All member reviews for The Cosby Show

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycooldude1234 November 28, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

claassic

The Cosby show is a great show that any kid can watch
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeds43@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Show!

This is a great show for families! There are a FEW sexual refferences, but overall it's wonderful seeing Cliff Huxtable teach his children how to be good people throughout the series.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 7, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

awesome

i love this show i watch it all the time its hilarious Bill Cosby makes the show very funny it is very educational like the vanessa and her girlfriends lie to their parents about a sleepover at Susan's they actually go to baltimore the parents find out and vanessa was in big trouble, the kids call each mild names but i love it too bad the show has stopped
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byJennypenny123 April 1, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The Cosby Show

The Cosby Show is a great show any kid of any age could watch this show. It teaches a lesson almost at the end of every episode.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The Best Family Show

Great family show. Hilarious but has lessons.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 26, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good show but some episodes not appropriate

In the last season the cousin and her boy friend are considering getting busy
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bynajjahanderson April 27, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

One of the best

This is a all time favorite. My mom grew up on the Cosby show and so did I. Its a great family show
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byJoseph Rock February 29, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This rocks!

I really like this sitcom.It is very funny,and unpredictable!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAbe1998 February 12, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Still the greatest

Awesome show! No language at all (not even God's name in vain, which is a big relief). The only thing I have against it is that the wife likes to control her husband a lot (she doesn't let him eat certain foods when she's around, and he hardly ever takes charge, and says, "I'm the dad. What I say goes." And there's an episode where the daughter and her friend are fighting about a woman doing what a man says, but they're only, like, 6 or 7). Other than that, it's got good moral lessons, and it's entertaining. I would recommend it :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 28, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

amazing show! just amazing!

The Cosby Show is by far my favorite classic TV show starring an almost-entirely black ensemble (Lisa Bonet, Geoffrey Owens, etc.) with good life lessons behind its back. Although it may not do very educational need (except for learning to cope with angst and such), there is more than a boatload of life lessons that work well even when you expect the show to be an all-out uproar. There are a lot of role models in the show that really appeal to all ages. Some weak violence, as far as I saw, a hole broken in the house ceiling, Cosby reporting a door hanging from a hinge and a splintered table, as well as an accidental slip causing a vase and such to drop. Some sexual matter that will slip over the heads of youngsters pretty easily, such as light kissing. (and that's how far it goes) Vanessa does say "shut up" once in an episode, and she does reference her possession of a Bobby Brown tape that Rudy stole. One episode actually shows Vanessa and Rudy learning French, which can allow kids to learn it, too. This show is a must-own, either on DVD, or available for Netflix owners. If you've turned away from this show, you're making a big mistake.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old October 3, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

The Cosby Show Review

One of NBC's most proudest accomplishments. The Cosby Show takes it time to be very funny, while still having time for romance, positive messages, and vice versa. Bill Cosby has the perfect "family" while serving a "perfect" role, and this show must be one of his biggest successes on the line of his acting career. Although the show does get a little juggle balancing new cast members coming and going, it's still a show kids would love to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old August 29, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

great!

Great show been watching it since I was 4!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 14, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Really, really good family show!

LOL! Bill Cosby is hilarious!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEricCarrRulez February 25, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 13, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Very nice show
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byht3696 January 28, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great for all ages!

Best show ever!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 7, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW EVER

The show is awesome but sometimes it has a little bit of innapropriate things for younger kids. It is like the best show I have ever seen. I record the show 2 times a day and watch two or three before I go to bed. Also I am so addicted to it and in my free time I will just sit there and watch it. I toatally reccomend this for about all ages. Any age group will think this show is so funny. Bill Cosby puts the final touch of making this show hillarious.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBbbbbbbi June 20, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The Cosby Show is really funny!

This show is hilarious! I watch it almost everyday! My fav character is Denise.
Teen, 14 years old Written bypeazekeeper95 January 23, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Awesome show
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages