All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, frenetic animated comedy is iffy for youngest kids.

Users say

(out of 1006 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byshortguy June 9, 2016

The quintessential kids show

This show is great when you need kids to sit and be quiet. It's engaging enough that they will willingly watch it for as long as you let them, and it's completely harmless in terms of drugs, violence, sex, and language. There's no educational value whatsoever, but it works well as an emergency go-to show. I'm in high school and I still find this show enjoyable, as do many other people I know, but it's main target is the youngsters.
Kid, 12 years old May 31, 2016

Lame show LOADED with dirty jokes.

Teen, 15 years old Written bydirtydanbaby April 8, 2016

im the real dirtydan baby ;))))))))))

im the real dirtydan, i hhit people with my big shovel and me and pin head larry get down and low, i love me old western battles and dont listen to anybody because i am. dirtydan baby ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBarneyRocks March 21, 2016

Old episodes sucked. New ones are way better.

Older seasons, particularly seasons 2 and 4, absolutely blow. If it's seasons six and up, it's a great show,especially season seven, with One Coarse Meal/ One Coarse meal was hysterical. Plankton attempting suicide had me in tears (good ones), and I loved how Mr. Krabs knew to torture Plankton. He was at his best in this episode at the part where he didn't care about Plankton's suicide attempt. Because yeah, Plankton was a mess. And let's not forget that dark imagery in his nightmare. Overall, best of Season 7, and probably best episode of all time... Of any cartoon ever. I'm the best and everyone on Earth, minus me, is the suckiest ever and got sucked into a black hole. A Pal for Gary was awesome as well. Other great episodes include Face Freeze, Someone's In The Kitchen With Sandy, Boating Buddies, Little Yellow Book, Squid baby, Choir Boys, and The Splinter.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byisaaclee February 23, 2016

Pretty good, just be careful

I enjoy spongebob and I think it is still the number 1 cartoon, but there are things to watch out for like bad humor, greed, and so on. Like mr. krabs, it shows lots of greed or Patrick which shows stupidity. So just be careful what you see.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bykitty3558 February 17, 2016

Awesome show but got bad over the years

My lil sis and I always watch this show. It is way funnier than any of the live action shows that Nick has broadcasted. There is some mature humor, but your kid won't really absorb it because it is moved on from so quickly. The characters are not great role models, however. You should always tell your kid not to follow the examples of any of the characters. There is one episode where Spongebob and Patrick discover a bad word in graffiti and start saying it, but when they say it, it just sounds like a dolphin noise.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byRandomDSplayer February 13, 2016

Once good but now horrible

Before the movie, this show was more family-friendly (albeit loosely) and wasn't as much of a problem. Now, it has vulgar humor (toenails getting graphically torn off, enlarged splinter wounds and other forms of dismemberment) and the most annoying sound in current history. Definitely not a good choice. This doesn't bar it from being an over-hyped cultural phenomenon...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheTeenCritic February 9, 2016

Great Show... for about 3 seasons.

From 1999 to 2004, this show was comedy gold. Unfortunately, it has overstayed its welcome and has rotten like a fruit. From 2004 to now, there have been some quality episodes, but there are also the occasional horrible episodes. You pretty much have to cherry pick episodes to enjoy it, but the cherries you pick are classic television.
Teen, 14 years old Written byiiEDMWolf February 2, 2016

Watch the Original Seasons, they are better.

Back in the day, Spongebob was Better than it is now. Seasons 1-3 are much better than Seasons 4-(whatever season it is currently on when you are reading this.) If your a classic SB Fan, totally watch the First and Second Movie, they are good. but overall, SB is totally dead.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybigandbaguy February 2, 2016

wOW

so cool and funny! My favorite character is patrick.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 29, 2016

funny crazy positive messages in it but arguments and violence throughout not for toddlers lots of bare butt older kids

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byighosh15 January 28, 2016

BEST CARTOON EVER

This was my fave cartoon when i was in first grade!! This, along with drake and josh, hannah montana and the fairly oddparents, and some other disney shows, was the only tv show that i would watch when i was in kindergarten, first or even second grade! Now im 15 and i am thinking of watching it once in a while...
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byAby88067 January 18, 2016

Best. Show. Ever.

This show has been my favorite since I could watch TV. Yes, some of the jokes are a little crude, but Patrick and SpongeBob always end up happy and loyal to eachother through thick and thin.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 3, 2016

The show that started it all

SpongeBob is a comical show and is appropriate for all ages
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 3 year old Written byFalnlare January 1, 2016

Big No.

Spongebob is not allowed in my household. I've seen a few episodes over the years and could feel my IQ dropping each time. Complete waste of time and brain cells.
Kid, 10 years old December 27, 2015

the fudge is this?

as you might know, the old episodes are cool. chill. fabulous. whatever you say. too flawless to describe a lot. great humor. :-) ALL UNLIKE THE JUST-NOS OF THE NEWER EPISODES. if you have watched the older and newer episodes, you might say that the newer episodes reached the bottom of the hill. they did. they're also too hard to describe, but because they're very terrid, unlike the awesome older episodes. an episode was actually rated PG in canada. why? just because of the clappy (i'd use the minor language, but, y'know) twist to the plot you'd find in new episodes. i just can't give a good description. P.S. RM (i shortened it to prevent super curiosity) isn't real, but don't look it up. just don't. even if you're curious. you'll regret it. o_o
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 19, 2015

Depends On The Kid.....

This show is hard to review. I would say that it really depends on the kid whether they will like it or think it is appropriate. For me, it is just plain stupid and SpongeBob and his friend Patrick are bad role models with EXTREMELY annoying laughs. They are pretty harmless though, and they pull of some stunts that require kids already having the "Don't try this at home" talk. There are also always characters who are grumpy and mean to Spongebob and Patrick, and there is one character in particular who cares about nothing else but money. There are more sexual references then people realize, one including an episode where SpongeBob is burying himself, and his nose is sticking up out of the ground, but it looks suspiciously like something else.....the older kids will know what I mean. The bottom line is know your kid and know whether these things will go over their head or not.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written by20nsunley December 14, 2015

DONT WATCH THIS SHOW!!!!!!

Now=Heroin Porn Meth Coke Alcohol LSD Weed 90's= No drugs or alcohol The movies had a hangover partying
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 8, 2015

Dirty Joke Central

too. many. dirty. jokes
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byCrappola December 5, 2015

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? THE BEST SHOW EVER!

CSM is acting very stupid. Pfffft, iffy for 6 my butt. This show isn't iffy for 6 at all. I've watched this show all my life, and its really good. It is MUCH better than new shows, like Fanboy and Chum Chum. I grew up with Spongebob and everyone in my family loves it. I like the older ones since they are more mature and funnier humor unlike the newer ones that aren't really that funny and are sometimes really gross. Everyone is saying that you can't learn from it ,that I don't want my kids trying this stuff,and it rots your brain. First, it's a cartoon, you're not spost to learn your spost to laugh and spongebob is a show to LAUGH at. SECOND,if your kids are trying this than you need to have a serious talk with them. Last, a cartoon like this can't lower there IQ or ruin there life or teach them to fail all your test it's just a CARTOON, C A R T O ON , CARTOON!!!!!!!!!!! To all you parents who think SpongeBob isn't a good role model for your children,your just making your kids suffer.SpongeBob is a fun-loving character,and if you can't handle that,something is definitely wrong with you. Don't you want your kids to have fun and live life freely? EXACTLY!!! So SpongeBob is a very good cartoon to watch,and it always will be. But,I do have some concerns about the new episodes. Ever since the movie was aired,the episodes have gotten a little haywire. Some injuries can be grossening to little ones. "Dumb" and "Stupid" are said in the show,and my little brother says it all the time now. So,overall,SpongeBob is wonderful,but try to be careful with the newest episodes. This show was good for when it started, but not NOW! The plots are silly, the characters are as dumb as doorknobs and it's just plain BORING. Kids shouldn't be repeating this stuff and it is just wrong. It's not even right for kids ages 7 and up! Kids that age don't even understand that material. The characters who's antics once surprised and delighted you are now boring and overdone: Spongebob is too happy, Patrick is getting more imbecilic by the second, Squidward has something akin to manic depression, and Mr. Krabs does nothing but talk about money. Along with this, the creators have simply run out of ideas, exchanging their old, intelligent humor for slapstick and cringe-worthy puns. I'm afraid Spongebob Squarepants' golden days are over, and will provide entertainment for only the youngest of children. Parents might want to pick up a good book when this one comes on. I've never seen a show better than SpongeBob in my ENTIRE life! Anyways,this show is NOT AT ALL iffy for 6 year olds! It's for the WHOLE FAMILY! Anyways,the animation and jokes are GREAT! I've seen every episode and I never want to miss an episode! Spongebob: he was a guy whom loved working, and was a liitle bit dumb, now, he's hopped up on sugar, and incredibly annoying. Patrick: he was only a little bit dumb, now, he's brain dead. Squidward: he's a guy who wanted sponge bob and patrick to die. he's the only likable character now a days. thank God for Squidward. Mr. Krabs: he was a son of a gun who had a heart of a gold, now, he a son of a witch whose a money-greedy butthole who is a complete pain . SpongeBob SquarePants is my favorite cartoon. I laugh non-stop when I watch it. Perfect animation too. I also love the voice acting, music, and just everything.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages