All member reviews for The Blacklist

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Twisty plots save violent crime drama from predictability.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old December 1, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

VIOLENT.

Violence is huge here. I probably should not be watching this show, but I like it and my mom lets me. If blood scares you, don't watch a single second of this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byRockAndRollKid November 26, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

And okay show... Bloody but good for teens.

The blacklist is basicly about the worlds most wanted man captured and he helps the FBI search for other villains for freedom. The blacklist isn't gory but is pretty bloody. Plus there is shootings,stagings,and screaming in pain and even once in a while torture. Bullet holes are noticeable and blood comes out but isn't from an up close distance. Language is moderate with words like dam-,hell,as-,and bit-h. Plus exclamations of "Oh my god!" And "Jesus". Even in the beginning of the show it warns you about the violont content and viewers be advised. Out of all this is a crime drama that is okay and is good for younger teens 14+ on this one. Violonce: 4 and a half/5 Language: 2/5 Positive role models: 1/5 Everything else is 0/5 Thanks.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byhorsegal545 December 4, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

amazing!!

wow. this show is amazing!! however, violence is bad. not as bad as csi, but there's a lot of it. the story in this show is so intricate and suspenseful, you won't know what's happening next. agent keane and the other fbi agents are great role models for kids. you must give this show a try. it is so good.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byJanaenae2002 January 11, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

13 and Under Should Be Just Fine

The Blacklist is brilliant, with interesting characters and plots. Violence could be a problem, stabbing, shooting guns, torture (etc.) There is some kissing and undressing, but it's not very serious, and swearing is mild. I really recommend this show!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byroni November 4, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Blacklist

I give this one 4 stars. The only show that appeals to me more is maybe 24. Spader is perfect as Red, but all the actors do a fine job. I would not allow any child under the age of 17 watch this. As for the violence..I don't think it is that bad. What I can't believe is that the season finale is coming soon. It seems like the tv season is getting shorter and shorter. This is the only tv program that is on my must watch for Mon. night. Nothing else really matters.
Teen, 17 years old Written bySeriousReviews123 October 17, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great but gory

I've been watching this show on Netflix and I can say that it is very, very good. The acting is decent and the storylines for each criminal (as well as the plot for the whole show) are very well written. Alas, it can be very gory and even a little disturbing and hard to watch at times. In the beginning of each episode there is a clip about the criminal the episode is based on, and a few of them are a little disturbing. So far in season one "The Good Samaritan" is probably the worst. He is a serial killer who goes after abusers, but doesn't fully kill them so first-responders can get there first, yet what he does to his victims is a little unique. Don't be fooled its not as bad as something like Silence of the Lambs where the serial killers are extremely gruesome, but I think that the writers and directors can put into TV-14. So basically: great show, appropriate for mature teens and tweens who can handle gore.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMarianoMF September 30, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It is not what it seems to be

Apparently is a violence-action series, but I rather say it is mostly a series full of dark-humor; kills are ruthlessly, sadistic, and explicit; so a non-mature kid is most likely to see this series and become untouchable to others suffering; this series is the representation of the American society, so these kind of hidden messages they will not understand.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 30, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
There are a couple of rude words, but nothing major like the f word. There is quite a lot of violence but it is not gory
Teen, 14 years old Written byprowojo January 29, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Really good crime drama

The only think wrong with this show is that there is some violence and some swearing. I really enjoy this show