All member reviews for SpongeBob SquarePants

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, frenetic animated comedy is iffy for youngest kids.

Users say

(out of 992 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byamig0animad0 April 21, 2015

2nd greatest cartoon of all time.

This show is 100% amazing. It has great episodes. And great characters. It's been airing on Nickelodeon for almost 16 years! This show will be unforgettable for years to come.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byLowe's man April 16, 2015

Good show; just don't take too literally.

If you feel that your child may want to imitate some of the behaviors shown on the program you may want to have a discussion with your child. In fact, an occasional reality check wouldn't be a bad idea for younger children. That said, kids can learn a good deal from SpongeBob and Company. Kids are taught about friendship, loyalty, apologizing, honesty, hard work, fair play, disappointments and going the extra mile. SpongeBob is fiercely loyal to his friends. Patrick reciprocates. Squidward doesn't, but SpongeBob is still his friend anyway. He's also nice to his boss as Crusty Crab, even though his boss isn't nice to him. SpongeBob also provides good customer service. SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS is a good show, particularly for elementary school children. (Just one question. Is he an adult or a child? He has a job, but he's also in, if I remember right, 3rd grade.)
Parent of a 2, 4, and 14 year old Written byimabetterparenthanyo April 16, 2015

What's your problem?

All three of my kids love this show, even my 14 year old. I even love it and I'm 38. You people who say its not appropriate for kids obviously do not know how to teach your kids education and what's right and wrong yourselves. Spongebob is a hilarious show for all ages. Yes they sometimes call each other "stupid" or "moron" but so what? At least they're not swearing. And by the way, to all the parents who think spongebob is inappropriate, your kid smells like boogers.
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2015

It depends on the kid if it's appropriate

SpongeBob can have some violence but it's not over the top.And on occasion there is bare butts shown which is a bit inappropriate.But otherwise it's a great show that has slapstick humor which kids will love and sometimes there is messages that can be positive but they can be negative to.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, and 1 year old Written bychelseagal April 10, 2015

Ok..

So I loved Spondgebob when i was a kid, but there are hidden things that you probably can't see when your laughing at this great show! If you were to search spondgebob secrets it's amazing at what comes up! An example is: on one episode spondgebob is watching a TV show and he's making sexual noises and he's watching porn! He turns it off to an other channel strait away when Gary comes !He is doing pretend laughing! Other then rude bits this is a great show just watch out!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter April 8, 2015

Newer episodes don't effect the overall quality

One of the best kid cartoons out there. But the more recent episodes could use some work. Kenny the Cat, really? However, SpongeBob and his friends still provide laughs for all ages
Teen, 13 years old Written byfrozen hater101 April 8, 2015

the best show ever

Teen, 13 years old Written byCrackingCracker April 6, 2015

Fine

It's a fun cartoon for 4 year olds. Just check every episode
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bybobbys1 March 18, 2015

Not for Kids

This show is terrible for kids. I watched this with my four year old son and was shocked by the violence and language. Don't let your kid watch this!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byWRESTLINGFOREVER103 March 17, 2015

Funniest Cartoon in the world

SpongeBob SquarePants is my fourth Common Sense Media review after a fantastic singer called Sean Kingston, SpongeBob is awesome I love the characters but the only Characters I hate are Squidward Tentacles because he is a jerk and idiot to SpongeBob and Patrick, Sandy Cheeks because I find her annoying, lastly Pearl Krabs because she is brat and cry baby, I enjoy every season, I enjoy every episode but the only episode I hated was The Splinter because it was horrible and disgusting , I love watch SpongeBob along with other great cartoons like Family Guy, The Simpsons, Lilo and Stitch, Kim Possible, Johnny Bravo, Futurama, Regular Show, Adventure Time and many more old cartoons, I will give SpongeBob SquarePants 100/100, My favourite characters in this great show are SpongeBob and Patrick because they are funny, amazing and awesome, Nickelodeon and Stephen Hillenburg did a super awesome job creating this amazing show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old March 14, 2015

best for 7 and up

not really ok for kids under 7 cause they might get the cursing and insulting (st*pid, id*ot, m*ron, etc) and yelling and stuff
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byshawn789456 March 7, 2015
Spongebob teaches you teamwork and friendship. he is positive no matter what. look at me i'm 12 and i still watch spongebob
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 February 26, 2015

shut up haters

haters gonna hate
Adult Written byDangthattoon February 21, 2015

Old episodes are good. I'll say that.

I think the old episodes are great for all ages! And will make your kids laugh. The newer episodes are more for ages 6, though I said eight because they is a lot of adult jokes they sneak in there. If you can't find them, the one that stands out the most is the episode with the Krusty weiners. It's a very funny and happy show. I recommend it.
Parent Written byParentOf5AmazingKids February 18, 2015

better for middle school kids.

Young kids will start calling their fellow classmates names! Better for 10 and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 1, 2, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 11, 11, 12, 13, 13, 14, 15, 15, 15, 16, 17, and 18+ year old Written bynicoleandmeatwadss February 9, 2015

good

I like but I think it should be for 5+ my son is 5 and I have a girl infant and a 2 year old girl and I think only my son should be ok with this flim
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byabbyleebigmacs February 7, 2015

FOR ANY AGE!

spongebob is like my life. ive loved it since i was a baby. both new and old are great! if u are older then u can find losts of inapropriate jokes. but over all is great!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 3, 2015

Old episodes were fine, new episodes...... blah.

Back in the early days of Spongebob i was COMPLETELY in love with the show, it entertained me for years and years until now, all the fresh, 90s-like humor that was in the Season 1/2/3/4 episodes are now mediocre, cringe-worthy humor that also makes fun of some serious issues (such as suicide, toenails and skin being ripped off, etc.), THAT is not FUNNY to me, why did the original creator of the show had to go? The new staff needs to go after the second movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byzeekattacklee January 21, 2015

Spongebob Squarepants Review..

I honestly loved this show. And I know a whole lot of parents are Restrictive about this show. I Plainly understand. The show does have it’s share of cartoon violence and childish rude humor. Otherwise, There really isn’t anything a child ages 7 and up couldn’t handle watching..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byMichaelDu January 14, 2015

Review from now adult watching Spongebob growing up...

I noticed a trend when first saw Spongebob in 1999 when it aired.. its was alright at the time most jokes aimed for older audiences flew over my head. But now looking at episodes that aired in the 2000s+ suddenly got all Adult in children's face. I noticed when I got older I was no longer laughing at the younger kid humor but at the low radar I was laughing mostly at innuendos. Then after the "sponge model" was shown, it was completely different from " ha ha he is an idiot" to "ha ha adult humor" to "this is just too much and crossed over the line" the more recent episodes show a lot "adult innuendos" that would raise questions to a kid at age 6-12 that are way more obvious... like the Spongebob movie trailer for 2015... It really crossed the line to seemly pushing kids to be more active "with their sexuality." I would say this scores a 1 for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism

Pages