All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, frenetic animated comedy is iffy for youngest kids.

Users say

(out of 990 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 21, 2015

Second best show of all time.

Goatworlds here. Sex: 3/5, Frequent innuendo, and you can see lots of uvulas (LOL uvulas) and butts, Language: 1/5, name calling and mockery, but never a swear, Violence and scariness: 2/5, Two episodes contained blood, new ones are as creepy and disgusting as heck, and lots of Squidward Torture episodes involving physical torture. Drugs 0/5, none at all. Our edgy little sponge friend is the second best TV show ever. This show has only been surpassed by The Simpsons. It may be animated, but it's not really a kids show. There's sex references (examples: "Don't drop the soap", "Patrick, your genius is showing", "He doesn't have hair... or does he?" and in "Your Shoe's Untied, SpongeBob watches "porn" on the TV) everywhere, there's tons of name calling, and it can be pretty violent. Two episodes went as far as blood (Dying for Pie and House Fancy). Recently this show has become awful, however, so I suggest you watch episodes in seasons 1-5. I especially recommend, if you want highest quality humor, Seasons 2, 3, and 4, which all share the spot for best SpongeBob seasons. people are saying seasons 4 and 5 are also bad, but that's not true. Seasons 6-9 are bad, however. Season 9 was bad until Stephen Hillenburg returned. Also, in newer episodes, there have been three suicide references (Squidward hangs himself and sticks his head in the oven in "Are You Happy Now?", and Plankton attempts to commit suicide in "One Coarse Meal"). In conclusion, all seasons are iffy for 17- and off for 9-, yet still awesome UNTIL season 6 made it go to heck. Still, seasons 6-8 were the best of Nick in 2009-2011 with the exception of iCarly, showing just how bad Nick's new shows are (looking at you, Breadwinners).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byKeycha1n November 20, 2015

Eh... Not my type of show

Eh... meh.... I don't really like this show. It's so boring now. I hate the new episodes. I remember I used to watch and laugh at the older ones. At one point I even claimed it to be my favorite. But now this cartoon is disappointing. Same with all other Nickelodeon cartoons such as Fairly OddParents. I simply don't like Nick. They have run out of ideas and put no effort whatsoever anymore. I prefer Gravity Falls. Gravity Falls is the true best show ever!!! But this... No just no. I don't like Spongebob anymore.
Educator Written bymaddox121 November 6, 2015

Good but Sailor Mouth could go far

Violence-"Wormy" scared the heck out of me Language-"Stupid" "Idiot" "Moron" "Heck" "Barnacles" etc. Sailor Mouth has bad words bleeped by dolphin sounds (however it teaches kids not to SWEAR.) Sexy-Mild "porn", flirting Drugs-none
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old November 4, 2015

Great Show!

I Still Remember In The Episode "Stanley S. Squarepants" When Squidward Meets Stanley, He Thinks There's Two Spongebob's, So, He Moves Away. Great Show! I Highly Recommend It!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheLu2 October 20, 2015

Who doesn't like SPONGEBOB???

I believe that spongebob is a hilarious show that a lot of parents don't like, just because they think it is annoying. The only real mention of anything bad is squidward calling spongebob and Patrick boobs. There also are some things that may influence bad behavior. I hope this was a help.
Teen, 17 years old Written bykadkidd October 16, 2015

One of the best shows ever!!

I love this show!! There is really NOTHING that is inappropriate for younger kids!! There you go!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bymr.filmrate October 6, 2015

Great show for laughter, but lacks a secret behind.

This show is one of the most viewed and famous children show. It has a great lack of comedy, but sometimes, it includes some sexual references and language. In some episodes I have seen, there is one in which SpongeBob is watching TV and is looking at some sort of sea creature that dances in a attractive and suggestive way and has a inappropriate figure, which to me, it looks like if SpongeBob was watching pornography. There is also a episode in where SpongeBob learns how to say curse words, but are bleep out though, and says the words in front of people. In this show, SpongeBob and sometimes other characters say "stupid", "dumb", and "freak". I have a little brother and sister that LOVE this show, but sometimes I take it off because it goes just way to far. I really recommend it for at least 9-10 years up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 4, 2015

My god...

i miss the old episodes this show sucks now do not bother.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byFulecoFan2001 September 19, 2015

The Best Show Ever!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bygmwbmw35 September 19, 2015

Horrible, lame tacky show; hardly inappropriate, just moronic.

Tell me what about this show do some (idiots) people like about? Is it the so-called entertaining sponge, or is it that wacky starfish. It seriously shouldn't be cause of the crab/lobster character whose really greedy, yet not as greedy as his string green bean boss. Like why would people vote for it on the Nickelodean KCA awards? It even won... It's an honor for SpongeBob to get nominated, yes, but couldn't a more funnier show, but not idiotic, and one that has at least some sort of lessons? For example, Fairly Odd Parents, Recess, Phineas and Ferb, or possibly even Arthur (though that's not on Nickelodean, either) should be both nominated and won an orange blimp.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpingebill September 16, 2015

BEST SHOW EVER!!!!

Spongebob is a cult classic, baby! It's the only Nickelodeon show that aired in the '90s and still running (it came out in 1999, so yes, it counts as a '90s show!). Very funny, and I mean pee your pants milk coming out of your nose funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMovieKid387 September 7, 2015

My Childhood Show is Nostalgic and Fun

SpongeBob isn't annoying. It's funny, witty and fun and entertaining. But yes: ITS GOTTEN REALLY CRAPPY!!! SpongeBob has gotten away with a lot of inappropriate innuendo and kids won't get it. I myself didn't. Ok studies say it messes with kids minds but how is that shi* even true. Did they test it on kids and see there grades. Probably a bunch of rednecks. Language: Stupid, Idiot, Shut-up, butt, heck and some hells and damns said not in a bad way Mr Krabs: "Squidward what the hell are you doing" you couldn't here him say the word but turn on the subtitles and it does. "the frying Dutchman is from hell and all of damnation!!" So only 3 times. Violence: Slapstick and frequent with hilarious fights and mostly funny. Sex: SpongeBob makes a don't drop the soap reference to Prison Rape with some light and HEAVY innuendo that kids will not understand but adults will defiantly find out. SpongeBob isn't bad unless your kid is either mature or doesn't know about innuendo. No drinking unless in some episodes but like maybe 5. Some great messages and not really great role models they just do stupid things mostly.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byasacapra97 September 5, 2015

The best cartoon on Nickelodeon

Best show ever. I watch practically all the episodes every day. This is such an original idea. Characters that are underwater creatures. The episodes are so creative and funny.
Teen, 14 years old Written bysimiedki11 August 29, 2015

Best children's cartoon on the air

Great show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheLoneReviewer August 28, 2015

This is kind of a mixed bag right here????

I think that this show is harmless. Cartoonish slapstick, nothing inappropriate. But this show is best for ages 5-13. The new episodes are really exaggerating, they're annoying. It also does it's best when it tries to please kids but irritate teens and adults. As much as I loved the older episodes, the annoyance of these new episode are shrunk down to just a mild recommendation. "B-" TV-Y7 for over-exaggeration.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educator Written byNopros August 26, 2015

They teach kids how to behave like stupids and idiots, we should consider that young minds imitate what they see, so if you would like your kid to act like stupid, love money much than you, and have their minds programmed then good luck

This is not for kids, if you are not agree with me watch Blackjack episode
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 17 and 17 year old Written bypoppinsfan August 15, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11, 13, 16, and 18+ year old Written bycome to pa pa August 5, 2015

it used to be good

when the pilot came out u knew it was a good show it was it had heart funny moments wacky stuff adult jokes and funny lil kid stuff now it sucks not funny but the movies were good only watch episodes from 1999 from 2004
Teen, 13 years old Written byMobcraft101 July 28, 2015

Horrible, and digusting show. Never let people under at least 14 watch it!

I don't even know HOW I used to adore this show as a child. Now at the age of 13, I strongly disagree with good reviews for this. This show started out as a very funny, creative, happy show with well thought out characters, good morals, etc. But after the movie that I believe was in 2004, the writers apparently thought it was a good idea to completely scrap all of that and turn this show into one of the worst children should watch! First of all, if there is anything the new episodes do better than the old episodes, it is the animation. In the first season, the writers had to reply on a cheap animation style, but then they got better animation, but this made the show first. They wasted a lot of detail on back round characters that we probably would only ever see once. But that isn't nearly as bad as the other way this affects the show. There was a famous moment from just one bite, where it showed an "extreme close up" of squidward's face. The reason we thought this was funny was because the grossest stuff was only the wrinkles, and it was only done once or twice. Nowadays, we get awful faces with extremely gross detail, and they are done at least 5 times a season! Another thing wrong with this show is the fact that they use bad language. Sure, episodes like "Sailor mouth" are fine for mature teens who already have heard and/or know what the words mean, and don't use it every second, but this was a really bad thing for kids. They were supposed to censor something toward the end, but many people, which by the way, INCLUDED CHILDREN, could totally understand what he said! I don't know what he said, but I really don't want to know. Also, Nick is showing signs that this show has been going on for way too long! They recycle plots, and the show will probably stay alive until they have at least 2 of each episodes, which would be about 35 seasons. How depressing. Also, reusing plots is lazy, but using nothing at all is even lazier! The show is filled with filler moments. If you're thinking "what the heck is a filler moment??" filler moments are basically pointless wasted time. In order to identify a filler moment, think about these questions: 1) Will it affect the plot sooner or later? 2) Did the characters learn anything important? 3) Is it at least funny? If the answer to all of these is no, you've correctly identified a filler moment! I have a TON of example! Also, the characters personalities are being scrapped. Patrick, who used to be a loveable and funny character and was a good friend to spongebob, turned into a big jerk. Sandy, who was loyal to her friends, and was that awesome female character, but that was when she had her actual personality. They tried to make her look good in "Karate island", but it failed miserably! This show is just giving kids bad morals. Children literately learn a bunch of life lessons from things like this. They are meant to give good role models for children to think about. So if children "learn" from this and think this is how the world works, not only is this show bad in general, but it is also DANGEROUS! Thanks to this, when I grow up and have kids, I will always preview their TV show episodes before letting them watch their shows.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent Written byNxxgaBixxxSingleaf July 27, 2015

BAD SHOW!!!

Inappropriate !!! Sorry for the caps use but while no episodes normally have cursing SpongeBob says the d word (da**) in one episode. WE TURNT IT OFF! NOT FOR KIDS UNDER 17!
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages