All member reviews for The Amazing Race

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 13 years old Written bymngirl June 29, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Amazing Race is Awesome!

Awesome TV show! I love it! Some language but I say its for anyone from mature 6-year-olds-100-year-olds. It's really good and fun to watch! I'm going on it with my friend when we turn 21 and we are going to WIN!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byqtnn April 3, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Interesting competition with appropriate lessons

Best reality series aimed at adults. Competition is challenging, interesting, with good locations. Very little soap opera and personal drama/tantrums *usually* have appropriate consequences.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written bymmazog April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Show - but tricky for child appropriateness

For a reality show, probably one of the least objectionable for child content. Some usually minor language, minimal physical violence, and minimal sexual content. The worst part is the verbal abuse between members of the teams or between the actual teams. Some contestents are very verbally abusive. Also of note, with each season, the verbal abuse / language / sexual content / product placement seems to get a little worse or more graphic due to casting or editing. For kid appropriateness, this is hit and miss .... some episodes are very clean, while others are a little more concerning.
Adult Written bydcatch April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Show

I watch it with my kids all the time. Most, if not all, of the language it bleeped out, it is exciting and the kids get to see other parts of the world.
Teen, 14 years old Written bypenguinbabe April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

1 of the best shows

ok i like ttly love this show!!! i loved the hippies! they were so mellow, & guess what!! THEY WON!! they were funny nice and all around the best ppl on that show. this is a must-see 4 all familys!
Teen, 13 years old Written byScreennameGirl September 18, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Show

This is a great TV show. You will learn about places around the world and watch competitors fight in a race around the world with challenges. Note: After watching you may want to take a Travelocity vacation.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byibarncat August 20, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Fast global race features teamwork, not for all tastes.

There is essentially nothing here that is inappropriate for children in any way, shape, or form. The only issue that you could possibly raise is profanity. But it is very mild, and rather infrequent. Seriously, Regular Show has more profanity than this show. But anyway, this show has plenty of positive messages. Like you said, the only way to win here is through teamwork. But you ignored the implication that that also means that any team that DOESN'T get along in this competition at any given point fails. Also, you have to keep in mind that, aside from the U-Turns, there's aren't any attempts to get rid of another player. Instead, they are all simply trying to finish the tasks as fast as possible. Therefore, this show is VERY good for family audiences because children will take in all the various cultures presented here that the teams visit, and of course, the underlying message of teamwork. Unlike Survivor and Big Brother, girls aren't seen in bikinis, contestants don't try to backstab each other, and there are no sexual innuendos. So if you really have game shows so badly as to make the grossly innacurate rating that you presented to this show, then you should probably rerate Wheel of Fortune iffy for ages 10-12.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3, 7, and 9 year old Written byNatashaM 1 January 21, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Fans of Season 25

We all watched season 25 together and enjoyed it greatly. Season 26 has paired up people for blind dates, which I am not certain will be appropriate. We loved seeing the different cultures. There is some negative competition, I do not know how others season were or how future ones will be but this season had mild mean spirited competition. My children LOVE Adam and Bethany (Soul Surfers) Bethany has only one arm and is AMAZING. She really shows how amazing people can be. My children were amazed and inspired by her.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byCogreboy5079 July 20, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old March 17, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Amazing race

Should be watched with an adult.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 11, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old March 10, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old October 18, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Nice but...

I love this show sooo much except I have heard the s word twice an the b word once In a year! Sometimes it makes me want to cry when a team gets eliminated because they are always so emotional (in a good way) I love this show all my family (of 3) sit down and enjoy the Amazing Race! WAIT!!! When I see Phil smiling he has teeth that look kind of like vampire teeth so that might scare young children.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 3, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great, with language.

I love this show, but they could beep out the inappropriate language. Over all great show for families with older kids to watch.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Nice

The Amazing race is an Amazing show. I really like it except sometimes the teams say really bad words and they have to bleep it out. Also teams talk bad about other teams, steal their money, and manipulate them. But other than that I love it!
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Hannah Claire March 7, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The Best Show Ever!

I absolutely love this show. Most of the bad language is bleeped out. It has suspense that thrills you. There aren't always good role models (there was once two married men) but everyonce in a while we will end up with Christians (like the snowboarders last year!). I definitely recommend it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byKhOiCoOl December 21, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

great show

Best show on TV
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysourcecoderocks September 18, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Amazing race rocks!!

This show is the best! It teaches you to appreciate other cultures and you learn about them through the different countries they visit. I've watched it for 5 seasons now (my parents have been watching it even longer) and i love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old July 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Boring

It's kinda boring sorry
Parent Written byAKsnowgal March 23, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models

Pages