All teen and kid member reviews for Supernatural

Teen, 15 years old Written byDamon Lover July 1, 2011
 

rofl-iffy for 16-17?????

rofl! Iffy for 16-17??? OMD. sex-oh my gosh the ony sexual thing about this show is the words that come out of deans mouth. It implies that because of his "bad boy" nature that he might have shared a one night stand with a girl. But thats not the point of the show! look past it people! Violence-okay, who wants to watch a show that doesn't look real? No one is forcing you to watch it, it's meant for only the viewers that can handle, so dont give it a bad review becuase you're 8 year old can't see it because its not meant for them!! As far as deeinking goes, dean does get drunk sometimes, but he's of age, and it just adds to the humor in the show, its not promoting you to go out and drink! LOVE THIS SHOW IF YOU CAN HANDLE IT YOU SHOULD WATCH IT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byalexisemerald94 June 26, 2012
 

Supernatural changed my life

I've been watching this show since season two, which was airing when I was 11-12. Honestly, Supernatural changed me for the better. The mythology of the show inspired me to learn more about other cultures and religions. Each episode brings something new to the table - a new creature, lore from all over the world, so much information about different cultures. This show, I think, is what really got me into history and culture from a young age. That's not all that's good about Supernatural. While the show looks like two guys shooting monsters to an outsider, any fan can tell you that that's not really what it's about. Supernatural, at its very core, is a tale of two brothers who would die for each other (and do, several times over). This show is all about loyalty to friends and family, and the importance of loving one another. Sam (Jared Padalecki) and Dean (Jensen Ackles) would die for each other. Dean practically raised Sam. One brother would sacrifice everything for the other, and that's what family's about: sacrifice. It's so intense watching the dynamic between the brothers. Yes, they fight. No, they don't always agree, but ultimately, they do what's right for their family, and that's what makes Supernatural one of the best shows I've ever seen. I've been watching since I was 11, and this show never gave me nightmares. I don't curse just because Sam and Dean do. Yeah, they drink, but so what? At 11, it didn't bother me, and it still doesn't. While this show is not for the sensitive child (or teen; I have friends who can't watch it because it terrifies them), it's an excellent piece of television. Because I started watching it early, I'd say this show is okay for preteens who aren't easily scared.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySilva Adrianiel May 7, 2011
 

Don't pay attention to the age rating!

*rolls around laughing* Seriously?! Iffy for 16-18? Now, I don't know about other kids my age, but this is perfectly fine for younger kids as long as they aren't too squeamish. Sure, there's blood, but it would fake without it. Sure it's scary, but what else would you expect from a show like this? Sure there's bad words, but I ignore them. Plus, the swearing just fits Dean's character. Sure there's a few sex scenes, but I just open another tab on the computer during those and come back when they're over because I have no interest in them! Yer, not all kids are like me and they can't take the violence and blood, but just because it's there shouldn't discourage them from watching it! It is a great show!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byxoxodessitoo June 21, 2010
 

My favorite show

I love it! I love it! Dean and Sam are the best! I don't think it's scary. If you like handsome guys (like Dean and Sam), want something a little bit scary and amazing story - this is your show!
Teen, 13 years old Written bykimi15gr July 25, 2011
 

Best show ever - read on...

I started watching this show just after my 13th b-day. It's the best show ever, a suspense, edge-of-your-seat kind of show. It is a little creepy sometimes, and it does keep me awake at night listening to every creak of the stairs (I've always been a bit of a wimp) but it's the best show ever. The violence isn't really an issue, but since I've never really enjoyed horrors too much I just don't look at the bloodiest parts like head-chopping, bloody deaths, etc. Overall, if you don't like it, just don't watch it. I think that this show could easily make the top three of my fave movies/shows and Dean and Sam are amazing characters. I usually watch the show with my dad and we both really like it. I also agree with Koi-Pie that Dean and Sammy (espiecially Dean) are hotties ;) I personally love it but I don't recommend it for younger siblings especially if you share a room (they will keep you up at night - 'I had a nightmare' kind of thing). Thinking about watching it? Do :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byawesome_life_my_way October 22, 2011
 

Ghosts Demons and Witches

I find the show very good, And almost comical at times. Most 10 year olds today know the differnce between fact and fiction if your a good parent you will tell your kids. Even a 8 year old knows the differnce between ghosts vampires, etc. eic. As for the violence and other what better way to learn the right from the worng.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byIgnis Graecus January 21, 2011
 
Absolutely love this show, and have been watching it for seven years now. Only thing you need to watch out for is Deans mouth, otherwise, its just a corny Saturday night curl up. The violence isn't a problem, though people with weak stomachs and minds might be affected.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 22, 2010
 

Guilty pleasure

This is one of my MANY guilty pleasures. This is the most recent though. Yes I know that I am a little late. I was watching Vampire Diaries and there was a commercial for this show and I thought why not? I tried it and I thought it was one of those begginers horror shows. As it turned out, it was pretty good. I love it! I am most likely to young to be watching it but, as I said, guilty pleasures.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byLaoiseMc April 28, 2013
 

Undying Love

This show is well worth watching, and way deeper than you would imagine. The series follows two brothers, Sam and Dean who have lost everything - their mother, father, family and friends, and are now hell bent on destroying the demon who murdered their mother. They stand for any good left in the world, helping whoever they can along the way, as well as confronting their own inner demons. Their relationship with each other, as well as some of the people they meet, is a large factor in the show, showing family is the most important thing, and they would destroy the world to save the ones they love most. Both brothers would die for each other and stay by each others side till the end. And in a lighter prospective, this show is also, funny, intelligent, and witty, with a bit of romance, and if I'm allowed say this, really special. It has made me, laugh, cry, and smile and is well worth a look!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byWintan November 26, 2013
 

Filtering for the good stuff

I adore this TV show. It's hilarious, emotional, relatable, and once it gets ahold of you, you can't escape. :P I began watching it about two months ago at age 17 and am just starting season 8. One of the best things about the show is the emphasis on the importance of family relationships. I love Sam and Dean's relationship and the distance they're willing to go for each other. In almost any story, it seems like the 'main relationship focus' is always a romantic one, and I like that this show focuses on relationships other than just romantic ones. It shows that other kinds of relationships ARE important. I also like the message it sends of doing what needs to be done for the benefit of others. Sam and Dean, in many respects, are wonderful role models. They're brave, self-sacrificing, and know that they have to do whatever they need to do in order to protect anybody--whether they have a personal connection to them or not. Now, that being said, I consider this show a 'filtering through for goodness' kind of show. Yes, it has its muddy spots that I, personally, think the show would be better without. There is sex, drinking, language, and violence--I'm not going to pretend there's not. As far as the drinking and violence goes, it's not too big of a deal. Sam and Dean are over 21, and though I have high standards for myself to not drink, their drinking doesn't really bother me. They're men, they like their beer, and they usually don't get drunk. Sam does sometimes (probably because he has a lower tolerance for liquor than master-drinker Dean), but those scenes are mostly just humorous. The violence is to be expected for this kind of show. It's not particularly realistic, and usually not over the top, but there are some pretty graphic parts, such as a man's arm getting ripped up in a sink's disposal or a guy's head getting chopped off by a garage door... I guess that is pretty bad, but for the most part the violence isn't anything more than shooting a ghost with salt or Sam or Dean getting shoved across the room and running into stuff. The thing with the violence is that the show doesn't promote violent behavior; the violence occurs as a result of the bad supernatural elements and Sam and Dean have to stop the violence. The language/dialogue is definitely something you probably wouldn't want a kid hearing. Swearing is common, though no S or F words, and there are some themes discussed that are a little iffy. My biggest problem with the show (but I love it so much I just put up with it) is the immoral behavior promoted through the show. I wish there would just be an episode where Dean finally makes a decision to grow up and not sleep around anymore. That would make me happy. See, part of Dean's character that is generally easy to kind of ignore when he's acting nobly is that he's a sex guy. He loves women, he loves looking at them in ways he shouldn't, and totally sees them as objects (mostly). Sam isn't quite so bad, but he does hook up a few times during the series, which always seemed kinda out of character for me. This is a theme in the show that is not good, the theme that having sex with anyone you want is fine, perfectly acceptable, that these cool guys are doing it and nothing ever happened to them. Now, there is nothing pornographic in any of these scenes, just intense make out sessions and carefully placed camera angles so that you can't see anything. And out of 200 episodes, there are probably only like 6 or so of these scenes. Anyway, this theme right here is why I would suggest this show for being for older kids. If I would've watched it when I were 11 or something, I would've thought it was a terrible show. But, because the rest of it is so amazing, this part is just something you have to put up with to get to the goodness. Now, beyond that, there is something AMAZING that I would like to address about the Supernatural experience, something that gives it probably the most positive effect out of any show, and that is the actors behind the characters. Each of the actors behind the main characters, Sam, Dean, and Castiel, are loyally married and have children whom they love. They don't ever do anything stupid like so many other actors do, they are generous and kind, and they even say that they don't really want fame and that their families are the most important things to them. I have never come across any other actors who are such good role models to their fans as these men. They have their heads on straight and seem to really know what matters, and I think that seeing that is one of the most positive things that can come from watching Supernatural.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKurt MMB April 10, 2012
 

Supernatural Review

Supernatural may look like one of those silly blood and gore tv series without a plot and unforgettable characters, Supernatural is none of these things, in fact Supernatural HAS unforgettable characters, occasional blood and gore, mild and occasional sex scenes, a very good plot, a dark sense of humour, a scary taste and many more, Supernatural may be violent but it is still worth watching when your at least 12 to 13 years old
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byThea Salvatore June 16, 2011
 

On for 14

Okay the only thing wrong with this show is the gore level. Honestly sex isn't much of a problem. The main focus of the show is stopping the supernatural and if u can't handle the few scenes that are in there which are very non graphic than fast forward it or close your eyes. And if the violence bothers you than it's not a show for you. But don't go writing bad reviews about it because no ones forcing you to watch it, it's only meant for people who can handle it. Heck it's rated TV14 so unless violence bothers you any teenager can watch it in my opinion.
Teen, 15 years old Written byigotcrzyfriends February 5, 2011
 

great show, not for scardey-cats though

GREAT SHOW! good show with good storylines and 2 hot main charcters...not too sexual and curse words, while used often, arent really noticeable
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byyellowblossomflower February 4, 2014
 

Awesome show, but not for kids

Supernaturals is definitely an awesome show! One of my favourites! I highly recommend this show if you love thrillers and adventure stuff. However, this show does have a lot of violence, sexual stuff, and a lot of drinking. This show is basically about fighting/killing demonic supernatural creatures, and shows a lot of graphic images. In one episode, they actually show characters being beheaded, and throughout the show, the main characters are usually tortured, and showed with a lot of blood and scars. One of the main characters, Dean, is also really attracted to beautiful women, and there are quite a few dialogues referring to sex. In fact, there are a couple of sex scenes in the show itself, and some making-out scenes. . About the drinking, the characters are usually shown with alchohol in their hands and are always in bars when not hunting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bykittykat12313 November 1, 2013
 

Supernatral

OMG!!! Best tv show ever Sam and Dean are soooooo hot plus it has a great story line. The new season just came out parents check it out for you kid if you must. But I worn you you'll get hooked
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 12, 2011
 

love the show

love this show.me,my mom,my dad and my two 15 year old friends watch it all the time. but it can be scary for younger viewers and as the series goes on it can get a bit gorey to the point where i have 2 look away from the screen.but i think that sam and dean are good role models because they both have their issues and their own problems but they get through it in the end usually with the help of each other and sometimes their friends.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfandoms_4life March 30, 2015
 

Okay if you can handle scares

In supernatural, there is some "bad words" (bitch, hell, damn, excedera). There is a gay guy, some kissing (but not to the point where it's inapropriate), and most of all; demons. There are things related to bloody Mary, ghosts, and other gouls. I would consider this show to be scary because of the monsters. I suggest watching the first episode with your child to decide if it's okay for him/her.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJCool May 25, 2014
 

One of the best shows to date

I started watching this show on netflix around mid-age 13 and i gotta say it really sucked. I didnt believe in ghosts and i thought it was a ridiculous story. I watched 2 episodes then stopped. However, 3 weeks later I just wanted to keep watching. So then I got into the show and finished 8 seasons in 3 months. The story: the story is about 2 brothers roaming the u.s looking for supernatural beings to put down. The first 2 seasons involve mainly monsters, but after that thE monsters are things that can be somehow tied back to the bible. The show contains some graphic images and more even discussions. Nothing on this show has scared me more than the conversation between Sam and Dean about Deans time in Hell. However, most of the violence most kids have seen by the time that they are a teen. The cursing isnt anything worse than kids would hear on an pg-13 comedy or any episode of SNL. The worse words they say are usually said by parents in the house once a week. Any then we come to sex. The show has probably 1-2 sex scenes each season. Some can be somewhat graphic showing the characters(usually dean) walking around with no shirt on then taking some girl to his bed. There is also one lesbian kissing season in season 7. However, these things should be overlooked because if you wont let your child watch this show because of everyday things then they will miss out on probably the best show ever!! Also the blemishes can be looked over with the family messages and the role models of the characters. Sam and Dean dont seem to be great role models at the surface but further on once you get to know them they really are.!.!.!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byxXxMovieChic1313xXx July 14, 2011
 

AWESOME show!!! Love it :)

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byeyebrows_on_fire November 26, 2014
 

I watch it

I love this show. It's amazing, it's intriguing... It's, overall, addicting. When I was 12, I wanted to watch this show, but my parents wouldn't allow me to; in retrospect, I understand why. It's violent, and it has a mature plot line with a lot of drama that younger viewers may not grasp. There's mild language, and some sex (but no nudity), and some drinking, which could be easily handled by a 12 year old, but the nature of the show makes it not suitable for a tweenager. The main characters, Sam and Dean Winchester, are rough around the edges, but overall they only kill evil things, like demons and monsters, because those things are killing humans. They try their hardest to not hurt people, and they usually don't without permission, and they NEVER kill or harm children. They aren't good role models, but they provide a decent message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence

Pages