All member reviews for Suburgatory

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, satirical comedy is fun for older teens, adults.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bybig jess crush October 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great

i dont get why all these parents are complaining about this show me and my siblings have watched it for the past 4 weeks and have not had that big of a problem with it and ps this show is so hilarious who could not love it i love it and i am a 22 year old man
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovierocker October 7, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

OK, just depends on your kid

Great show, just not approprate for kids. They talk alot about condoms and kissing lesbians and also some making out under the bleachers!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old October 5, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Show

It is a really good show but kind of inappropiate.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I HATE this show with a strong passion!

This is a stupid, horrible sex comedies with a capital W in Whoreible. I hate everything except Alan Tudyk. I hate every crappy thing about this stupid crappy show otherwise. I can't wait until every DVD and any form of this sh*tty show is burned in the worst way possible. Being someone from the suburbs, that makes this piece of crap worst. Why do you find it a comedy, it's a stupid frightning whorrer even worst that you can think off! Don't watch this awful sex comedy! It's so bad, NOBODY should watch it, not for kids, 0.00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001/9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999.99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 stars!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTanner1107 August 13, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

What's wrong with this show?

I don't see a big deal in most of this stuff as who by age 13 or 14 hasn't seen/heard all of it? If your child hasn't be exposed to ANY of this then you're sheltering your child and ruining them later in life
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byiknowthis March 31, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Funny

Personally I think this should be TV-14 because it has a lot of material that kids would question. There's talk about sex and some language and drinking that many parents wouldn't want young children watching. This is a really funny show, though, so it's worth watching!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byoOSlowMotionOo March 3, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Makes fun of anything non- NYC

At first I liked it, but then I really began to get annoyed. I live in NY State, and it by the look of the intro, they only went upstate or to Long Island, which makes me think they are making fun of anything not NYC. Also, once Tessa was talking about having a "Gaydar" because she was "from New York." As I said before, they never left NY state. So she was kinda being Captain Obvious there, and completely stereotypical.
Parent Written bytreat02 February 17, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good, but make sure mature

i think that Tessa is a good person, but it is high school, in that there is things that kids might not be able to see. it is a great series for mid-teen, adult, and maybe a little bit younger but this does talk about stuff that is referred to in high school so watch out, this is iffy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written bytammy92 January 18, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids

it is certainly not for kids and every episode is getting worse. Tonights episode featured two strippers giving lap dances bu nowadays there aren't any shows available to kids that don't contain sexual undertones
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Funny

Funny show! Some parts are a little "Urm ..." regarding sex. The main character (Tessa) is very open minded about her opinions and a very good role model.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bydr dew October 31, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good fun

i dont know why people are being so hard on this show we watch this show as a family every week and love it and find it hilarous
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybig jess fan October 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

why

why is this show getting sutch bad reviews from parents because this is a favorite around our house and we dont see how any one could possible hate this show it is just so cute and down right hilariously funny
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydiet cheery dr peper October 14, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

pretty cute

i am a man with a 11 year old brother we both watch this together and i think this is a very clever and also very funny family comedy thats right i said a family comedy it is not all that bad for teens and tweens to watch with there familys and enjoy together for once
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydiet dr. pepeer October 10, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

think i will keep it

i am a 22 year old man who has been watching this for the past two weeks and it seems to be one of the best comedys of the fall so far and is not all that dirty so you may could watch as a family depending on the age of your child
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5 and 10 year old Written byBeing pecked to... October 7, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

It's a no-go for kids and young teens!

Definitely not for kids. At the risk of sounding over-protective, I can't imagine letting anyone younger than 16 watch this show. The sexual references and innuendo are a big part of the plot. This past episode, Tessa was blindsided by her attraction to the "hot", but idiotic teenage boy across the street. He certainly wasn't her "type" but she couldn't stop herself from continuing to make out with him, and his rock-hard "guns" were a much discussed turn-on for her. This "relationship" started because a nasty girl in a group of rumpus room gathering teens dared him to kiss a lesbian (Tessa is not gay). I'm no prude, but I just can't imagine letting teens younger than 16 view this show. Furthermore, one of my main problems with Suburgatory is what age Tessa appears to be and what age she is in the show. I simply can not buy her as a high-school student. I just can't get past it; It distracts me from the plot every time she is on screen. I know teens on TV shows are typically much older in real life (Hello, Bev. Hills 90120) but it seems almost insulting to the viewing public that we are asked to see her as a 16 yr old. Maybe not an issue for others, but definitely is for me. Overall, for older teens and adults, it's somewhat amusing and mildly enjoyable.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byWhatTheyMissed September 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Program was misrated!

From my examinations, this should be TV-14-D!
Educator and Parent Written bySactown Mom September 29, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A disappointing show in an inappropriate time slot

We (family of 3 including a 10 year-old) started to watch "Suburgatory" after we had watched "The Middle". I was pretty shocked that this show aired in the 8:30 timeslot. The very beginning of the show shared the premise: Dad moving girl from the city to the suburbs because he found condoms (lubricated - you get to see the box) in her drawer. It goes downhill from there. We sent our daughter out of the room after 2 minutes. The specific content I remember in the first minutes included a crass comment about a skirt being so short that it would show a girl's vagina, another comment by a high school girl to another girl about their respective parents, "she wants to screw your dad". It was a very gratuitous use of sexual dialog, not even innuendo.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byMom to MyTTG September 29, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

For Older Tweens

My 10 year old saw the ads and wanted to see it. I check rating and saw it was TV PG so I wanted to watch it with her. She missed the vague reference to condoms at the beginning so we kept watching. The detailed condom conversation later in the show prompted me to turn it off. Not a show for those who don't want to have to explain what a condom is just yet!
What other families should know
Too much sex