All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, frenetic animated comedy is iffy for youngest kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 924 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 15, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

love it!

I loved it all of my life!(I like the episodes more before,I don't know maybe 2009,maybe,I still like those episodes though.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old April 12, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Old episode are great, but went downhill in 2005.

The episodes from 1999-2005 were great but went downhill when the lawyer episode came on. The episodes were best through 2002-2004.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old April 10, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

CANCEL IT NOW!

It has a lot of bad words. Please cancel it, it's so long overdue. And everybody must avoid Spongebob and Nick, or at least Spongebob.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 10, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

parents do not let your kids see spongebob squarpants. they can only watch spongebob if their 7 or older.

do not let younger kids see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Written byAnonymous March 25, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome Show...

I think that spongebob is a wonderful show. It contains crude humor, but it is humor! It is almost a satire, but even if your kids can't understand it it's not inappropriate. Keep in mind that not all shows have to be educational!
Kid, 10 years old March 17, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TotallyMe:

This show is the best. I know that people say "Spongebob is bad for your kiddies," or "It's not educational." Does is matter? It isn't any better than the Fairly Odd Parents (great) or Fanboy and Chum Chum(TotallyNotMe: stupid.) People should ease up. Parents, just think, where are you putting your kids if they are not watching the show? Where are you if you do let them watch the show? It's the same. Let your kids watch SpongeBob. Think about this also, if your kids have a tattoo or piercing, then why don't you let them watch SpongeBob? I have watched this show since I was a TWO YEAR OLD! I laughed at everything. Sure, I didn't get it, but laughing is the best medicine - even if you aren't sick.
Parent Written byResponsibleParentof4 March 13, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

18+ AND RATED X

I FOUND MY 4 12 YEAR OLDS WATCHING SPONGEBOB, THEY WERE LAUGHING, WHEN I SAW THEM WATCHING IT I TURNED OFF THE TV AND THEY WHINED, SO I GROUNDED THEM AND TOOK THEIR PRIVILEGES AWAY, NO SICK SHOW LIKE THIS THE LANGUAGE IS TOO CRASS FOR MY KIDS LIKE STUPID, OR SHUT UP, THATS WAY TOO STRONG
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old February 28, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

it has simble messages

one episode, when Mr. Krabs wanted to feel young again, he join spongebob and patrike (sorry cant spell his name) and mr. ks said: "Any porn in the st-" why does he wanna know if theres any porn in the store? also, spongbob was looking at porn, and then gary comes, and he said: "Gary! i- i was looking for the football channle!" give me a break! also, they also were at mr ks house, and he was holding his mothers underpants, and said: "Boys, we hit the jackpot!" come on nick, thats so inapropiate, evn sanjay and craige, and breadwinners!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 9, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

90's spongebob is no more.

Spongebob was great, until they starting out of ideas. The way they made Spongebob vs the Goo, they took their out their brains, and painted them purple. The new version of the show (2005 and later), features crappy slapstick humor, Awful visual gags, and jokes that don't even make any sense, while the older version when they actually had ideas, has real jokes, a non-moronic Patrick, and good ol' classic hand drawn animation. If your kid is watching spongebob for the first time, I suggest you stream it. It's worth to shell out the extra cash so your kid enjoys the real spongebob, not some crappy slapstick junk.
Teen, 17 years old Written byCool_Reviews February 1, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

The best show ever!

Funny, colorful, cool, you name it. I like every character except for Squidward. The theme song is awesome and I love the music. SpongeBob SquarePants will live on forever.
Teen, 14 years old Written byWWEWRESTLINGFAN103 January 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

SpongeBob SqaurePants is 1 fantastic show

When I first watched SpongeBob it was very enjoyable and fun for people to watch but after the movie people are saying that it went downhill after the movie but hey the old SpongeBob and the new SpongeBob are both good and the movie was great and fantastic to watch, my favourite characters are SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star because they make me laugh and they are cool and SpongeBob works at the Krusty Krab(Which is like McDonalds and Burger King) and SpongeBob goes Jellyfishing with Patrick everyday but the only SpongeBob Squarepants character which I hate is Squidward because he wants the fun to stop and He is a bully to SpongeBob and the score Im giving SpongeBob SquarePants is 100/100 Every SpongeBob episode is fantastic and This show deserves 100 stars
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDsim64 January 20, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A great show for kids...S1-3 ONLY!

You need to know that CSM at first reviewed a Season 1 episode, but they luckily updated the review to include the new episodes. But most of the bad reviews are targeting classic episodes. The show has changed it's tone to stay fresh, in my opinion, but bad thing is, the new tone made it like Family Guy, complete with cutaways. By the way, a wee bit of gross-out humor is even in the beginning. Let kids watch it. A lot of new episodes rely on gross-outs and are be boring and tedious. But Truth or Square is good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byReviewsMaster January 20, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

This is heaven.

Best show ever. Old AND new episodes. Patrick is the funniest cartoon character ever! The animation is stellar, the acting is perfect, and it's just THE MOST PERFECT SHOW ON EARTH! LONG LIVE SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS!
Kid, 10 years old January 18, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

The content of Spongebob Squarepants.

SpongeBob Squarepants is really good and should be suitible anyone over the age of 6. I said people should know about Positive role models such as SpongeBob who is always on the bright side and I said Language the language isn't too strong, Squidward calls SpongeBob and Patrick, Saps, Jerks, Idiots and babies.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 11, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Spongebob

This is a good show yes it says stupid and loser but kids hear that all the time. I am 11 and still watch it and I enjoy it too. I hope this helps you!
Teen, 14 years old Written byMy1ten0baby January 6, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Good Show

What a great and engaging show for kids. Not too violent and just the right age for lots of younger kids.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Awesome
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 30, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Very Well Made TV Show And Appropiate For Kids

Spongebob is a really good show and I don't know why people on this website are treating it badly and saying it's "inappropriate" and not for young children. I mean, come on I grew up which Spongebob and watched every episode at least once when I was four (except for The Paper). I can understand if you were talking about the new ones saying it can be violent sometimes like that scene where Squidward's toenail was ripped off. Just because it isn't My Little Pony or Sesame Street doesn't mean it's bad and shouldn't be watched by young kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bytonytorresan884 December 25, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Best show ever.

SpongeBob is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's so funny, the animation is perfect, the voice acting is super good, I love the theme song, the Hawaiian music is awesome, and everything about it is PERFECT. I honestly love the new episodes. The old ones were better, but I still love the new ones. The only bad episode is Someone's in the Kitchen with Sandy. The rest are awesome though. I also enjoyed the movie. GO SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS!!!
Kid, 11 years old December 24, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome show!

Why do people say this show is bad? I love it! They say it is violent but not even! Just funny! I cannot go a day without watching this show! But it's ending after spongebob the movie two! Noo! I love this show!

Pages