All member reviews for The Fosters

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Heartwarming drama about foster teens and their two moms.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 43 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byFun1 August 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing for Teens

This is a great show that will definitely be long running. It will leave u at the edge of your seat at the end of each episode. It explains that no family is perfest but you can make it work out no matter what. It has lots of controversial topics including gay rights but I'm sure you'll love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bysallyd1 March 4, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Bad example for teens, NOT appropriate for 17 and under

My 15 yr old was watching this, so I decided to watch with her; I always do this to check it out. Wow. Kind of controversial, with gay moms, but it was okay because they were not making out and seemed decent. THEN, I saw preview of the supposedly "historic kiss" between two very young boys - way out of line. I support gay rights and marriage, and teach people to use tolerance toward children who are expressing themselves that way, but DO NOT assume that you can push that lifestyle on us, especially not on kids. They will grow up and make up their own minds as young adults. This is where I draw the line. It's a poor excuse - gratuitous material given in the name of a misguided "politically correct" agenda. I will not allow my child to watch this anymore - this "family friendly" channel will now be blocked off, period. Shame on the media.
Parent of a 13 year old Written bysheriff911 March 1, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

What is this world coming too!

What kind of parent in there right mind would be okay with this, to watch two young boy kiss. It saddens me deeply and not just cause there boys but also because they are CHILDREN!!! Shame on there families for allowing this and shame on the writers and producers!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byKitKat16 February 17, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Real life problems

I think the Fosters is an amazing show especially for teens or families. A family of diverse foster, biological, and adopted children is raised by a Lesbian couple. This couple sets a very good example for their kids teaching them about real issues like sex, drugs, alcohol, etc. They do not encourage their children to do drugs, drink, or have sex but do tell the that if they do they need to come talk to them maturely so the issue can be handled rather than it continue secretly and dangerously. They also teach their children about safe sex, where they do not want them having it at all they are aware that teenagers do stupid things and want to do it, so rather than not teaching them and the kids having it behind their backs unprotected they teach safe sex. There is some rude language but only minor things and not often. Occasionally there will be violence but not to bad. I would say this show is not for anyone under 13 due to maturity but other wise it is a great show and would encourage it. it has a very positive message and will encourage teens to be open with their families at home.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byfivehands7 January 19, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show for the Time

This show is great for kids and parents alike. Portrays the struggles of raising teenagers and illustrates compelling family dynamics. The couple raising the teens happens to be a bi-racial lesbian couple. Introduces kids to the similarities of gay families heterosexual families. Parents are able to see the same. Topics range from dating, violating rules, divorced parents raising children, adopting and fostering children. Great show to gain others perspectives! The relationship between the parents and kids is great, the parents respect the kids, which allows the kids to trust their parents. Minimal violence and some sexual content but nothing teenagers don't already know. Not afraid to admit that I cried at least once in the majority of the episodes. Have only seen the first season, so I don't know about the second.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byStaceytheNerd September 28, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Absolutely Fantastic

There isn't much I need to say about The Fosters - watch it and it speaks for itself. While the Adams-Foster family consists of biological, adoptive and foster children it shows that love is the most important thing of all in a family. When times get tough - the Fosters harden up and have some concrete because they see that their family is worth fighting for - setting a great example for families in real life. The young characters are far from perfect - which is as real as it gets, but their mums/mentors always help them out and teach some valuable life lessons. The Fosters is full of take-aways you never realised it was giving you. Both entertaining and inspiring. And Maia Mitchell and Jordan Rodrigues are Australain so what's not to love?!?! I'd also like to rebut some of the reviews here which have said "the parents' relationship is too confusing for kids under 17" well, no not really I say. If a kid can understand a loving heterosexual relationship they can understand two mums who love each other. I'm a devout Catholic so get over yourselves. I agree that negative messages should be censored - not love.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byPrincessOso16 August 15, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good show

I think the show is mostly ok for middle school aged kids but some parts of it do make me think "Did I really just hear that on ABC Family???" Mostly though it's a good show and one of the few where the adults on the show tend to act like adults instead of constantly been lied to or tricked by their kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byreesiecup22 August 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good Show with Iffy Content

This show is funny, interesting to watch, and has some positive messages about family, love, and following your heart. That being said, some of the episodes make your eyes widen. It has little violence and very tame language, but the sex is heavy. The moms are good role models, but even they kiss a little too passionately for comfort sometimes. Mariana, Jesus, Brandon, and Callie (all playing 17 or under year old characters) all commit some form of illegal doing in season 1. Mariana sells pills at school, Jesus has unprotected sex and then tries to buy a morning after pill for his girlfriend, Brandon makes and sells fake I.D.'s and Callie runs away from home. They all realize the consequences of their actions though. There are some great bullying messages, but overall way to iffy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bykenchowla July 29, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Teenage issues

If you have teenage kids, this is a show for you. All types of teenage issues - sex, drugs, love, school, social -- are dealt with. It is best to watch this with your kids and provide opportunities for them to open up to you regarding their own issues. The lesbian couple is just a new modern family unit. It doesn't really bother me, but the dynamics in the house shows that it is a real family. Love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent Written bymomof4teacherofmany July 4, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Teenage Porn

We are completely appalled that ABC family is rating this age 14 as well as Common Sense Media. My first introduction to this show was 30 minutes into the 3rd episode ("Play") of the 2nd season. Someone should be losing their job for allowing this episode to be rated 14 and on an ABC family network. It's uncomfortable. It's inappropriate. It's definitely does not have appropriate conversations and topics happening for children to be viewing. Two women talking about watching porn to get them "in the mood" is crazy. No matter the sexual preference, multiple scenes in this episode make me trust ABC Family no more. Why can't the two moms be raising the foster kids with all that comes with that and life's conflicts. WHY are we pushing all the sex scenes and sex talk? Is it to "up" the ratings? REALLY???? "Breakfast on Tiffany" It's wrong. Common Sense Media PLEASE change your rating. Parenting is already hard enough. I have spent years trusting and agreeing with Common Sense Media. This one is way off. I'm scared to watch the whole first season now. Watch this episode alone ("Play") and decide for yourself. It's appalling.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bytiajones19 June 25, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Fosters

I think this show is based on that everyone's family is not the same and that's ok. There are 2 lesbian moms, and 5 tweens-teens in this show that talks about what happens in each situation their in. It does talk about stuff that are not suitable for some kids. At times I have to watch it with my mom on some episodes and I'm fine with that. Although I think this show is nice :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byRaeBae2000 June 16, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

So sweet and great. Not much language, not too much sex, and hardly any violence. Some things parents might want to know is that in the first episode Callie is beaten up in juvy, there's discussion of abuse from previous foster homes, there's two moms, the twins' bio mom basically steals from Mariana, Mariana sells her brother's ADHD pills to give money to her bio mom, there's discussion of Callie being raped by an old foster brother, Jesus has unprotected sex with his girlfriend but consequences are shown, Mariana gets drunk at a party but Callie stays sober so she can take her home, Mariana gives her underwear to a boy to let him now she is interested in him, Jesus gets punched in the face and I think that's it. It's a really great show about love and being accepted. It's also very sad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byLizzie Hunter May 31, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show!

This show has great role models for kids. I think a lot of reviews over exaggerate on what's inappropriate. I read one review that said a boyfriend was sending nudes to his girlfriend when all he did was send her a picture with his shirt off. I do understand how so people can think its a little inappropriate but by the age of 12 kids already know about sex from school and social media. Also I think it's great that they show a lesbian couple because you rarely see this on television. There is a little bit of drinking and drugs but nothing that a kid doesn't know about. I really think parents should let their 12 year old daughters/sons watch this show is sends across a great message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 10, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome show!

I think this is an appropriate show for kids 12 and older. There are some inappropriate parts like teen partying, teen sex, drinking , and things like that. Most kids learn about things like this around the age of 11. There isn't one kid in my grade that doesn't know about that stuff. By the time kids are 12 they probably know a lot more about that stuff and talk about things like that with their friends. Parents should also let kids watch this show because it values family. Callie and Jude love each other very much. Stef and Lina also love each other to pieces. The whole family ( Callie, Jude, Mariana, Jesus, Stefan, and Lina) all love each other. The show sends a message that family does matter. This family helps each other through tough times. Most kids and teens start to hate their family. This shows that family is great. Yes, there are many inappropriate parts in this show but the overall message is good. Plus, the show is just interesting
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bybelleofthesea April 3, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best Show I Have Ever Watched!

I am a mature seventeen year old, and in this society today, kids are growing up rather fast, so by age 13, many are already showing signs of the same maturity I see in myself. Moving on from that, this show is hands down the best one I have ever seen in my entire life, and trust me, I would venture to say that I like this show even more than my favorite show on ABC, Revenge. Every single episode so far has never failed to make me cry, as the Callie-Jude relationship reminds me of my undying love for my younger brother. The characters are all very well-developed and relatable, the plot line never fails to keep you interested, and aside from those facts, this show is rather educational as well. I come from a very sheltered and conservative family that is against many of the topics addressed in this show (homosexuality, drugs, sex, violence), but nevertheless, this show is in no way a negative influence like many of these so-called "parents" state. Newsflash, if you actually watched more than the first episode, although I don't see why you wouldn't, seeing as how it was very engaging, you would actually be able to realize how wonderfully made this show is, and develop a deep understanding and appreciation for it. For all those undecided readers out there looking for a new show to get hooked on, or those who have doubts about this one, take a second look. Focus on the values conveyed throughout the series. I can guarantee it will not disappoint. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 22, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Way less inappropriate than everyone says

My little brother watches this with me and he just turned 10. I don't see how parents think it's inappropriate to watch a show about a family. This situation happens a lot in the real world and I think kids should watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 year old Written bySuburban Mom of Five February 22, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Drugs, drinking, lying, stealing, etc.

My daughter wanted to watch this show, so I read the common sense review a few weeks ago. There weren't too many reviews and it basically said that it was a heartwarming show about foster kids rated 12 and up. My daughter watched a few episodes, but I finally got a chance to sit down with her and watch one last night. There was a party where all the kids except two were drinking. There was a kid smoking pot. There was a kid with a fake ID buying alcohol for others. One of the main characters stole money from his dad, used it to pay off a witness and now might be going into the business of making fake ID's to pay his dad back. The one mom is a police officer and lied under oath. When she came clean, her boss covered it up to protect her. A girl offered her panties to a boy to get her to meet her up in a room. This is NOT a show I want even my high schooler watching!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjennariley January 18, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

beautiful show!

I can not say enough great things about this show. It is a mix if love,family, and of course drama. I think if kids are mature I would definitely encourage watching it! It will change your view on love for the better and proves that no matter what your family is like, if you have love and compassion, it does not matter what kind of family you have. It teaches kids and adults alike that it's important for family time and that communication is key. I would give this show 100 stars if I could!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bybobdg2000 January 13, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Is this the porn channel?

Flipping through the channels in my hotel room, I thought I stumbled across the "adult" channel. Two women snuggling in bed and kissing. Then in the corner of the screen, I see "abc family"!!! I kept watching just to see how low tv has sunk. I don't have cable or dish in my home. I had to laugh once the program was over and a "Christian Broadcasting Network" show was next. It was preceded by the disclaimer "The following CBN broadcast does not reflect the ideas or views of ABC family". Well duh! They can show hookers, drugs, and homosexuality to our kids but they make sure they distance themselves from a Christian broadcast! Ha! I chose 2 stars because that was labeled disappointing.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages