Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for That '70s Show

Common Sense says

Edgy sitcom keeps the '70s alive for older teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 34 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 96 reviews
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byJimmyH December 16, 2009

Inappropriate.

A funny show, especially for those of us who grew up in the 70s. However, not for kids due to implied drug use, teens drinking, sexual dialogue of teens having sex, language, etc....

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written bydoper December 8, 2009
Adult Written byThe JP Show June 27, 2009

The Show is TV-PG and TV-14

I Don't think it's for kids under 13.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bycookie123 January 19, 2009
Parent of an infant, infant, 3, and 5 year old Written byMississippiQueen January 7, 2009
Adult Written bylizb86 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008

It is simply a great show....

This show is really funny, one of the few good shows that I like too. The kids are stereotypes for sure, but you know people are stereotyped in every show. The jokes sometimes go to a highly innuendo level but I know that I wouldn't have understood it till I became a teenager. It could just very well be my favorite show.
Adult Written byPanya April 9, 2008

...

There's way too much sex and drugs for younger teens. I'd say only older teens and adults should see this.
Adult Written bymattqatsi April 9, 2008
Adult Written byadultswim April 9, 2008

This is suitable for adults only

This show I say is for adults only. The sexual content of this show makes it unsuitable for anyone under 17 years of age. I don't thank any child should watch this show.
Adult Written byba April 9, 2008

I Laughed

This is a funny show with lots of entertaining references to the 70s. It is not for children. It is a good show to share with your adult children about how standards have changed. You can also discuss how some of the people who participated in certain activities (sex and alcohol/drugs)are now trying to make sure that today's young adults do not make the same mistakes.
Adult Written bykellypeal April 9, 2008

I love this show, but....

I rate this show with 5 stars because it is hilarious and one of my favorites, but I am 28 years old. I absolutely do not allow my 8 year old to watch and wouldn't recommend it to anyone under 16. Some of the characters are extremely shallow, there is bad langauge, women are objectified, they smoke pot in every episode, there is underage drinking and they don't all have the highest moral standards. Also, Red, the Dad, calls Eric a "dumbass" constantly, but he never says I love you. Bottom line...Great for adults, bad for kids.
Adult Written byPoptartpm April 9, 2008
Adult Written byheyitsmekim April 9, 2008

Pages