All member reviews for Supernatural

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 156 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byDamon Lover July 1, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

rofl-iffy for 16-17?????

rofl! Iffy for 16-17??? OMD. sex-oh my gosh the ony sexual thing about this show is the words that come out of deans mouth. It implies that because of his "bad boy" nature that he might have shared a one night stand with a girl. But thats not the point of the show! look past it people! Violence-okay, who wants to watch a show that doesn't look real? No one is forcing you to watch it, it's meant for only the viewers that can handle, so dont give it a bad review becuase you're 8 year old can't see it because its not meant for them!! As far as deeinking goes, dean does get drunk sometimes, but he's of age, and it just adds to the humor in the show, its not promoting you to go out and drink! LOVE THIS SHOW IF YOU CAN HANDLE IT YOU SHOULD WATCH IT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byalexisemerald94 June 26, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Supernatural changed my life

I've been watching this show since season two, which was airing when I was 11-12. Honestly, Supernatural changed me for the better. The mythology of the show inspired me to learn more about other cultures and religions. Each episode brings something new to the table - a new creature, lore from all over the world, so much information about different cultures. This show, I think, is what really got me into history and culture from a young age. That's not all that's good about Supernatural. While the show looks like two guys shooting monsters to an outsider, any fan can tell you that that's not really what it's about. Supernatural, at its very core, is a tale of two brothers who would die for each other (and do, several times over). This show is all about loyalty to friends and family, and the importance of loving one another. Sam (Jared Padalecki) and Dean (Jensen Ackles) would die for each other. Dean practically raised Sam. One brother would sacrifice everything for the other, and that's what family's about: sacrifice. It's so intense watching the dynamic between the brothers. Yes, they fight. No, they don't always agree, but ultimately, they do what's right for their family, and that's what makes Supernatural one of the best shows I've ever seen. I've been watching since I was 11, and this show never gave me nightmares. I don't curse just because Sam and Dean do. Yeah, they drink, but so what? At 11, it didn't bother me, and it still doesn't. While this show is not for the sensitive child (or teen; I have friends who can't watch it because it terrifies them), it's an excellent piece of television. Because I started watching it early, I'd say this show is okay for preteens who aren't easily scared.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byxoxodessitoo June 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My favorite show

I love it! I love it! Dean and Sam are the best! I don't think it's scary. If you like handsome guys (like Dean and Sam), want something a little bit scary and amazing story - this is your show!
Teen, 15 years old Written byOGORMAN January 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Paranormal thriller is not for the squeamish.

I love this show for its creepiness factor! I have a few seasons on my IPod that I watch all of the time... Even at night when I'm alone in my basement and it's pitch black. I know that's not good for my sanity as far as thinking something's gonna get me while I'm sleeping but that's just how I watch shows like this and Ghost Hunters. It makes it more fun... Swearing is quite common between the Winchester brothers but that should be the least of your worries when watching; images of ghosts and other supernatural beings still give me nightmares at times, especially the episodes about the ladies in white (don't know what I'm talking about? Google it.) Just make sure your not too sensitive or squeamish before watching this. Comments? Questions? Concerns? Email me: ogormanscommonsense at yahoo. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byLaoiseMc April 28, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Undying Love

This show is well worth watching, and way deeper than you would imagine. The series follows two brothers, Sam and Dean who have lost everything - their mother, father, family and friends, and are now hell bent on destroying the demon who murdered their mother. They stand for any good left in the world, helping whoever they can along the way, as well as confronting their own inner demons. Their relationship with each other, as well as some of the people they meet, is a large factor in the show, showing family is the most important thing, and they would destroy the world to save the ones they love most. Both brothers would die for each other and stay by each others side till the end. And in a lighter prospective, this show is also, funny, intelligent, and witty, with a bit of romance, and if I'm allowed say this, really special. It has made me, laugh, cry, and smile and is well worth a look!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byIgnis Graecus January 21, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Absolutely love this show, and have been watching it for seven years now. Only thing you need to watch out for is Deans mouth, otherwise, its just a corny Saturday night curl up. The violence isn't a problem, though people with weak stomachs and minds might be affected.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykimi15gr July 25, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best show ever - read on...

I started watching this show just after my 13th b-day. It's the best show ever, a suspense, edge-of-your-seat kind of show. It is a little creepy sometimes, and it does keep me awake at night listening to every creak of the stairs (I've always been a bit of a wimp) but it's the best show ever. The violence isn't really an issue, but since I've never really enjoyed horrors too much I just don't look at the bloodiest parts like head-chopping, bloody deaths, etc. Overall, if you don't like it, just don't watch it. I think that this show could easily make the top three of my fave movies/shows and Dean and Sam are amazing characters. I usually watch the show with my dad and we both really like it. I also agree with Koi-Pie that Dean and Sammy (espiecially Dean) are hotties ;) I personally love it but I don't recommend it for younger siblings especially if you share a room (they will keep you up at night - 'I had a nightmare' kind of thing). Thinking about watching it? Do :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySilva Adrianiel May 7, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Don't pay attention to the age rating!

*rolls around laughing* Seriously?! Iffy for 16-18? Now, I don't know about other kids my age, but this is perfectly fine for younger kids as long as they aren't too squeamish. Sure, there's blood, but it would fake without it. Sure it's scary, but what else would you expect from a show like this? Sure there's bad words, but I ignore them. Plus, the swearing just fits Dean's character. Sure there's a few sex scenes, but I just open another tab on the computer during those and come back when they're over because I have no interest in them! Yer, not all kids are like me and they can't take the violence and blood, but just because it's there shouldn't discourage them from watching it! It is a great show!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 22, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Guilty pleasure

This is one of my MANY guilty pleasures. This is the most recent though. Yes I know that I am a little late. I was watching Vampire Diaries and there was a commercial for this show and I thought why not? I tried it and I thought it was one of those begginers horror shows. As it turned out, it was pretty good. I love it! I am most likely to young to be watching it but, as I said, guilty pleasures.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bykittykat12313 November 1, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Supernatral

OMG!!! Best tv show ever Sam and Dean are soooooo hot plus it has a great story line. The new season just came out parents check it out for you kid if you must. But I worn you you'll get hooked
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byxXxMovieChic1313xXx July 14, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AWESOME show!!! Love it :)

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byigotcrzyfriends February 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great show, not for scardey-cats though

GREAT SHOW! good show with good storylines and 2 hot main charcters...not too sexual and curse words, while used often, arent really noticeable
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byKurt MMB April 10, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Supernatural Review

Supernatural may look like one of those silly blood and gore tv series without a plot and unforgettable characters, Supernatural is none of these things, in fact Supernatural HAS unforgettable characters, occasional blood and gore, mild and occasional sex scenes, a very good plot, a dark sense of humour, a scary taste and many more, Supernatural may be violent but it is still worth watching when your at least 12 to 13 years old
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byawesome_life_my_way October 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ghosts Demons and Witches

I find the show very good, And almost comical at times. Most 10 year olds today know the differnce between fact and fiction if your a good parent you will tell your kids. Even a 8 year old knows the differnce between ghosts vampires, etc. eic. As for the violence and other what better way to learn the right from the worng.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

love the show

love this show.me,my mom,my dad and my two 15 year old friends watch it all the time. but it can be scary for younger viewers and as the series goes on it can get a bit gorey to the point where i have 2 look away from the screen.but i think that sam and dean are good role models because they both have their issues and their own problems but they get through it in the end usually with the help of each other and sometimes their friends.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byLeilabeth October 20, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love it!

Ok so I personally adore this show. It's definitely my all time favorite. I started watching it when I was 13 and I mean I was a fairly mature 13 year old and I didn't have any issues with blood, gore or sexual themes. But if you do (especially with gore as there's a LOT of stabbing and beheading and pretty much anything you can think of) then I do not suggest you watch this. However if you don't then go for it! And don't watch it if you scare easily... The first few seasons are the scariest but all the seasons are crucial to watch. It's currently in the ninth season (the third episode is airing this coming Tuesday) and the other eight are on Netflix.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byIWatchTooMuchTv October 8, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

LOVE this show.

This is a show that really just depends on the person. If you have a week stomach, I wouldn't recommend it ( as there are beheadings, plenty of blood splatters, sometimes gruesome bodies, and the likes.) However, horror wise, its often toned down by several comical moments throughout the episode. I get frightened easily with ghost movies, but this show doesn't scare me at all. Besides the violence there is an occasional sex scene, but often times they're not very graphic. There are quite a few references though, usually for a comical reason. But they aren't very crude, and could possibly go over younger teens heads. There's controversy over how bad of role models the Winchesters are. True, the boys (especially Dean), have a very casual attitude towards sex, enjoy a beer, and dont feel very remorseful towards killing (though they kill things to save people). But personally, I think that's what makes them such great characters.They aren't almighty heroes. They seem real. And when it comes down to it, they do what they do to save lives. And the boys would do ANYTHING for each other, which offers up some very strong messages about the importance of family. As for drinking and drugs, the Winchesters enjoy a beer about every episode, but are rarely shown getting drunk. Demon's blood is acted as a drug, but its not glorified and is shown to overall have gruesome effects. To sum it all up, if you can stomach it, I highly recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 19, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Fantastic!

Supernatural is a great show for people who love a good scare. Parents and children alike enjoy this show, but if you don't take scary movies well, Supernatural is not for you. I first saw it when I was 10 or 11 and found it scary but fantastic. It contains A LOT of violence eg. Chopping off heads, burning bodies e.t.c. It contains some swearing... Mostly 'son of a b*****'. The protagonist, Dean, is often seen at a pub getting drunk or drinking a lot. Some episodes contain sex but it is very easy to predict by telling your child to close their eyes. Not much is seen in the sex scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

THE BEST SHOW EVER!!!

I love the show, i watch it all the time with my parents and they love it too. Kids that cant handle violence maybe shouldnt be watching it but kids that are more mature should definatley watch it. I know the show isnt real. There are no sex parts and they dont smoke. Parents that think it shouldnt be for 12 year olds, you should really back off. You obviously havent watched it.... they only kill monsters so i know its not real. I LOVE THE SHOW! And i think 12 year olds should watch it too. If your child wants to watch it let them because it would be stupid if they didnt!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThea Salvatore June 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

On for 14

Okay the only thing wrong with this show is the gore level. Honestly sex isn't much of a problem. The main focus of the show is stopping the supernatural and if u can't handle the few scenes that are in there which are very non graphic than fast forward it or close your eyes. And if the violence bothers you than it's not a show for you. But don't go writing bad reviews about it because no ones forcing you to watch it, it's only meant for people who can handle it. Heck it's rated TV14 so unless violence bothers you any teenager can watch it in my opinion.

Pages