch it. Too many innuendos for children to hear. Too many bodily function 'jokes'. Not appropriate for young kids.
Kid, 6 years old January 1, 2009

This show is so funny!

I am 7 and a half ready to turn 8-years old. This show is remarkable incredible, but some words like ugly, stupid, or idiot is kind of a strong commands for 6 year olds.
Teen, 13 years old Written bychris904 December 31, 2008
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2008

Spongebob is fine for all ages and yet it

Parent of a 5 year old Written bye_mansmom December 19, 2008


I also agree - not for young kids. Bad examples set with respect.
Teen, 13 years old Written bybobby578 December 18, 2008

its not that bad....

Ok, parents are highly overreacting. cartoon violence wont cause children to become more violent. In fact i dont know a single child that hasnt seen somebody get hit once. When i was like 7 i watched cow and chicken and trust me its like 10x worst. the only spongebob episode thats really that bad is one wear they go panties snatching. So what if it has no education value or morales at all. in fact when i was little i probly learned nothing from blues clues or seasme street. anyway the point is any innapropite(sorry for bad spelling) humor goes right over kids heads so i say its ok for kids to watch. and by the way dont be a ever protected mom,your kid will hate you for that