All member reviews for Supernatural

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Terrifying guilty pleasure is iffy for sensitive teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 200 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byWerewolf8007 January 13, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Show

Supernatural is one of the best shows on TV, with essences of Comedy, Horror and Adventure. This show is scary at some points though, with Ghosts, Spirits, Demons, Werewolves and many, many more. 15 or under would be a great age but if your kid can handle ghosts than start them off earlier.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySammieWammie2 January 3, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Supernatural is good for almost all ages!

The show supernatural has gotten me attached to facts of life and since I am an only child, I can finally see how siblings react to each other! (the two boys SAM and dean show me this). My close friend showed me this show at the end of third grade and I have grown to love it and learn lessons from it! HOWEVER, I CAUTION KIDS WHO DONT LIKE THE SIGHT OF BLOOD. THIS SHOW IS VERY ACTION PACKED WITH FIGHTING AND VIOLENCE.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bysuperwholockisawesom January 2, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Really good!

The first couple seasons are a lot better in terms of plot, which the later seasons lack. The first couple seasons are also more violent and disturbing then the others. All in all it's a great show and it talks a lot about loyalty and how family doesn't end at blood and just because you have bad luck doesn't make you a monster. P.s. two of the guys are hella gay for each other(it's amazing!).
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byLisamortacallo December 27, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun, Teen-targeting drama

My daughter is nearly 14, and she enjoys the paranormal/sci-fi genera. I was a bit iffy about letting her watch this because of what some other reviews stated, but we agreed to watch a few episodes and then figure out what to do from there. Since then I have gotten into it along with my daughter. The main characters, Sam and Dean, are hunters that hunt paranormal creatures and save people. The show is very fast-paced and keeps you paying attention to nearly every moment. There is violence but the things that they hunt are made far less scary to kids then they would normally be, because of Sam and Deans aloof attitude towards evil creatures. We love this show, and I believe it is appropriate for young teens. ~ Lisa
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bylizzy0801 December 15, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing

Supernatural is surely not for the faint of heart. I'll admit, it can be pretty creepy, but hey, it's called "Supernatural" for a reason. The horror aspect of it, however, slips away around season four. Supernatural then becomes more about Heaven, hell, demons, and angels, as well as the Winchester brothers and their bond. The only warning I would give is that the gore can be quite significant. There are spontaneous combustions, people's eyes bleeding out, and blood splattering all over the place. The thing is, even though there's gore and horror, the hilarity of the show leaves me in tears. The part nobody writes about is humor, but honestly that's a huge part of Supernatural. If your child is interested in this, you might as well let them give it a shot. Also, if you think this is gung-ho horror stuff, you might as well know I think Doctor Who is about as scary as Supernatural. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byPieguy96 November 29, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Show, Just Not For The Little Ones.

I personally think it's a great show, with an awesome cast and a great story line. There is violence and gore, which is to be expected from the two brothers killing things. There is swearing, but nothing too crazy. There is a bit of sex, but most of it is from Dean's mouth, and theres no full on nudity. Overall, it's an absolutely amazing show that is not appropriate for little ones, but hey, thats why theres a rating system. If you're squeamish with blood, gore, swearing, or the paranormal, don't watch it. It's that simple.
Teen, 16 years old Written byeyebrows_on_fire November 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I watch it

I love this show. It's amazing, it's intriguing... It's, overall, addicting. When I was 12, I wanted to watch this show, but my parents wouldn't allow me to; in retrospect, I understand why. It's violent, and it has a mature plot line with a lot of drama that younger viewers may not grasp. There's mild language, and some sex (but no nudity), and some drinking, which could be easily handled by a 12 year old, but the nature of the show makes it not suitable for a tweenager. The main characters, Sam and Dean Winchester, are rough around the edges, but overall they only kill evil things, like demons and monsters, because those things are killing humans. They try their hardest to not hurt people, and they usually don't without permission, and they NEVER kill or harm children. They aren't good role models, but they provide a decent message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bykatherine.grace November 22, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Most Addicting Show Ever but the Epitome of Evil

I have been watching this show for only a few weeks but am only a few episodes from the end (of all 10 seasons). However, this is one of the most iffy shows ever. I am not one to like horror shows or movies, but this is hands down my favorite show right now. But, there are a few things you probably want to know... One, this show has many things that make it iffy for teens such as gruesome visuals, sexual content, language, and paranormal activity. If your child is sensitive to violence, this show is not for them; if your child is sensitive to the paranormal, this show is not for them; if your child is sensitive to thematic scenes or elements, this show is not for them. Supernatural is all about the violence. The main characters often make references to sex or porn but it is generally very light in material. The main characters also often drink alcoholic beverages; however, they are of age and they never drink and drive. However, a positive thing about this show is the characters often put family first. But again, this is definitely a show that requires that you know your kid. I hope I helped! :)
Adult Written byKamila2571 November 10, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Supernatural

It does contain violence and other bad things but once you are 13, you know that it's all just a programme.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bydr.moriartemisha November 10, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I don't understand that reference.

I love this show - I started watching it when I was 12. It scares me, but not so much that I get nightmares, and anyway I watch it by myself so being frightened is expected. This is a brand of horror where you need to know yourself or your kid. If they/you want to watch it, watch the first episode then decide. I have never been into horror films - I find gore and violence boring - but Supernatural has an actual plot behind it. It's about brothers Sam and Dean hunting demons, protecting people, being funny, crying, and ultimately making sacrifices for people they love. Again with the age, I have two very similar 11yo cousins, and the girl absolutely worships Sam, Dean and (later) Castiel, but the boy has a wild imagination and if he saw it he would be terrified and have nightmares for weeks. It would scare some adults. I recommend watching it with other people as this will make it less scary. Finally, a very good reason to watch Spn is the (supermegafoxyawesome)hot main characters. Sam (Jared Padalecki), Dean (Jensen Ackles) and Castiel (Misha Collins), a fallen angel, are beautiful lil people and you will fall in love with at least two of them, that I guarantee. So go watch Supernatural!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 12 year old Written by42jesusswag November 7, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

10/10

THEY ARE KILLING DEMONS FOR GODS SAKE IT HAS TO BE GOOD. Very good qualities. yes theres swearing but u can hear that in an average household. yes thers drinking but u can see that in an average househould.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byhellaradparenting November 7, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

i hate the rating

my two kids, eight and fourteen both obsess over this tv show! they love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My Favorite Show :D

I'm 12 years old (maybe a bit young yes) but Supernatural is my FAVORITE show - and this is a book and TV-aholic writing this. While I love Books, I do like TV and Films too. I love shows like Doctor Who, Merlin, LOST, Sherlock; and film wise The Lord Of The Rings, Harry Potter and almost any Superhero film. While that's just me, the majority of my friends and family who like SPN love the shows/films mentioned too. SPN has a GREAT sense of humour, a lot better than the Toilet humour popular currently. - Any adult/s*x/(codeword) 'Frickle-Frackle' scenes aren't graphic, and you can easily skip 1 or 2 minutes ahead to avoid watching them. There aren't that many anyway. - The show isn't for anyone who doesn't like Blood or Violence. You have to be prepared for that. And prepared for any beloved characters goodbye, so basically be sure to stock up on Kleenex. I'm pretty sure I've been through a few boxes by now; and I'm not a very emotional person. - There is strong language, but it's not as if you can avoid that in real life. My dad and brother are fine with swearing, as long as I don't repeat it. - There is drinking, but no characters been drunk (excluding one, but it was a comedic scene, which was priceless xD ) - There are some great messages, the main one being: 'Family doesn't end with blood'. There are great characters, great humour, amazing plot twists, fantastic character development and cliffhangers that make you want to scream at the TV in denial, or sit there dumbfounded for hours (no exaggeration, I had one SPOILED for me, and I still sat there with my mouth open). It's a great quality show, and if you're really concerned - watch it with your kids. If not then your missing out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bytwistyflow October 25, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing show!

I first started off watching this show not too long ago. I absolutely LOVED the pilot! That's what got me hooked! The rating overall seems SO inaccurate, because I think this show is fine for MATURE viewers 12+. I do not enjoy inappropiate things, and the only things I would watch out for in this show is Dean's language (which I don't think is horrible, because of what you hear now days), some sex scenes do show kissing, shirtless guys, and once, a bare woman's back. There are about 1 per season, but they are nothing too bad, as in there is NEVER anything really inappropriate shown. Now the main concern parents and kids wanting to watch this should have is violence. This show deals with much blood, and things can get gruesome. If you have a problem with blood and mangled up body parts do not watch. If parents have any concerns about those I would recommend watching the episodes before your kid does. I think 13+ should be fine to watch on their own. Sometimes Dean does go to bars, but he is legal and that's how is lifestyle is. A lot of the time the boys will have a drink with them. But really? NO positive messages? Yeah right! These 2 boys are brothers who would do ANYTHING for the other. They're family. They are loyal and respective, and the first 2 seasons are basically looking for their DAD! There are many positive messages as these boys dedicate their life to saving people. I would recommend this show to ANYONE 12+ who loves murder mystery and thrilling episodes. If parents are ok with it, very mature 10+ could watch this. One of the best shows ever created!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bycaitlin✌ October 22, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

14 Year old Female

To be honest, I do not get why some of you think that this is inappropriate. It's not. This show has taught me more about religion, history, and world cultures than 10 years of Sunday School (which I hate) and 10 years of school all together. I also do not understand why some of you say, "THis sHoW dOeS NOT hAvE aNY gOOD meSsAGe WhATsOEveR!!1!1!!!1" This show has taught me that family does not end with blood. And a final thing that I cannot stand is when people say, "deAnIe WeEnIe dRinKs TooOOO000 muCh lol iM vErY RELIGIOUS." First of all, he is over 21 so, it is completely legal what he decides to do with his life. Second, If my gay angel boyfriend got stuck in purgatory for me, died for me, lost most of his grace for me, then yeah, I would have a few drinks too because of all the stress. Rant over.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byAvengingSon98 October 15, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old October 14, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Spn

Supernatural is definitely one of my favourite shows... I am 11 and I watch it but that's because I watched the first episode and I was hooked I don't really suggest this for people under the age of 11-12 and all of my friends find it terrifying...
Teen, 13 years old Written bymmn569 October 11, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I think it's great for teens

Supernatural is a beautiful thing. It's the best show! It's kind of like the x-files, or Doctor Who, but with more demons and monsters. What you should really think about before you let your child watch this is their maturity. I know that before I started watching this show I was extremely scared of a lot of horror movies, so I was scared to watch Supernatural when my friend recommended it. I honestly hate horror movies, but this show is a lot different. I watched the first episode and I wasn't that scared. I had to close my eyes and look away a few times, but that's normal. This show made me get over my fear of things lurking in the dark. I know, it sounds crazy! It made me almost immune to scary things, which I think is good, but I am definitely not a violent person. (And never will be, even though I watch this show) Sam and Dean basically just make a lot of jokes about what they're "hunting", and that makes it not as scary. I am not trying to tell you that you SHOULD let your child watch this, but if you think they are mature enough to watch it, and that they know that it's not real, then you should consider it. I was hooked after 5 episodes and it's a great thing to look forward to when you come home from school. There is a little (When I say a little I mean more like a lot) bit of violence, but I think that overall Supernatural is a wonderful show for your you and your teen!
Adult Written byEmily 1 September 6, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

So good, just depends on how you are with violence

I love this show. Its very good. The only part you have to worry about is the violence, as they are monster hunters. Its somewhere between Spiderman violence and real horror violence. They are usually fighting some sort of bad guy. There are mild mentions about sex. There is a lovely bond between the brothers. I think 11+ could be fine, unless s/he is squeamish.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 22, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pages