All member reviews for The Fosters

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Heartwarming drama about foster teens and their two moms.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 53 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bycrystanp June 30, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing and inspiring

This show tells about the lgbt community and talks how you should raise foster kids. It's really inspiring showing how to lesbian parents raise these child and still have time for there own love life. And it really doesn't have that much sex in it or and a decent amount of drinking and a very small amount of cursing. And not a lot of violence so it's not that bad for children maybe 11 or 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDeLosReyes June 12, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

READ THIS

I caught onto this show a year after it had been on the air and it was so good I had to go back and binge watch on Netflix in time to see the new season. This show is great for people of all ages. It gives everybody something to talk about and gives people a chance to see different family dynamics. This show is great at showing all sides of a situation instead of just agreeing with the most popular answer. It is also good especially for children becausr it follows a more realistic timeliness than other shows. Not every problem is solved in the hour that the show is on. It touches on all subjects from children being bullied at school, children not making the right decision, parents fighting, children being embarrassed of their parents, lying, stealing to forgiveness, family, coming together in times of need, self acceptance, and love. This show can make you laugh and cry. I think everybody should watch it and they can find a little of themselves in these characters. Just remember to watch more than one episode because they really rely on continuity.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byanotherconcerne... March 15, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Inappropiate and dangerous. What is Disney trying to do?

Unless you want your kids exposed to 13 year olds boys kissing on TV and lesbian characters making out in bed this isn't the show for you. After hearing the stories from many adults that were deprived of the opportunity to have a mom AND a dad in their home, growing up, I can't support or recommend this show and it's deviant values. It's heartbreaking to see how the messages of this show are being presented as positive and being used to destroy young kids minds so that they never know the truth. This is where I draw the line. It's a poor excuse - gratuitous material given in the name of a misguided "politically correct" agenda. I will not allow my child to watch this anymore - this "family friendly" channel will now be blocked off, period. Shame on DISNEY!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycommonsensegal September 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Fosters is the best!

This is a really good quality show! It emphasizes diversity and is a show people can relate to. It is my second favorite show! Maia Mitchell is one of my celebrity crushes! I love Stef Fosters character! I love Lena's character! I love Teri Polo! I love Sherri Saum! The moms are the best! I especially like Callie and Jude's character.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybrianna_harte January 5, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This show is AMAZING!!!!!

Not only does it teach kids that being gay/lesbian is okay, it also has an amazing plot line and really well developed characters! Now that season 2 is nearly here there's gonna be a lot going on! If you love the fosters and are on Instagram follow my the fosters fan account I'm @fostersbrallie
Teen, 13 years old Written byMaddieb729 December 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Positive message

I found this show because Disney channel had a commercial for it. It's definitely not for anyone under 12 but an amazing show. There are few offensive words and some violence. There are many positive messages. It honestly changed the way I look at life. I love this show!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old November 21, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great show!

I think The Fosters is one of the most awesomest shows I've ever watched. It may have violence, but it always leaves me hanging for more in a good way. I really think that the characters are realistic. And I think people could relate to them, even though they have major problems. I love the show a lot and would recommend it to mature kids. It's a great family show and really moving.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfivehands7 January 19, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show for the Time

This show is great for kids and parents alike. Portrays the struggles of raising teenagers and illustrates compelling family dynamics. The couple raising the teens happens to be a bi-racial lesbian couple. Introduces kids to the similarities of gay families heterosexual families. Parents are able to see the same. Topics range from dating, violating rules, divorced parents raising children, adopting and fostering children. Great show to gain others perspectives! The relationship between the parents and kids is great, the parents respect the kids, which allows the kids to trust their parents. Minimal violence and some sexual content but nothing teenagers don't already know. Not afraid to admit that I cried at least once in the majority of the episodes. Have only seen the first season, so I don't know about the second.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written bymomof4teacherofmany July 4, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Teenage Porn

We are completely appalled that ABC family is rating this age 14 as well as Common Sense Media. My first introduction to this show was 30 minutes into the 3rd episode ("Play") of the 2nd season. Someone should be losing their job for allowing this episode to be rated 14 and on an ABC family network. It's uncomfortable. It's inappropriate. It's definitely does not have appropriate conversations and topics happening for children to be viewing. Two women talking about watching porn to get them "in the mood" is crazy. No matter the sexual preference, multiple scenes in this episode make me trust ABC Family no more. Why can't the two moms be raising the foster kids with all that comes with that and life's conflicts. WHY are we pushing all the sex scenes and sex talk? Is it to "up" the ratings? REALLY???? "Breakfast on Tiffany" It's wrong. Common Sense Media PLEASE change your rating. Parenting is already hard enough. I have spent years trusting and agreeing with Common Sense Media. This one is way off. I'm scared to watch the whole first season now. Watch this episode alone ("Play") and decide for yourself. It's appalling.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Fosters

I think this show is based on that everyone's family is not the same and that's ok. There are 2 lesbian moms, and 5 tweens-teens in this show that talks about what happens in each situation their in. It does talk about stuff that are not suitable for some kids. At times I have to watch it with my mom on some episodes and I'm fine with that. Although I think this show is nice :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old February 22, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Way less inappropriate than everyone says

My little brother watches this with me and he just turned 10. I don't see how parents think it's inappropriate to watch a show about a family. This situation happens a lot in the real world and I think kids should watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byjennariley January 18, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

beautiful show!

I can not say enough great things about this show. It is a mix if love,family, and of course drama. I think if kids are mature I would definitely encourage watching it! It will change your view on love for the better and proves that no matter what your family is like, if you have love and compassion, it does not matter what kind of family you have. It teaches kids and adults alike that it's important for family time and that communication is key. I would give this show 100 stars if I could!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byNameismyname January 12, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Fosters

The Fosters is a positive show with many great message and good role models. Definitely a good TEEN drama. It shows its okay to come from a "different" family. I think people might find it controversial because its on ABC Family but if you haven't realized yet there is not really "family" about the channel I think, its more or a teen channel.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFun1 August 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing for Teens

This is a great show that will definitely be long running. It will leave u at the edge of your seat at the end of each episode. It explains that no family is perfest but you can make it work out no matter what. It has lots of controversial topics including gay rights but I'm sure you'll love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byHugger000 June 19, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Fosters

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byaliinwonderland 430 July 2, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

love it

I started watching this show just this year and I am on the third season(the new episodes on cable) it discusses very important topics, like finding you sexual orientation, the consequences of teen sex, rape, foster care, running away, stealing. It is an amazing show that is all about family and how important family is.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananafingers June 19, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great messages, amazing show

the fosters is an amazing, moving show. I've watched since the first episode premiered and it's only gotten better. The show often talks about the importance of family and treating others with love and respect, regardless of petty things such as race or sexual orientation. A few episodes have a bit of violence and some sex but it's not very explicit and consequences are always shown. It's engaging and fun to watch and overall a great show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymhel0wku June 16, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Mediocre

I personally don't watch this show, but my 10 year old twin sisters watch it a lot, and I just happen to be in the same room on my laptop sometimes. My review is based on what I have gathered just from being around when it's on. The show constantly bombards the viewers with a seemingly positive image of drugs/drinking, teen sex, lying, and bullying... It also shows and or talks about prostitution, swearing, unprotected sex, outright rebelling against a child's parents/foster parents... This is definitely not something I would watch, let alone any children of mine...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymavrc31027 June 8, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I'm Addicted

I love this show, it has such a positive message and an unique plot!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoolcreativekid May 13, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

the fosters is in my top three shows

The Fosters is a very heart warming series with a few swears ever now and then. Also some scenes that may be a little inappropriate for 12 and under. Over all this as a show that shows love in any shape or form and is truly a work of art. PG-13 rating
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages