All member reviews for Supernatural

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Terrifying guilty pleasure is iffy for sensitive teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 199 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byElyan December 2, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

(Note: I'm only reviewing the first 3 episodes, since those are all I've seen.)

I have only seen episode 1-3 of the first season and have no clue what goes on in the others. So keep that in mind while reading this. This show can be frightening at times, but that's a bit obvious. (look at the title of the show, maybe the synopsis) It's quite gory and violent, which doesn't bother me but everyone has different opinions. Language is a bit of a problem. They say 'son of a b****' quite a bit along with other curse words. There isn't any sexual content (in the first 3 episodes), though the creepy woman in white kisses one of them (to make him unfaithful to his girlfriend, so she can kill him) in the first episode. I really like this show. It's basically a bunch of connected horror movies. I wouldn't want my younger siblings (12 and 14) to watch it though, and if you have a problem with scary stuff, don't want to watch something involving demons, or are uncomfortable with seeing gore, you should probably find something else to watch. (If you're looking for a horror movie that's less freaky, try 'The Village'. It's a horror film/love story and is pretty good and has nothing objectionable in it.)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bytakenforafool15 November 18, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

...

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNicoleasuar November 9, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A Teen's HonestReview

Personally, I believe this show depends greatly on age. I began to watch it when I was young, only about 11. And at first this did freak me out a bit, and I quit watching it due to the fact I had insomnia and it would keep me up at night. But I also began to re-watch it at 13, and it has yet to scare me since. I am now 15 and have no problems with it whatsoever. So it truly depends on the child and how sensitive they are. The current reviews say there are no good role models or messages, which I believe to be ridiculous. No matter the struggle, the main characters to stay family oriented. They look after each other, and try to fight for good. This is shown in a very dark way though, which is why your child should be mature enough to handle it. This way, they can see past the bad and look to the good in this show. Another thing is that the violence should be much higher than just 4 stars, as at least each episode had one character bleeding, beaten, or bruised. It has gone so far as to someone watching a demon slicing them open. It often has demons which may also terrify some. And it all seems to be very realistic. As I have stated above, the show needs a mature audience depending on what level your child's maturity level. Besides for the gore, I believe it is a very good show with good background and some positive messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byImaan4ever October 25, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Super

Not cheesy but gory.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bysingforcydonia October 18, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing show, not for the faint at heart

This show is amazing, there wasn't a bad episode in all 7 (and now 8) seasons. It's hilarious, engaging, and the characters are fantastic. This show is definitely not for the faint at heart, however, as it get get quite gory and violent at times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFreyaTheCat October 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fantastic show is fantastic

Lol, iffy for 16+? This is definitely in my top three favorite tv shows, and my favorite American one. I turned fourteen in August! Someone I know who just turned thirteen over the summer likes it! And, "guilty pleasure"? Really? Okay. Let's see. Violence- yeah, it is violent, but the main characters kill monsters for a living. What else would you expect? Also, at least the special effects are good. I was getting really tired of tomato juice-esque fake blood. And it's only unnecessarily bloody in like under five instances (that's out of seven seasons all with around 22 episodes.) Sex- people in the show have sex. It happens. They're all consenting adults though- Sam and Dean are in their twenties and thirties throughout the course of the series- and what's this about "objectifying women"? When the main characters have sex or flirt or whatever, they do it with women. If they were gay, would you say that the series objectified men? Plus, there are a bunch of awesome female characters, oneshot characters and returning characters. Many of the demons and other enemies the brothers face are female. They all happen to be fully clothed, unlike in the whatever rpg game the under 16 years olds you know play. (believe me.) Language- nowhere near as bad as a hallway in my high school. 'Nuff said. Drinking- All of the characters seen drinking are over 21, so what's the big deal? They're not advocating underage drinking; I don't see the problem. Overall, this is a super great show, with a wonderful plot and fantastic character dynamics. You should really give it a go! I say it's good for ages 13 and up, but it could honestly probably be watched by a mature eleven year old, as long as they don't mind a bit of violence, and any sex scenes that there are are not explicit and only last a few minutes at most. I love love love this show! <3
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byMeMikaMika September 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

this is an amazing show

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byImnotateenbutgood September 14, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for young kids

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKieth11 September 13, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A violent, but awesome supernatural series.

One word to describe the series: Awesome! This series focuses on two brothers who takes on their dad's job of hunting supernatural things, such as demons and spirits, but along the way, they learn the truth about who Sam really is, and learn that a war is not far off. The series is done very well with outstanding performances by all of the actors, giving the movie it's creepy, realistic feel. All the special effects also are well done, making this show creepy, and realistic. I say, "Creepy," but there isn't that much "creepy" about it, some occasional scary parts, but for the most part, it's just find something, chase it, then kill it. It's not as boring as it sounds. There's a kind of peculiar mix of horror and a slight hint of comedy in this series. Most of the comedy comes from the fact that the brothers don't look alike, therefore most people they meet think they are gay, which is kind of funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byLiv57 August 26, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AMAZING SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this is the best show ever and by far my favorite show in the world! i started watching during season 7 but i have started over back to season 1. i am currently on season 3 and think that if you want to watch it you should definately start from the first season, or else you will be very confused. there is violence, but it is not really bad or really graphic. sam and dean are really good people and their main goal is to save as many people as possible and to rid the world of evil. my 12 year old sister watches it and she is fine. she really likes it. overall, supernatural is an amazing show!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bylollipop14 July 31, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Depends on the Creature

I love this show soooo much!!! People say it's scaring but it really has to do with whatever creature they're hunting, some aren't that scary but others are pretty terrifing!!! Me and my younger sister watch it and both me and HER love it, I always watch the episodes first though and if they're too scary I wouldn't let her watch them!!! But there is nothing sexual about this show!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 17, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Moi Momo Natsu

I am on season 2 and there is sex. Again my computer is not working five stars in reall life. Cutest guy:Dean
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byBridesmaid123 June 4, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Supernaturally Amazing!

This is such a great show!! The suspense is great, good story lines that keep you hooked. It can be scary at some parts though, so definately know what you can take. I've made the mistake of watching before going to bed :) LOL. It also has humor which keeps it pretty lighthearted until the monsters show up. WATCH IT!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAlex13x April 17, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Uhhhm

Horribly disturbing sometimes and too much sexual scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byqaisjp April 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not that bad. Brilliant series.

Supernatural is a great series and has many components to its age rating. It doesn't have much of an educational value, and it's mainly an action series. All action series have a certain level of blood detail, but what makes Supernatural realistic and good IS the blood detail. I am 13 and I am current on S6E16, and so far I haven't turned my head away in any gory moment. There are occasional swear words but it isn't used excessively. Top level, bottom line - it's find for teens who understand the difference between reality and movies AND for children who know what to say and what NOT to say.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byColaProduct April 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Excellent show, if a bit gory

Supernatural is a fascinating show, but angst-heavy. Content-wise: The gore is definitely there (stabbing, the occasional beheading, torture, gunshots, and a few characters explode. Two characters are mauled to death by hellhounds. Blood from the mouth occurs almost once an episode. Nearly every character has died (including the main characters), but death is by no means permanent in SPN. There is around one sex scene a season (usually easy to skip over), and though Dean makes the occasional innuendo, it's a very mild part of the show. Circa Season 7, Dean is quickly on his way to becoming an alcoholic, however this is only lightly touched on. Up until that point, drinking was generally casual and only in the background (though there were a couple instances of one or both brothers getting drunk). Sam and Dean take the stage as the main characters: two brothers traveling across the country, hunting monsters. Sam is seen as the more empathetic one, while Dean plays the "bad boy" image (although he doesn't fit the stereotype as much as he'd like to think). They set off on a cross-country roadtrip, looking for their missing father. The storyline quickly becomes much more complex and develops into a multi-season arc. I have to strongly object to the idea that there are no positive role models or messages in Supernatural. It's certainly true that the Winchesters are far from saints, but they do everything in their power to protect the world (Sam winds up paying the ultimate price to protect it). Both boys have very self-sacrificing natures, as well as countless side characters who give their lives to help the boys. The Winchesters decision to keep fighting no matter how bad it gets is remarkable. They place a firm belief in free will and in doing what's right, regardless of the rules. The show focuses on the bond between brothers and family becomes the main theme of the show. Especially adoptive family, as one of the characters says: "family don't end in blood." All in all, the show has very strong, generally positive characters and an epic (there is no other word for it) story line, though the violence may be too much for some to handle.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCamille42 December 2, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show, gets bloody

Sam and Dean live hard lives. Dean has a drink just about every episode. Characters curse often. Someone dies every episode. Sam and Dean only kill monsters, but demons and angels occupy humans and bleed. Multiple characters have been to hell. Lots of mentions of TORTURE and after much inner conflict, Dean agrees to torture a demon because he learned to torture in hell.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byWhyAllTheGlitter August 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Show

Overall, Supernatural is really a triple-threat. Comedy, a paranormal thriller, and just a fun show that you can just sit around and watch. Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki and their supporting actors are highly talented, and the writers show the raw dedication the brothers have for each other. They show openly that they're willing to do whatever it takes to keep each other safe, even give their lives. The only real concern I have for this show is the sexual content. This includes many comments about porn, sex, getting laid, etc. Violence isn't too much of a problem, even if it's a key component in this series; It's generally expected. By watching this show, you tend to get a bit of insight on urban legends, and myths. The Winchester boys definitely lie and steal, but in the end, it's all in an attempt to assist those that may be the next victims of whatever it is they're hunting. Dean and Sam do what they have to to save people, but they're not always sucessful. All in all, Supernatural is a very well-done tv series, and I would definitely recommend it to those who think they're mature enough to handle the content.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bythefalconater June 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

hot guys from where I'm from?!? I think....YES

Dude...this show rocks. I love Jared, Jensen and Misha. Probably one of the best shows ever. No joke. If you aren't sure about watching it, go watch the supernatural bloopers on youtube and from that you can decide. The only funny thing about this show is that all these really fat and ugly lonely people watch it (not everyone, but a lot are), so that means we have to start getting people who are the opposite of that to watch it so the supernatural people don't feel like losers at the conventions. J2 + collins = osum
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bysophiaforte May 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best tv show

I think it's the best teen tv show ever!! Sam and dean are the hottest brothers on tv! And they could die for each other so i think it has some positive messages. And when i watched the first episode i couldn't stop anymore :p it's so amazing and every episode is great! Although it's a little violent and it's a little scary for kids with less than 13. But its a great show and i recommend it to everyone.

Pages