All member reviews for Supernatural

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Terrifying guilty pleasure is iffy for sensitive teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 198 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byVivi325 March 15, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Know Your Kid

Supernatural is a show I have been watching avidly for many years now, and I do have to say that this is a know-your-kid situation. There are sex scenes, they drink, they swear, and there is paranormal activity/violence included, but altogether it is a show that teaches good will triumph. I do believe there are good messages to be learned from Supernatural, during the slower moments of the show, and it is an interesting story that is good for those who are not quite as sensitive to more adult themes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byYpseru March 14, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Really, pause for 16-17?

I'd say a 15 year old could easily watch this. There is a lot of violence, and decapitations, although most of the violence is in the dark (and therefore not really seen on camera. Plus the blood often looks like paint, or something...), and the decapitations don't spray blood, in fact it's a nice, smooth cut and causes no insane amounts of blood. There really isn't that much blood in this movie, or gore for that matter. The violence is the only thing that I say 14+. There is a bit of sex talk, and a lot of flirting, but that's about it for sex. And there is a little swearing, but not nearly enough to say "too much." Just an occasional "son-of-a-b*tch" or something like that.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheMonster March 8, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Terrifyingly Amazing

Great show for for teens who like a good scare.
Kid, 12 years old March 8, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Depends on the kid

Supernatural is one of my favourite tv shows. Its interesting, gripping, and funny. The characters go through lots of character development and are often very lovable. I started watching it a few months ago and have caught up completely (I'm 12). I dont recommend it for kids/tweens under the age of 10 as it IS very violent and there are adult themes. If you are deciding on whether or not to let your kid watch it you have to know if violence and supernatural themes scare them and if they can handle it. Personally, I've never had any problem with violence, gore or adult themes in media so I was completely fine watching Supernatural. All in all though I definitely recommend this show because ts amazing :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byneedlegrass March 4, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Supernatural Is Both Super Good and Might Be Seen As Super Scary

For teens looking for a light, yet powerful scare and 3 hot guys to watch for 45 minutes: This is the show for you! The 3 main characters, Dean, Sam, and Castiel, are all gorgeous! Which is the main reason why this show is so popular. The script is a little light and somewhat lacking in humor, mystery, suspense, and just quality. Most episodes are somewhat depressing and leave you feeling sickening emotions (what the SPN fandom calls "FEELS!!!!"). The special effects really take away from the scary plot line of the story; if the effects were better, this could classify for a horror show. The first few seasons are actually kind of good, then it evolves into 3 guys running around killing demons, despite how deep the fandom tries to make it. At the end of the day, it's just 3 hot guys running around sprinkling salt everywhere killing really, really badly executed demons. Parents, please, please DO NOT let children under watch this, it's quite scarring on a young child's adolescent mind. They will never see the dark the same way again or will never want to be left in solitude; I know from experience. These 2 kids whom I was babysitting one day pretended to sleep just so they could watch Supernatural under the sheets on their Netflix app on their iPad. Long story short, one of them wet the bed and the other screamed so loud he set off the burglar alarm and caused the cat to actually have a heart attack. That night we were stuck with urine-stained comforters, an endlessly ringing alarm, and a dead cats all because a 9-year-old and a 12-year-old thought they could handle watching this show. Kids, leave the Supernatural fangirling to the us - the fandom - and other 15-year-old teens who can actually watch this show with killing a cat and/or staining sheets and/or setting off alarms.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bytazeraz February 28, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Show!!

A great show for people that like the supernatural and mysteries! Lots of twist and turns with awesome characters!
Teen, 16 years old Written byWinchestar February 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykatiedayyy February 20, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

AMAZING

Although there are a couple episodes that may not be ok for kids overall it is the best show ever! There is violence but personally I don't take violence to seriously on tv.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I like this show alot its fine

This show is a little violent but really, its totally okay! There are beheadings but who cares right? Its not like it gives me nightmares?!!? There is one episode in season one called Bloody Mary that is really scary and kinda gross. Im 11 and I am absolutely fine with this show! Its addicting! Team Sam......
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byyellowblossomflower February 4, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Awesome show, but not for kids

Supernaturals is definitely an awesome show! One of my favourites! I highly recommend this show if you love thrillers and adventure stuff. However, this show does have a lot of violence, sexual stuff, and a lot of drinking. This show is basically about fighting/killing demonic supernatural creatures, and shows a lot of graphic images. In one episode, they actually show characters being beheaded, and throughout the show, the main characters are usually tortured, and showed with a lot of blood and scars. One of the main characters, Dean, is also really attracted to beautiful women, and there are quite a few dialogues referring to sex. In fact, there are a couple of sex scenes in the show itself, and some making-out scenes. . About the drinking, the characters are usually shown with alchohol in their hands and are always in bars when not hunting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byTurkish February 4, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Only sometimes Dean says hell,bitch or something like that

I started in my 12,now i'm watching all series for second time.The best TV show.I am from Turkey i'm watching from internet.WARNİNG!:do not turn off the lights :) Only sometimes Dean says bad words and a little bit sex but not too much 1 time for a season...
Teen, 14 years old Written bydeadstiel January 31, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

incredible

I love supernatural so much, it's amazing! Season one is the only season I found a little scary, after that it's all emotional pain and tears. It's violent, full of mild swearing, lots of drinking and Sam and Dean need to stop sleeping with every girl in their path but it's all part of the story. Really religious people might be occasionally offended, especially after season 4 when the angels first appear. Lucifer/Hallucifer/Nick (oh boy, much names, very identity, so confusion) was one of my favourite characters, closely followed by Castiel, Crowley and Gabriel. Fair warning, this show will rip your heart out and spit on it. Long live the Winchesters!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byapollo. January 3, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good show, ok for mature 12 year olds

Iffy for 16 year olds? I would strongly disagree with that, I have watched up to season 5 with my 12 year old friend, and we both like it. Some parts are scary but nothing a mature 12 year old can't handle. In some episodes sex is a big issue, in others it isn't at all, if you think your child is sensitive to scary stuff, or sex , watch it first to make sure both you and your child will be ok with it, if you think they are mature enough to handle, don't bother I've watched all of the episodes up to season 5, and I'm fine with them. There is also a lot of drinking and a fair amount of swearing in this, but they are legal age, and neither of them smoke. There is some good messages, they go around killing monsters and saving peoples lives, they've probably saved hundreds of lives, and put their lives on the line for complete strangers. They are very devoted to each other, this show really tells people family is everything. As long as your child is mature and can handle these topics12 years is a ok age, try watching a couple episodes first, to make sure it is ok by your standards.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byllamperouge3 December 19, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

GREAT show for all ages 7-8 up

I Started watching at the age of 8 or 9 episode (A Very Supernatural Christmas, Season 3). I fell in love with it and own all seasons. I recommend it to every one. Its not scary (unless your bad with horror/ light horror). Has a great Plot, and actors. Some light sex scenes (nothing compared to True blood, which i started watching at 9 -10 yrs. old) a lot of drinking but nothing to be concerned with. I put positive role model/message B/c it teaches you about life struggles and family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bythe-divergent December 8, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect

Wait wait wait. Iffy for 16? Iffy for 13. I started watching the show when I was almost 14 and it has been my favorite show ever since. But parents need to watch out for a few things. Before I even go into anything- THIS SHOW IS NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 13. Period. End of story. I don't care how mature your 12 year old is, it's not for anyone under 13. But defiantly beware violence and over all creepiness. Make sure your kids can take a small scare. It's got scenes that will "make you jump". Also main characters are shown tortured, stabbed, shot, beaten, and even killed multiple times. Yes they are killed more than once. As for sex scenes, there are a few, but mostly it's what Dean says. Swear words are said occasionally. Characters drink a lot but they are all over 21. But really, it's a great show. I would recommend it. It's interesting an after watching episode 1 you know you want more.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMikaela Mae December 7, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's a great, realistic, clever series that a lot of people would love!

I'm 14, but I started watching this series when I was 12 and I still love it. You'd think that by the title it would be a horror-based TV series, but I assure you it is not. And, you'd also think that seeing the two good-looking guys on the cover, it would be some cliche, unoriginal drama, in which I again assure you it is not. Though brothers Sam & Dean both endure quite a handful of romantic and non-romantic relationships, the drama is often realistic and the characters would react and act as normal human being, in which I find a great thing about this series. Trust me, it is not scary. Believe it or not, the first few seasons are the scariest, and then, avoiding spoilers, it begins to get into a deeper story line. There are a few creepy episodes, but nothing nightmare-inducing. If you are very, very easily scared, I wouldn't recommend, but really, I have loved this series for 2 years and it's still going strong. This is good for mature kids ages 12 and up in my opinion. The language, you can tell, is suppressed, and the characters don't drop the F bombs or anything like that. There is mild swearing and very little nudity, as explained in the ratings, but generally, this TV series is fine. Role modelling is arguable, while I find that the perseverance and importance of family is strong in this series, it also has dark times where the characters lapse into a state of depression or anger, but considering the antagonists in this story, I wouldn't blame them. Overall, this series is very well done. The characters are semi-original and always fun to watch. It's not too scary, and after a while you get accustomed to the suspense that most episodes bring. There is some mild language and very few sex scenes, however absolutely suppressed at all times. The gore is nothing to be worried about, perhaps for the weak stomachs out there, you may want to steer away from this series, but really, I love it and you probably will too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byWintan November 26, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Filtering for the good stuff

I adore this TV show. It's hilarious, emotional, relatable, and once it gets ahold of you, you can't escape. :P I began watching it about two months ago at age 17 and am just starting season 8. One of the best things about the show is the emphasis on the importance of family relationships. I love Sam and Dean's relationship and the distance they're willing to go for each other. In almost any story, it seems like the 'main relationship focus' is always a romantic one, and I like that this show focuses on relationships other than just romantic ones. It shows that other kinds of relationships ARE important. I also like the message it sends of doing what needs to be done for the benefit of others. Sam and Dean, in many respects, are wonderful role models. They're brave, self-sacrificing, and know that they have to do whatever they need to do in order to protect anybody--whether they have a personal connection to them or not. Now, that being said, I consider this show a 'filtering through for goodness' kind of show. Yes, it has its muddy spots that I, personally, think the show would be better without. There is sex, drinking, language, and violence--I'm not going to pretend there's not. As far as the drinking and violence goes, it's not too big of a deal. Sam and Dean are over 21, and though I have high standards for myself to not drink, their drinking doesn't really bother me. They're men, they like their beer, and they usually don't get drunk. Sam does sometimes (probably because he has a lower tolerance for liquor than master-drinker Dean), but those scenes are mostly just humorous. The violence is to be expected for this kind of show. It's not particularly realistic, and usually not over the top, but there are some pretty graphic parts, such as a man's arm getting ripped up in a sink's disposal or a guy's head getting chopped off by a garage door... I guess that is pretty bad, but for the most part the violence isn't anything more than shooting a ghost with salt or Sam or Dean getting shoved across the room and running into stuff. The thing with the violence is that the show doesn't promote violent behavior; the violence occurs as a result of the bad supernatural elements and Sam and Dean have to stop the violence. The language/dialogue is definitely something you probably wouldn't want a kid hearing. Swearing is common, though no S or F words, and there are some themes discussed that are a little iffy. My biggest problem with the show (but I love it so much I just put up with it) is the immoral behavior promoted through the show. I wish there would just be an episode where Dean finally makes a decision to grow up and not sleep around anymore. That would make me happy. See, part of Dean's character that is generally easy to kind of ignore when he's acting nobly is that he's a sex guy. He loves women, he loves looking at them in ways he shouldn't, and totally sees them as objects (mostly). Sam isn't quite so bad, but he does hook up a few times during the series, which always seemed kinda out of character for me. This is a theme in the show that is not good, the theme that having sex with anyone you want is fine, perfectly acceptable, that these cool guys are doing it and nothing ever happened to them. Now, there is nothing pornographic in any of these scenes, just intense make out sessions and carefully placed camera angles so that you can't see anything. And out of 200 episodes, there are probably only like 6 or so of these scenes. Anyway, this theme right here is why I would suggest this show for being for older kids. If I would've watched it when I were 11 or something, I would've thought it was a terrible show. But, because the rest of it is so amazing, this part is just something you have to put up with to get to the goodness. Now, beyond that, there is something AMAZING that I would like to address about the Supernatural experience, something that gives it probably the most positive effect out of any show, and that is the actors behind the characters. Each of the actors behind the main characters, Sam, Dean, and Castiel, are loyally married and have children whom they love. They don't ever do anything stupid like so many other actors do, they are generous and kind, and they even say that they don't really want fame and that their families are the most important things to them. I have never come across any other actors who are such good role models to their fans as these men. They have their heads on straight and seem to really know what matters, and I think that seeing that is one of the most positive things that can come from watching Supernatural.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byclovesandclovers November 1, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Supernatural

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bylizzysark October 6, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

LOVE THIS SHOW!

I am 14, and this is one of my top favorite shows! I have no idea why the website is saying there is a lot of sex. Throughout the series there is maybe 3-4 times where you see Sam/Dean in a sex scene, but even then it's a topless guy and a girl wearing her bra making out for like 5 seconds. The website is over exaggerating on that. I would say this show is for 13-year-olds and up, but at 12 it depends on how mature your kid is with violence. The show is pretty creepy, seeing as Sam and Dean fight ghosts, demons, and various monsters. There can be a lot of blood and can get very emotional once you get into it more. They say words like d-mn, b-tch, and a-s quite frequently. (Dean's signature line is "Son of a b-tch") Also, my dad enjoys the show quite a lot as well, but he is constantly saying how the show is "Biblically incorrect" If you don't want your kid getting the wrong idea about God, angels, or the apocalypse, then I wouldn't suggest it though it isn't a big deal.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byharraseda October 6, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Watch with care

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages