All parent member reviews for Team Umizoomi

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bySamanthamaster1 November 21, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Educational for preschoolers and adventurous for everyone else.

Team Umizoomi is a great show for everyone preschool aged and older. because, preschoolers will learn about patterns, comparing, and, basic math such as addition and subtraction, it will also be fun for everyone else, because, they already have the knowledge to participate in the adventure. Even if your're older than preschool, you can also still enjoy the fun songs they sing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byMelissaBeth February 19, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great for Math and Counting, but very distinct blue/pink Gender Separation

My 2.5 YO daughter loves this show. I started showing it for her to help with her one-to-one correspondence. She's really excited to count now, and enjoys the interactivity of the show. My main problem is that the two "human" characters are very gender separate. The girl, "Millie" has powers related to changing patterns on her dress. Her pigtails are measuring tapes. The boy "Geo" makes shapes with his belt. Geo or the robot, "Bot" performs all physical activities. Millie doesn't do anything physical. It's extremely pink/blue gender separate in a number of ways. I find myself trying to have abstract conversations with my daughter about why it's not fair that Millie can't use roller skates and skateboards. The problem is that this type of messaging is too subtle to be actively grasped by a child of my daughter's age, but she will be absorbing it nonetheless. Overall, I think this show is good for helping my kid with math, but it's regrettable how gender is treated. I really wish it was more gender neutral.
Educator Written bykvlibrarian February 18, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
I'm happy to see a preschool program that's engaging, fun, and focused on mathematics. My only complaint is that the female character's special power is to change her outfit's color/pattern to match things.
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written byKZMama October 22, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Math on TV

My kids love this show! It makes math fun--learning counting, patterns and more.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 3, 6, and 9 year old Written byMamaNikkiP August 17, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good educational cartoon

My 3 yr old enjoys this show and it doesn't totally annoy me like some shows do. Good messages, up beat, educational.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written byAmommy May 16, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
My 2.5 yo loves it!!! She looks around for shapes and patterns and counts everything...
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 2 year old Written byNatty1 April 29, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect for ages 1-6 i think

My 17 month old loves team umizoomi. i think its educational, fun, friendly, polite, they can dance and sing with it, ITS ALL AROUND A GREAT SHOW!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byTandLMommy28 March 29, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

My Kids love Umi!

Love it! I actually expected it to be really dumb but decided the kids could watch it just once to check it out! I absolutely love it. I think it provides more knowledge that kids actually need to learn rather than random facts (what 4 year old really NEEDS to know every species of penguin like they teach on Diego???). Understanding that everything is made of shapes is so awesome. I love the episode that gives a basic understanding of how the post office works as well. Very impressed with this show so far!
Parent of an infant, 4, and 5 year old Written bytristad April 28, 2015
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

love it

My 4 year old loves this show. Cant get her away from it shes learned so much about shapes and measuring and patterns. My 5 month old loves it too he gets super excited when it comes on.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byfrankyboone October 27, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

decent show

fun and simple. Repetitive enough for my son to answer, but not to boring for me to strip my head bald.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 3 year old Written byroyce2009 January 23, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

love it

me two nephes love this show
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 9 year old Written byKidsAndMommy August 31, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

i love this

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written bythesavants08 April 7, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Introduction to Math for little ones!

I love the fact that they finally came out with a show for kids about math. It's actually fun too! The songs are very catchy which helps remember patterns and shapes. It also shows them using math in their daily lives. I mean who has never heard a kid ask "when am I going to use this?!" It shows that math is a tool we do use everyday even when we don't realize it. I love it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 3 year old Written byKick_Kiki April 1, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great for Preschoolers

Our son really enjoys this show. And the educational value really shows when it comes to his number/pattern knowledge. The colors and such really draw the kids in and keep their attention. Plus Umizoomi is fun for them to say. I added highlight to 'role models' because they're always helping someone solve a problem.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written byClarin March 10, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Show

This show is so cute! My twin 2.5 year girls love this show. They've really done well on their shapes & I HATE math, so anything that is going to help my kids with math is great!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byNedB February 17, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A thumbs up from our two year old, who is learning from it

Our two year old loves Team Umizoomi and, as a result, has already started recognizing numbers and naming them when he sees them on other objects (today he found a phree (three) and niee (nine). He also loves to provide answers when prompted by the show (even if he doesn't completely understand the question, though frequently he does.) Today he correctly recognized a color pattern and called out his word for 'yellow' when it was the answer in the color pattern the show was presenting. He's certainly learning from the show, when he gets a chance to watch it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bysparty February 14, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
When there is a problem in Umicity, Geo, Bot, Millie and umifriend (your kids) will use their shapes, patterns and number activities to help solve problems.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 year old Written byearthgirl1975 December 10, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Perfect for kids learning to count.

My daughter simply loves this show. She gets so excited when she hears the theme song. She is a 5 year autistic kids and not all shows interest her and this is sure of them that does.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written byItsIce October 22, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect Show for the toddler

Very cute show! My two year old loves to watch the show.. it's the only show that will hold his attention. Some other people on here just sound plain crazy LOL
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2, 8, and 8 year old Written byjakeandjonathansmom July 1, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect for preschoolers

My two year old loves this show. I would highly recommend it for children who are learning math skills.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages