All member reviews for The Incredible Dr. Pol

Common Sense Media says

Rural vet's life is positive entertainment for older kids.
 

Users say

(out of 15 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byAngieDM December 26, 2011
age 5+
 

educational and real life!

My children (5 years and 9 years old) love the show. We have 4 episodes on DVR and they have watched each one several times. My 5 year old LOVES animals and this is much better than the "junk" on TV these days. I am happy to see it!! Keep it coming! Sometimes I think we let our kids see so many sexual thinkgs on TV, even a soda or car commercial has to sell sex! What is wrong with this world? This show tells it like it is! We can protect our kids, sure, but we shouldn't let them live under a rock either!! She may even want to be a vet someday.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byCcbean November 9, 2011
age 18+
 

Unsure of methodology

I can't say that I dislike Dr Pol, he's a very likable charector. I am in the medical profession and question his tactics. If he is trying to save some of these animals that have died on his program, he is not doing all he can for them. If he is dealing with permissions because a family can't afford the treatment, that is all together a different story. If that be they case he gives them comfort care and that is humane. After watching a show where a puppy was mawled and he did nothing because he was in shock? I disagree.
Parent Written byHalli October 30, 2011
age 12+
 

WOW! Best show in a long time.

Six hundred-plus shows on t.v and I could easily walk away from most . . . except Dr. Pol. The previews didn't catch my attention but when the show aired, it was amazing! I have three horses, four dogs, chickens, cats and volunteer at the local animal shelter. I LOVED THIS SHOW and plan on watching all the shows that I can. I was later than I ususally stay up but was compelled to finish the show. Then, another hour was about to air. I had to watch that one too. I'm sure that there are critics out there that have never lived on a farm and think that all cows each have to have their own pillow and blankie. Get the animal's perspective people.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bytunes January 14, 2012
age 8+
 

IF U CAN'T RUN WITH THE BIG DOGS... STAY ON THE PORCH!

This is one of the most interesting shows in a long time. If you can't handle reality, then you shouldn't watch this show. This is a very educational show. If you can't handle watching this show or the sight of blood, then you probably shouldn't go into the medical field. But on the other hand, if you are in the medical field, as I am, and you can handle reality, then this show is for you. VERY, VERY INTERESTING SHOW. LOVE IT!!!!! I truly hope they bring this show back.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byLinda Castle December 15, 2011
age 3+
 

Great programing!

I love it. I watch it with my 5 year old grand daughter. Shows a hard working family, compassion, real life, not reality life. Excellent!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byeatumup42 December 12, 2011
age 5+
 

Children need to learn

This is not Animal Cops Houston!!! This show is about real life farm situations and the man who specializes in the care of these animals. Its about time all the know nothing people get to understand that farm life life is not a bowl of fairy tales. Children need to know and learn about life on a farm. Most people wouldn't last a day if they had to work a farm. Agreed, not all the sceens are pleasant for some, but they are about real life situations, not like all the put up reality shows that plague our TV's today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent Written byEastern NC Gal October 30, 2011
age 4+
 

Farmers and their Vet

Some may be surprised that I think such young children can safely watch The Incredible Dr. Pol. It's graphic and probably shows things some would prefer never to see or know. Children who live on farms see this stuff all the time and aren't troubled by it. Finally, there is a place to see the reality behind how farmers really treat animals that so many of us eat or provide the milk that is in the cheese and other dairy products we eat. The farmers on the show represent the vast majority of those who grow our food. They are caring and do the right thing by their animals. Also, Dr. Pol is a great small animal vet. I love this show!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byJane Marshall October 8, 2012
age 18+
 

Select Animal Planet's Emergency Vets instead

Not a positive educational experience for children. I am a practicing rural large animal veterinarian and this is not an accurate portrayal of modern veterinary medicine. It is not acceptable for a veterinarian to practice 1970s medicine, just as it would not be acceptable for a pediatrician to practice 1970s medicine.
Parent Written bydoggymom September 30, 2012
age 2+
 

Help...Animal Cops!!!

Got sick watching him treat ( torture ) animals without use of medication for pain. Needs to be warned by Animal Cops.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byKeith Sr. March 10, 2012
age 5+
 

Good tv

Educational may let kids know what it like if they want to be a vet
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written bysmartadult February 5, 2012
age 4+
 
Parent Written bymarcarhar December 21, 2011
age 7+
 

We LOVE Dr Pol!

We have a 7 year old son who wants to be veterinarian. We have been watching this show since it started and it has done nothing but fuel his interest. We think it's been a positive thing to watch, and we will continue to watch as long as it is on!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byanimal talk December 4, 2011
age 10+
 

Some parents just dont understand.

I'm a nature person I love learning all I can about animals,I understand so much more about them. The more u learn the more u understand.Understanding is one of the best thing in the world lost without it. LP
Parent Written byA Veteinarian November 18, 2011
age 18+
 

Two Thumbs Way Down

Under the guise of character driven TV..this man practices bad medicine.In addition,taking xrays without proper OSHA protection is against the law.Two Big Thumbs down here
Parent Written byMama Vicki October 30, 2011
age 18+
 

LOTS OF GORE, AND A BIT OF A SNORE

It's grisly. So much so that the network chooses to "blur" the image when it's too gross, like the scene where they're stuffing a cow's 25-lb uterus back inside her. The scene where the teams pulls out hundreds of porcupine quills from the faces of two dogs--and the dazed , bleeding dogs are loaded into the bare metal bed of their owner's pickup-- will not please animal lovers made of softer stuff. After a procedure, shouldn't animals be held and observed under sterile conditions for 24 hrs? This feels like the "snuff" programming on NatGeo and Animal Planet where there's always plenty of gore. Not a good show for people who just want to see warm fuzzy creatures get better. Kind of meat-porn.
What other families should know
Too much violence