All member reviews for The Legend of Korra

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byRevDragon April 15, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Okay, but misses the charm of the original

As far as the avatar series is concerned, I am a real "avatard." Seeing the new series finally premiere was very nice. After watching the first two episodes I was a little disappointed, but not as much as I probably would have been had I watched the live action movie. Thankfully the animation wasn't changed in anyway, it still looks like an "avatar" cartoon. The changes to the world are very weird however seeing how modern things are now. My main dislike would have to be the characters or character as you will. I know it's the politically correct thing to have "strong" females, and there's nothing wrong with that. But Korra just comes off as annoying. How many times can you say "I'm the avatar" within one hour? This fact is thrown in several times and it gets tiring. She's not very likeable from my perspective, at least not like the former avatar was. The positive is she tries to do the right thing, but like a cocky, stubborn female, which doesn't give hints of much maturity. Tenzin is probably one of the better characters that I've seen, quickly becoming my favorite. From his facial expressions to his lectures, I see a lot of his father inside him though Aang is not a living character in this series. The current supporting cast is okay, nothing really special that I noticed about them. The action is very entertaining. Everything I expected it to be as far as the bending and martial arts is concerned so there would be nothing missing from that department. Characters get hit with all the elements: fire, earth, water, etc. This is something I will continue to watch, and for a fan like me, I still say it's worth a watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byJ-Yo May 13, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Spin-Off

I was a fan of the original Avatar: the Last Airbender as a kid. Now, at seventeen, the spin-off is just as appealing. The fight scenes are easy for young kids to handle, but still exciting for older kids and adults. The magic of bending is still just as cool. The characters are so complex and intricate, and not just for a Nickelodeon cartoon. Korra teaches the importance of perseverance and teamwork, as well as how important it is to find balance within yourself and being in tune with nature. It's what you should be watching Saturday mornings.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byFinn dickens October 30, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great, but darker.

This show is very good. I don't think it quite lives up to the care-free and spiritual energy that radiates so well from the original series, but it is good nonetheless. However, I would advise not showing to younger children. If your child is fairly young and mature enough to cope with the themes of the show, I would recommend it, it's well written. But if your child is sensitive to themes like violence and frightening imagery, I wouldn't suggest you let them watch it. It's more adult- like then the Last Airbender, and not just for cartoon violence. There is some scary imagery, like the use of "blood bending" is quite frightening, as it shows the characters veins pop out, and it has some sound effects that are cringy. The charecter Amon uses a technique to "remove" one's bending, which looks like he is draining the life force out of that person, not to mention he is an over-all creepy character. The second season has episodes about the comic relief, Bolin, starring in the first-age technology of "movers", (movies), with a young woman he works with giving some suggestive imagery that hints the theme of pornographic films. The relationships are complex, and there are multiple scenes of break ups and cheating, none of which would be seen in the original show. I would say the violence is the worst of it, though. In the season one finale, there is an emotional and disturbing scene where (SPOILERS) a man commits suicide and murder by blowing up the boat he is on with his own brother. In season three, the darkest of the seasons, we see the villan, zaheer, an airbender (which in the original show was supposed to be the good and harmless element used only by the main protagonist, a twelve year old, so this may be disturbing for those who grew up watching the first show). Zaheer uses his airbending to kill one of the minor characters in the season, and suck the oxygen out of her lungs, showing her eyes bulging, as she falls to the ground, dead. There is also a scene where a criminal man commits suicide to prevent from going back to prison, and another scene where a water bender gets electrocuted by one of the main characters, a "good guy", without second thought, and shows her scream bloody murder before she dies. There is a scene where korra, the main character, gets poison injected in her body and begins hallucinating disturbing imagery in a very dark scene. And the worst of it luckily got censored by nickolodion. One of the bad guys has the ability to shoot fire from her mind, resulting in an explosion, but a metal bending clamps a shard of metal around her head right as she shoots having the explosion go off in the metal, blowing up her head. This is very tamed and is very suddle, but it is implied, as you see her smoking body afterward. Overall, it has good writing, excellent animation, a very good story, and a very good moral, as the main charecter, Korra, is portrayed as a hero, and it always has good lessons about learning, and what is good and what is evil, but I would advise not letting young or sensitive children be exposed to this show. Thank you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBriand19 August 14, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Best show ever

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byThePClaugh June 16, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Watch it.

This series takes story telling to a new level. It was originally suppose to be a mini series and the creators knew that. So they packed something into every line. You don't have to catch every line of dialogue to know what is going on though, but if your a fan of the old series, then you will wish that you will. The characters from Avatar the Last Airbender come back in the personalities and actions of their children. Korra may be the "great head strong heroine". So what? She is still a girl and a much more complex character than what most would make her out to be. Every line of dialogue has something to it. So those are the good things and here come the things you should watch out for. Its staged in a 1920s era. Old cars, dirigibles and jazz. No drinking, but there are gangs who threaten shop keepers (of course Korra beats them up), but that is the least of the worries for parents. The main bad guy, Amon, is the basic embodiment of the spirit of communism. Talking about "equality" and fairness. Parents should discuss with their kids the dangers of those who preach "equality" and what equality is right and when it goes to far and becomes oppression on not just a minority but a majority. Violence- The person who wrote the review above has not watched the full series. The bad guys use electric shocks hand to hand combat and at one point a water bender is bending the blood in some ones body to make them move like a puppet, it shows no blood but the sound the bending makes is kinda scary. Now this violence I could care less about since no one gets killed in front of the camera, but a little thinking would prove people do die. that I also could care less about. This is the type of violence without blood or gore, but obviously violence. It was well done by the creators so that it was not to violent for kids, but exciting for even adults. Sex-not really. Mako and Asami kiss (he also kisses Korra or rather the other way around), but its not really anything to worry about. The relationships between the characters get complicated, so parents can discuss how people should deal with these thing in the real world. Many characters are positive role models, but that can even extend to the bad guy Amon, who really seems like he just wants things to be fair. Educational- There are historical figures represented by characters in the show. Hiroshi Sato represents Henry Ford for example. Amon represents a sort of Lenin, or Hitler. (good with words bad in actions) Parents can discuss these people with kids if they want. Younger kids might not understand it completely, so they may get bored. Depends on the kid. My 6 year old sister watches it. :) Its one of the best shows on any channel now days, with jokes and plot better than any show. Its awesome watch it. NOW!
Kid, 9 years old April 28, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Legend of Korra, "pals before gals"

The show is Seriously good! Super funny too. It helps with teens, and tween life issues in life. Kora is very clever, and smart. She is not sexy, to make girls want look all sexy and hot to make them feel bad about themselves. Kora is a cute,clever,smart,and powerful on the inside and out. This show makes girls feel good inside and not to feel the outside is what matters. One episode, Korra fell in love with her teammate, her other teammate fell in love with her. But her crush is already in love. She started to stop being depressed, and goes out with the teammate that likes her. Her crush argues with her about making him "jelouse" but she Realy wants to just have fun. Then her crush came over to talk and get along. Unexpectedly, Korra kisses him. Korra's crush saw them and got upset. He could not believe his own brother did that,he bursts into tears and felt his whole life was over. Then his brother apologizes which teaches brotherhood,and they get back in the game, Korra apologizes and they was all friends instead of boyfriends. They all get back in the game they had and won! Thats a great lesson. "pals before gals". That was a great episode that taught them a great lesson and your kids if they seen it. Korra is a great role model,she is a powerful girl alone.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byAnes15 June 23, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

It's a good show but....

This show is amazing with it's action scenes and plot. The only problem is the romantic relationship between Mako and Korra. Mako cheated on Korra and his ex, Asami. Also this show got away with suicide in season 1 and the main villain dying in season 2. Which kind of disappointed me because in Avatar the last air bender, characters might have be hurt but no one really died. The only character that died was jet but it wasn't that big of a deal because he wasn't a main character. This show would be perfect if wasn't for these 2 problems.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykonstantin32 February 23, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good!

avatar the last airbender is better, i think. although, very good!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bysomerandomguy August 1, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome!!! But not as good as the Original.

Really impressed. I really enjoyed it. But not as much as Avatar: The Last Airbender. The story follows of teenage Korra who has mastered all the elements except Air. She has a teacher to teach her Airbending. She also journeys along the world saving people who need help and the people who were attacked by Amon. The story in this show is a bit darker though, but still, FANTASTIC!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 7, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great show, but more mature then the original.

I have to say, this show is very good, but it doesn't have the same feeling as the original series. It's slightly more mature, but it has a light feeling over all. •Postive Role Models: All of the female charaters are very strong •Violence: This show can be pretty violent sometimes, but there's no blood (Just bloodbending) •Icky Stuff: A budding relationship between two charaters, some kissing, a supporting character is pregnant and she has the baby in a later episode. Two characters used to be in a relationship, and lots of potty humor in later episodes. Over all, I think it's a really good series, but unlike commonsense media suggests, I definitely WOULD NOT let a four or six-year-old watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byCassiopia April 18, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Beautiful show but...

This is, without a doubt, one of the best animated programs Nickelodeon has put out, so read the other reviews. I'd just like warn parents and kids that after Book 2 (season 2) they start to amp things up a bit in terms of older, darker and more adult themes, especially in the second half of Book 3, and the beginning of Book 4. A villain uses air bending to suffocate a victim (who then dies), the same villain pushes a man off a ledge. There is also a harrowing scene where Korra tries to fight poison and hallucinates. http://tinyurl.com/k2ztjnv. Some of themes in Books 3 and 4 may go over most children's heads. Overall it's an amazing show and my siblings (aged 5, 7, and 11) enjoy it very much. It's lovely to see a flawed female action hero and villains that actually have a proper motive.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byglendoflump April 8, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

One of the best animated shows in recent years

(BEWARE - SPOILERS AHEAD!) I loved this series - it had some tricky moments (the Mako/Korra storyline) but it's beautiful animation and complex and interesting plot and characters are unlike many other cartoons for kids. This show makes a great move by not underestimating it's audience and providing it with satisfying and enjoyable plot arcs. The action scenes are incredible, and Korra's world is magical and seriously fun. The finale was a pleasant surprise for me and many other viewers as it culminated in a relationship between the two female leads, Korra and Asami. To have this kind of representation in kids television is phenomenal. I can't recommend this show highly enough.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBellatrix-Lestrange March 22, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing Show

This show is entertaining and funny. The fight scenes are incredible. What I'm going to be focusing on in this review are the characters and the last episode. The last episode had an unexpected but amazing ending. It is implied that Korra and her female best friend began a romantic relationship, and the show producers have confirmed it. I think it is fantastic, and it is unprecedented for a popular show aimed at children to have an interracial LGTBQ+ couple. The show has incredible role models. Korra is strong, confident and sometimes stubborn. Asami is a rich, intelligent and beautiful entrepreneur. Unlike her friends, she cannot control the elements, but she can defend herself perfectly well. She is caring and incredibly generous with her friends. Mako and Bolin are brothers and orphans who grew up in the streets. With hard work and determination, they managed to become professional fighters. This is an amazing show, and I recommend it immensely.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I Tried To Like It, But Couldn't

This show (no offense to fans!) is...not good whatsoever. I can see how likers of the original Avatar (not that good either) could like it, but it's inappropriate and uninteresting. I was watching Back at the Barnyard on Nickelodeon the morning this show came out and decided to give it a chance. But it was awful! I will never watch the Nicktoons channel again until they remove this disgrace.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old September 3, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

best show on nick!

finally, nick has a non-disgusting show! when I saw the 13th episode, I did not think it was very good. But when I saw the first 5 episodes, it was EPIC! on the 6th episode, it was a little creepy when the bad guy took one of the best bender in the world's power. but love the show anyway!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bymike-numbers July 15, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A great anime show.

This show is just awesome ,It's just as good as the 1st one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byrsalwan22 April 20, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

This show is really great but I do not believe it is for younger kids as there is a fair amount of physical combat and there are also other meanings in the show as well it is however good.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byLord Pigeon March 10, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A great successor to The Last Airbender.

While doesn't entirely capture the atmosphere of its predecessor, Korra manages to deliver as a story all its own. While I think Book 1 was more appealing in terms of its visuals and story, Book 2 also had its moments. The animation by Studio Mir is top-tier for a television production. Lots of technological advancement since the original series. Some political topics may not translate for small children. Well-balanced action with plenty of martial arts. One murder-suicide is committed in an episode, but no blood. Strong messages about perseverance, spirituality and teamwork. There is a clear "yin-yang" concept between good and evil. Some annoying romance drama, including love-triangles. A minor female character flaunts herself in one scene, but nothing explicit. No language, but some child-level name calling.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byWatch good movies August 5, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

AWESOME,CAN'T WAIT FOR SEASON TWO!!!

it is very good. I love it it. Some parts are a little scary but the rest is OK
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 8, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very good

this is such is an awesome show. Quite darker and more suspense...etc than Avatar the last airbender. If you know your kid can handle much violence and fantasy than this the show for you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages