Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for That '70s Show

Common Sense says

Edgy sitcom keeps the '70s alive for older teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 34 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 94 reviews
Adult Written byfreyasmith- September 1, 2019

CSM is being crazy.

I watched this show a few years ago and it was really good in my opinion. A few months ago, my 13 year old asked me if it is any good or if she can watch it. She’s in the fourth season now and really enjoys it. Yes it’s true that it has some sex stuff but is not something someone 13 can’t watch. As I noticed she already knew some of these stuff already, so to parents who are reading this, this is not our childhood, you may have not known these stuff when you were a teenager (neither did I), but turns out our teens know what these stuff mean, so making them watch something they already know about is not bad or may not affect them. Think twice! :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 8 year old Written byKill Bill vol .1 August 11, 2019
Adult Written byjjjjj498 March 25, 2019

quit sheelding your kids

you shouldnt sheald your kids from stuff they already now Im 11 and I love this show and plus it fun with good humer and shows kids what the 70s was like ,my favorite characters are michal jacky and fez

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCelestine E. June 7, 2018

That '70s Show

Swearing, violence

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bygoodgirl December 31, 2016

The 70's man a feel good time.

Good show. never really watched it much but got the DVDS they are nice. Ashton Kutcher is cute and I like him as Kelso . my fave couple is Kelso and Jackie. I wish they would have stayed together on the show. so yeah the show has kids in the basement getting high and laughing but what do you expect? it was the 70's. anyway cool groovy feel good show.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byhelsing March 14, 2015

Has Its Ups and Downs

This show had its good moments and bad moments, my favourite seasons are the first few. There's a lot of pot references, however at 11 years of age, kids should be able to understand they should not imitate what they see on television.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMatt B. March 3, 2015

A fun show but for teens only.

It has a lot of sexual content and drinking. Teens have sexual relationships.
Parent Written byTyWill39 November 28, 2012

Very funny show, but the casual use of marijuana is troubling

The show is very funny, but I can't help thinking it should not be watched by younger viewers. Two weeks ago I was laughing along with my 13 year old niece as we talked about some of the funnier episodes. She knew what they were doing in the "Circle Scenes". Yesterday she was implicated in a pot smoking incident at school. I can't help but think the normalized portrayal of the pot smoking factored in to her decision to experiment at such a young age.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byToujoursPurSang August 21, 2012

I guess it depends on you're tastes and values.

It's been a while since I last saw the show but what I do remember is full of sexy, drugs and alcohol. Personally I don't have a problem with the sex, my main problem is with the marijuana.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byV O May 20, 2012

Better for older preteens and family

I can understand the arguments that 15 may be a bit much. However this show is obviously not aimed at young teen audiences. Real world or not, a show that centers around underage drugs, drinking, and sex, isn't something that parents should just be "okay" with. Parents can't always control what the media puts out, but they have a right to feel whether or not they allow their kid to watch it. That 70s show may have teen humor, but it's more so for adults. I would recommend it's okay for preteens to watch with the family. The characters are very horny, sometimes an entire episode will center around sex. There's an episode where they go see a porno flick and Eric attempts to try out what he sees in the movie on Donna. The characters are also looking for ways to score or steal alcohol from their parents.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 28, 2012

Awesome show!

The 70s Show is one of my favorite shows of all time.The jokes are funny and the voice acting is GREAT!
Adult Written byI_TellTheTruth April 13, 2012

What are you doing, CSM?!

This show does not warrant a 15+ rating!
I demand that you change Family Guy to a 15+ or reduce this program to a 13+ because "That 70s Show" is in no way more offensive than Family Guy.
While you're at it, change South Park's rating because there is no way that this show and South Park are equally inappropriate for children. You've got all of these ratings all wrong! :(
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, 10, 10, and 17 year old Written byCharlie The Cat December 17, 2011

My Two 10 year-olds Iffy My 17 year-old On

Ages 8 and Under Off Ages 9-13 Iffy Because My 10 year-olds caught it say Sl*ter. Ages 14+ On.
Adult Written byCyraxPredator November 8, 2011

love it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written bysuffacate April 29, 2011
Drugs, sex, and cussing. This show follows a group of friends and their parents in a small suburb town in Wisconsin. I'm pretty sure they're smoking pot in almost every episode, someone is always having sex, and there is definitely a lot of cussing.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byangelfire87 January 10, 2011

Great show, but not for kids

While there isn't physically much in the way of sexual content, it's often talked about and implied. The "circle," where the group smokes pot is in every episode. Occasional drinking - some of which is under age. There is some language here and there.

All that being said, as an adult, I really enjoy the show and have watched the series several times. While it does contain things to be watchful of, it's really mild in comparison to newer shows such as "Gossip Girl."

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byOmgomg123123 December 25, 2010

Good for older teens

This show is really inappropriate! Although they don't show them having sex or doing drugs, they make it pretty clear what they are doing. Like it a few years ago I didn't realize that when they got in a "circle" they were high. They painted inappropriate body parts on a water tower, accidentally gave "special" brownies to their parents, and red thought perverted things about a highschool girl. Jackie acts like a rich girl, Hyde is a complete pothead, fez is the perverted foreign kid, kelso gets a girl pregnant, and red doesn't stop cursing. But other than that this is a HILARIOUS show!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written byAunt Cat August 23, 2010
This show reflects the 70s pretty accurately--I was there. Pot smoking was eventually considered normal for teens, even those going into the military--again, I was there. That didn't make it right. If you watch this excellent show with your kids or grandkids, there is a lot to discuss, and that's a good thing--IF YOU DISCUSS IT. It helps if you know what was going on in the 70s too.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Parent Written bymommygirl987654321 February 12, 2010

Better than most flashback TV

The people on this show do very mature things. Such as smoke pot, have lots of sex(by the end of the show all of the characters have lost their virginity),swear like sailors,and do many illegal acts with almost no consequences except when it involves Red. However the humor, acting, and plot twists are very smart for a teen show and overall enjoyable for a 12 year old.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written byhorsegurl22 January 14, 2010

Pages