All member reviews for Terra Nova

Common Sense Media says

Big-budget supernatural thriller with family at its heart.

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old November 5, 2011

GGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAATTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!

This is very cool. I like Commander Taylor. The actors are just great. I love the violence. This is for mature 10, 11, and 12 year olds. And totally okay for everyone above that.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieReviewGuy September 28, 2011

Good for 13+ (and mature Tweens)

This is a great Sci-Fi show that most Tweens and teens will love. There are tons of positive messages; the entire show is based on positive role models and messages of sticking together, not being greedy, the love between a family, help others, saving the environment, watching out for ourselves, others, and the environment, and the list goes on and on. Basically, colonists are sent (with supplies) from the year 2149, where the earth is dying, back to the age of the dinosaurs to rebuild the human civilization. The story follows the Shannon's, who will do anything for one another. With an army officer (Stephen Lang) as one of their leaders, they seek to save the earth. There is violence related to protecting themselves and the colony from dinosaurs; characters carry guns, tazers, etc. Also, there are tanks and various intense scenes in which humans with big guns face off carnivorous dinosaurs. There is kissing between teens as romances blossom, and there is also minimal drinking. There is some moderate language; *ss, h*ll, d*mn, b****rd, and SOB are used in the show. They are used in scenes of fear, pain, frustration, anger, etc. This show is great for teens and up (and for mature Tweens).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bymore2watchandread December 15, 2015

Content on Terra Nova

Terra Nova is about a man and a woman who have more kids than they're allowed in a strict dystopian society (they're married, of course). The guy assaulted a cop and got put in jail. Violence is iffy, insanity is implied, and there's moonshine. A couple of curses but nothing too bad. It's a great show. It should not've been cancelled.
Adult Written bydr dew October 2, 2011

will keep it around

i watched this alone on saturday night and i think i will keep watching it wasnt all that bad just A LOT of violence and some bad language is all but not bad enough to stop me from viewing though plus .the little is just so cute and adorable
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byjeremy wade 13 March 8, 2012

the best new show of the year

its brilliant, clever, good acting and wicked story lines. the best new show of the year. reccomended for 13 and over because it is pretty violent.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byaubreyb1 September 20, 2015

Enjoyable

I often watched this show alongside my 10 year old.
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2013

Good show

Really good show and I loved watching it! Some mild language as well as sexual scenes, gory violence and smoking and drinking. Drugs too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byzephyrrs September 12, 2013

Great for fans of Hunger Games, Percy Jackson, etc

This is a very modern and positive family drama for kids and families that enjoy both scifi, fantasy and family dramas. There are strong underlaid messages about traditional views on good vs evil behavior as well as angst and conflict about teens trying to balance the needs of the personal vs supporting family and community. For the entertainment value this is all mixed into a bit of action and thrill because of the pre-historic environment and the balance required for those used to living in a techie world but wanting to also start fresh. I wish that the series would get picked up again by Netflix or a film sequel as it does end with the wanting for season two.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byAllan grant August 10, 2013

Great dinosaur show

This show is great if you like jurassic park or King Kong
Parent of a 5 and 15 year old Written byonerowan February 9, 2013

Wishing for a second season

It's sad there is only one season of this show, it is a lot of fun and the message is great.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 31, 2012

An average show, but with a lot of potential

I liked Terra Nova, but ultimately it was a pretty weak show. Of course this website sings its family friendly praises, and its not that I don't approve of that kind of thing, but that doesn't make it good TV. Ultimately, Terra Nova was just too sappy to take seriously, which is really too bad, because they had a hell of a premise to start with and good story-lines. There just wasn't any sense of real danger to any of the characters, sort of like a sit-com that always has a happy ending. Toward the end of season 1 though they started heading down a darker path, its just too bad we'll never know what might have become of this show with such great potential.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2012

hard to believe

this shows pretty good but hard to believe. some episodes r really gud and would b fine for kids but others are really inappropriate! parents - watch the episode before letting your kids see it!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byDark_Princess May 14, 2012

.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byShadowofchaos41 January 12, 2012

I can't believe this got cancelled

This was the best show that has evered aired on T.V. it had something for everyone, suspense, action, romance, teenn drama. It had a little of everything to keep everyone happy. Cannot believe something as amazing as this get's cancelled and the stupid vampire stuff stays on air *shake my head*
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 1, 2012

TERRA NOVA IS THE BEST SHOW OF 2011 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I saw the 2 hr series premiere it was kind of intresting. This show is about, In 2149 the earth is dying so to save humanity they go back 85 million years in the past. This show gets intresting when the show goes on. my favorite episode is the 2 hr season finale. cant wait for season 2. this show is okay for kids over 12.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2011

Great for pre teens

I really enjoy watching this TV show. It has some intense violence and Language, meant for teens and pre teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old December 22, 2011

Tenth Pilgrimage to the Best Show Ever!

It may be hard for littler kids to understand. People are shown in bed and taking off their shirts. People's heads can be shown bloody dinosaurs attack. Menacing birds attack humans. Blood and gore is frequent. 18 year old's drink moonshine. Language may include h---, a--, d---, d-----, b------, b-----, son of a b----. The series starts out in the future and is a little hard to understand. Watch every fox show you can!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byJ-Yo December 11, 2011

Earth is dying! New solution.

You know how in all of those other movies and TV shows where Earth is dying so humans decide to leave and go conquer a new one? Well, in this series, humans couldn't actually find a habitable planet, so people just went back in time. It's a very intriguing premise with great characters and great special effects (for a TV series). Parents should know that it is a little violent, there are affairs between adults, and there was one scene with a tapeworm, but other than that it should be safe.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old December 11, 2011

another great show

terra nova is a great show but it can get violent at times but nothing that scary. The other thing is languge it doset accure offten but I could see it being a problem for little kids. Overall I think it's a great show
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 29, 2011

Terra Nova 101

Terra Nova is an amazing show for kids 11+. There is some language and gore, but if your child isn't scared or doesn't repeat the words they'll really enjoy this show. Thanks for reading! :)
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages