All member reviews for The Backyardigans

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Animal friends find melodious, kid-friendly adventures.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 81 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect For Young Children, Not A Thing Wrong.

I give this all thumbs up. First of all, it's very educational, and teaches young children to use their imagination, which can lead to better writing skills, better reading, etc. And second of all, it sends a very positive message: be whatever you'd like, and what I mean by that is that it shows kids they can be astronauts, explorers, etc. It really teaches them to follow their dreams. And the role models are really great, and they all have very different personalities that young children can really relate to. Overall, the Backyardigans are just the greatest thing to happen since sliced bread, in my opinion.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

ITS FINE (A.K.A. I LIKE IT)

THE PIRATE EPISODE CLAMS ME DOWN.
Teen, 14 years old Written byMerlinFan February 5, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

They've got the whole wide world in their yard to explore.

I'm a teen, and I really enjoy this show. :) I myself have learned things from it, and sing the songs out loud in high school. The characters are so cute and imaginative. I love how every time they're on an adventure, they never have a problem and things they need are always conveniently there. Great show!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written bykalgon7 March 9, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

great show

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 1, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

borrrring

im with kcoateston anyays who reccomended this for nine year olds? we nine yr olds arent semi three yr olds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!sheesh
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I LOVE THE BACKYARDIGANS AND I AM 12!!!

The Backyardigans ROCKK !!! I have all of their songs on my iPod!! I lovee them !!!!! Yes i am 12!!!
Parent of an infant and 2 year old Written bymadamesacre November 16, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

backyardigans rock all ages!

I love this show and my daughter loves it! She's been a fan since she was 20 months. Loves the international/cross-genre music and dances along with the characters. Not only does she know most of the lyrics to the songs of the episodes we own, but she uses the language in day-to-day conversation. Whenever she comes out with something totally cute and precocious, I ask, 'where did you hear that?' invariably the answer is Tyrone, or Pablo. Did i mention that I too enjoy this show? We even went to see them live. Good, educational, musical fun.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6, 10, and 14 year old Written byKako January 18, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Not a Kiddie Show, But Funny & Interesting

The first season of this show was similar to other Nicktoons, but its second-fourth seasons got edgy. Hard to believe, but they were actually really intense for Nickelodeon. In "Scared Of You," the main character, Uniqua, and her two friends were transformed into monsters and had to escape a collapsing staircase that would otherwise lead to their doom. Uniqua, holding onto a ledge for her life, was not helped by the other two (Austin and Tyrone) and had to get up herself. When a supporting character named Pablo is comedically hurt, the others laugh and do not care for his safety. The "bossy" Tasha is more of a controlling and rude bully if you ask me. I would recommend the show for appropriate audiences 7+, as another thing about the show I dislike is the frequent use of "What the heck."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bySamanthamaster1 December 16, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

I love how adventurous this show is.

I love watching this show, because, I love all the adventures they go on and I really enjoy when they go into outer space and prehistoric times. The Backyardigans and Mike the Knight are the only two shows not on PBS that I gave 5 stars, that's how good they are. They're great role models, because, they encourage children to use their imagination. I really love the fun, catchy songs they sing. I wish nickelodeon's preschool block would still play The Backyardigans everyday, I would watch it everyday if it was still on.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytheauthorside November 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not a typical show

Backyardigans may have aired on Nickelodeon often during weekday mornings, but it doesn't encompass any educational value or teach viewers anything that monotonous, slow-paced, fact-reciting Disney Junior shows do. It solely entertains, and I have found that its value is appreciated more by pre-teens and teenagers who enjoy the characters and songs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 6, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great but not a preschooler show

It is really funny, but occasionally Pablo gets physically hurt and they don't mention anything like Are you okay? Too much violence and scary scenes for little tots.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old July 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

THE. BEST. SHOW. EVER. TO. EXIST.

The Backyardigans is an awesome show that teaches kids to use their imagination. Unlike all the people that say this show is pathetic, it is probably because they are not seeing the true episode. Most just watch it and go do something else. But this is a lovely show. I would do anything to keep the production of it going on ever since they discontinued it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 28, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

$&@?-!-("""""?!%+=><|}#%#%%%%

Urgggggggggggg!I'm sick of seeing my sister watch this garbage!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old April 28, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Not Cool

This Sucks TV-CL(Conturl Losers)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bynajjahanderson April 27, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

one of the best

Its a good show for young kids.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 year old Written byBelashan April 11, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written byBoyzdeGit February 21, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
My 3 and 6 year old boys love this show. One of the few that they will watch together and not fight about it. Most times when the music comes on the the 3yo will be on his feet dancing along. I like the exposure to different styles of music and dance. I think the characters are nice and I have never had a problem with any of the story lines. It definitely encourages imagination and pretend play, both things I think are very important part of growth and development. My boys have even acted out the show later on in the day--with their own take on it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 year old Written bySharon M December 8, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

fun for the patient and music/dance-obsessed preschooler

The vast majority of pop-cultural references that pop up in these "kids'" imaginations fly right over my son's head. That's fine for segment-based shows like Sesame Street that invite adult interaction and have to keep those adults involved, but in this show, those details are needed to support the complex story-lines and consequently, the show just doesn't hold my son's interest for long, despite the clever musical themes and well-choreographed dance numbers. I suspect that by the time his attention span has grown long enough to sit through the elaborate plots, he'll consider himself too big to watch the cutesy little-kid characters. The fact that the dance numbers are done by real people before getting mapped onto the animated characters makes it possible for a real kid to emulate them and actually learn some real dance skills in the process. Definitely the coolest thing about the show. Worth giving it a try on that basis, alone, if your kid's a mover and shaker in the literal sense.
Parent of a 1, 3, 8, and 10 year old Written byJacobyShaddix32 November 28, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 year old Written bymrakins November 14, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Perfect for preschoolers and their parents

My son has loved this since he was 3. Nice mix of music that's never monotonous, which is huge for the adults that watch. He loves to recreate the stories later on. Personally, I like how imaginative the stories are. Also, while there may be some sort of conflict/race/teams element to the story, there are never bad guys.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages