All teen and kid member reviews for The Legend of Korra

Teen, 15 years old Written byRevDragon April 15, 2012
 

Okay, but misses the charm of the original

As far as the avatar series is concerned, I am a real "avatard." Seeing the new series finally premiere was very nice. After watching the first two episodes I was a little disappointed, but not as much as I probably would have been had I watched the live action movie. Thankfully the animation wasn't changed in anyway, it still looks like an "avatar" cartoon. The changes to the world are very weird however seeing how modern things are now. My main dislike would have to be the characters or character as you will. I know it's the politically correct thing to have "strong" females, and there's nothing wrong with that. But Korra just comes off as annoying. How many times can you say "I'm the avatar" within one hour? This fact is thrown in several times and it gets tiring. She's not very likeable from my perspective, at least not like the former avatar was. The positive is she tries to do the right thing, but like a cocky, stubborn female, which doesn't give hints of much maturity. Tenzin is probably one of the better characters that I've seen, quickly becoming my favorite. From his facial expressions to his lectures, I see a lot of his father inside him though Aang is not a living character in this series. The current supporting cast is okay, nothing really special that I noticed about them. The action is very entertaining. Everything I expected it to be as far as the bending and martial arts is concerned so there would be nothing missing from that department. Characters get hit with all the elements: fire, earth, water, etc. This is something I will continue to watch, and for a fan like me, I still say it's worth a watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byJ-Yo May 13, 2012
 

Wonderful Spin-Off

I was a fan of the original Avatar: the Last Airbender as a kid. Now, at seventeen, the spin-off is just as appealing. The fight scenes are easy for young kids to handle, but still exciting for older kids and adults. The magic of bending is still just as cool. The characters are so complex and intricate, and not just for a Nickelodeon cartoon. Korra teaches the importance of perseverance and teamwork, as well as how important it is to find balance within yourself and being in tune with nature. It's what you should be watching Saturday mornings.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byFinn dickens October 30, 2014
 

Great, but darker.

This show is very good. I don't think it quite lives up to the care-free and spiritual energy that radiates so well from the original series, but it is good nonetheless. However, I would advise not showing to younger children. If your child is fairly young and mature enough to cope with the themes of the show, I would recommend it, it's well written. But if your child is sensitive to themes like violence and frightening imagery, I wouldn't suggest you let them watch it. It's more adult- like then the Last Airbender, and not just for cartoon violence. There is some scary imagery, like the use of "blood bending" is quite frightening, as it shows the characters veins pop out, and it has some sound effects that are cringy. The charecter Amon uses a technique to "remove" one's bending, which looks like he is draining the life force out of that person, not to mention he is an over-all creepy character. The second season has episodes about the comic relief, Bolin, starring in the first-age technology of "movers", (movies), with a young woman he works with giving some suggestive imagery that hints the theme of pornographic films. The relationships are complex, and there are multiple scenes of break ups and cheating, none of which would be seen in the original show. I would say the violence is the worst of it, though. In the season one finale, there is an emotional and disturbing scene where (SPOILERS) a man commits suicide and murder by blowing up the boat he is on with his own brother. In season three, the darkest of the seasons, we see the villan, zaheer, an airbender (which in the original show was supposed to be the good and harmless element used only by the main protagonist, a twelve year old, so this may be disturbing for those who grew up watching the first show). Zaheer uses his airbending to kill one of the minor characters in the season, and suck the oxygen out of her lungs, showing her eyes bulging, as she falls to the ground, dead. There is also a scene where a criminal man commits suicide to prevent from going back to prison, and another scene where a water bender gets electrocuted by one of the main characters, a "good guy", without second thought, and shows her scream bloody murder before she dies. There is a scene where korra, the main character, gets poison injected in her body and begins hallucinating disturbing imagery in a very dark scene. And the worst of it luckily got censored by nickolodion. One of the bad guys has the ability to shoot fire from her mind, resulting in an explosion, but a metal bending clamps a shard of metal around her head right as she shoots having the explosion go off in the metal, blowing up her head. This is very tamed and is very suddle, but it is implied, as you see her smoking body afterward. Overall, it has good writing, excellent animation, a very good story, and a very good moral, as the main charecter, Korra, is portrayed as a hero, and it always has good lessons about learning, and what is good and what is evil, but I would advise not letting young or sensitive children be exposed to this show. Thank you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 28, 2012
 

Legend of Korra, "pals before gals"

The show is Seriously good! Super funny too. It helps with teens, and tween life issues in life. Kora is very clever, and smart. She is not sexy, to make girls want look all sexy and hot to make them feel bad about themselves. Kora is a cute,clever,smart,and powerful on the inside and out. This show makes girls feel good inside and not to feel the outside is what matters. One episode, Korra fell in love with her teammate, her other teammate fell in love with her. But her crush is already in love. She started to stop being depressed, and goes out with the teammate that likes her. Her crush argues with her about making him "jelouse" but she Realy wants to just have fun. Then her crush came over to talk and get along. Unexpectedly, Korra kisses him. Korra's crush saw them and got upset. He could not believe his own brother did that,he bursts into tears and felt his whole life was over. Then his brother apologizes which teaches brotherhood,and they get back in the game, Korra apologizes and they was all friends instead of boyfriends. They all get back in the game they had and won! Thats a great lesson. "pals before gals". That was a great episode that taught them a great lesson and your kids if they seen it. Korra is a great role model,she is a powerful girl alone.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byThePClaugh June 16, 2012
 

Watch it.

This series takes story telling to a new level. It was originally suppose to be a mini series and the creators knew that. So they packed something into every line. You don't have to catch every line of dialogue to know what is going on though, but if your a fan of the old series, then you will wish that you will. The characters from Avatar the Last Airbender come back in the personalities and actions of their children. Korra may be the "great head strong heroine". So what? She is still a girl and a much more complex character than what most would make her out to be. Every line of dialogue has something to it. So those are the good things and here come the things you should watch out for. Its staged in a 1920s era. Old cars, dirigibles and jazz. No drinking, but there are gangs who threaten shop keepers (of course Korra beats them up), but that is the least of the worries for parents. The main bad guy, Amon, is the basic embodiment of the spirit of communism. Talking about "equality" and fairness. Parents should discuss with their kids the dangers of those who preach "equality" and what equality is right and when it goes to far and becomes oppression on not just a minority but a majority. Violence- The person who wrote the review above has not watched the full series. The bad guys use electric shocks hand to hand combat and at one point a water bender is bending the blood in some ones body to make them move like a puppet, it shows no blood but the sound the bending makes is kinda scary. Now this violence I could care less about since no one gets killed in front of the camera, but a little thinking would prove people do die. that I also could care less about. This is the type of violence without blood or gore, but obviously violence. It was well done by the creators so that it was not to violent for kids, but exciting for even adults. Sex-not really. Mako and Asami kiss (he also kisses Korra or rather the other way around), but its not really anything to worry about. The relationships between the characters get complicated, so parents can discuss how people should deal with these thing in the real world. Many characters are positive role models, but that can even extend to the bad guy Amon, who really seems like he just wants things to be fair. Educational- There are historical figures represented by characters in the show. Hiroshi Sato represents Henry Ford for example. Amon represents a sort of Lenin, or Hitler. (good with words bad in actions) Parents can discuss these people with kids if they want. Younger kids might not understand it completely, so they may get bored. Depends on the kid. My 6 year old sister watches it. :) Its one of the best shows on any channel now days, with jokes and plot better than any show. Its awesome watch it. NOW!
Teen, 13 years old Written byBriand19 August 14, 2012
 

Best show ever

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byAnes15 June 23, 2014
 

It's a good show but....

This show is amazing with it's action scenes and plot. The only problem is the romantic relationship between Mako and Korra. Mako cheated on Korra and his ex, Asami. Also this show got away with suicide in season 1 and the main villain dying in season 2. Which kind of disappointed me because in Avatar the last air bender, characters might have be hurt but no one really died. The only character that died was jet but it wasn't that big of a deal because he wasn't a main character. This show would be perfect if wasn't for these 2 problems.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykonstantin32 February 23, 2013
 

good!

avatar the last airbender is better, i think. although, very good!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bysomerandomguy August 1, 2012
 

Awesome!!! But not as good as the Original.

Really impressed. I really enjoyed it. But not as much as Avatar: The Last Airbender. The story follows of teenage Korra who has mastered all the elements except Air. She has a teacher to teach her Airbending. She also journeys along the world saving people who need help and the people who were attacked by Amon. The story in this show is a bit darker though, but still, FANTASTIC!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 7, 2012
 

Great show, but more mature then the original.

I have to say, this show is very good, but it doesn't have the same feeling as the original series. It's slightly more mature, but it has a light feeling over all. •Postive Role Models: All of the female charaters are very strong •Violence: This show can be pretty violent sometimes, but there's no blood (Just bloodbending) •Icky Stuff: A budding relationship between two charaters, some kissing, a supporting character is pregnant and she has the baby in a later episode. Two characters used to be in a relationship, and lots of potty humor in later episodes. Over all, I think it's a really good series, but unlike commonsense media suggests, I definitely WOULD NOT let a four or six-year-old watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byManyuTheReviewer August 10, 2015
 

A DecentSequel of a Hit Series

The Legend of Korra is a decent series, but lacks the original zap that the other series possessed. In Avatar: The Last Airbender, the series wanted you too keep on watching, but Korra loses the interest after the first series. Although, Korra is a great role model for kids. She may be brash sometimes, but always wants to do the right thing. There is also other messages such as listen to your elders and never give up. In conclusion, Korra is a great positive message sender, but it may be uninteresting to viewers
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byLuke34 July 18, 2015
 

Very disappointing, far from "legendary" sequel to one of my favorite TV shows ever.

For a negative review, this is going to be long. I was a fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender (ATLA) before The Legend of Korra (LOK) came out. So I guess you could say that I came into the show with high expectations. And, to be honest, I really didn't like it. The whole steampunk thing was cool and all, but it just wasn't Avatar to me. But, I'll admit, it grew on me. Despite the stupid, cliche teen boyfriend/girlfriend thing, and a few other smaller gripes, I guess I liked the first and second seasons okay. Just okay. To me, though, the first season felt underwhelming and small-scale. The second season felt overblown, like it was trying too hard to be "epic". I missed the Avatar World I used to know, from ATLA. When I watched the 3rd season, I definitely liked it better. It really improved the whole storyline, and I began to get into the characters. Then the 4th season came. At first, I was liking it. But as the episodes rolled by, I felt like the show was losing momentum, and only gaining tension. When the show was over, I looked back, and thought, "I just watched 4 seasons of trash". The teen boyfriend/girlfriend thing, which is SO STUPID, didn't stop. It was just muted in the 3rd and 4th seasons, for a big finale of exploding colors, the homosexual ending between Korra and Asami. The worst thing about it? They weren't even leading up to it! I had no idea, and I don't think anyone really did. THAT was the moment when I began to realize that the show was just a waste of time. The characters were weak and shallow (the ending really showed that), so was the romance (duh), the battles were overblown and were just trying too hard, the villains were pathetic and cliche, and the everything good and perfect about ATLA was squashed out of the show. I almost gave this 2 stars, but I decided against it. The show had be going for over 3 seasons! I talked to my brother about it every day. We watched a new episode the instant it came out. Now, I hope I never have to watch it again. It's a shame that this show almost ruined ATLA for me. Stress the word "almost". I haven't watched ATLA since the end of LOK, but I still love Avatar: The Last Airbender just as much. I just wish this series hadn't barged in and disrupted my pure view of ATLA. So, please avoid this show, especially if you're a fan of the original. Believe me, it's not worth it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byArkh July 14, 2015
 

A Show That Teaches as Well as it Entertains

Legend of Korra is a great story, and strives to be realistic and deliver characters to care about, a story to love, and people that seem as if they could easily exist in the real world personality-wise. Throughout the series, me see the stakes are so often greater than most shows we see for children, and concepts and ideals toyed with and debated in ways that don't lower them to stereotypes of evil or good. Let's look at each season. In the first season, the story deals with the problems of equality in a society where some people are born with powers while others are not, and discusses how removing something so integral to one's identity can be utterly devastating. It talks about socialism, in a way, pointing out that although it is a good intention, the road to hell is paved with them and that some ways to achieve equality are awful. The second season is one of the less stellar seasons, but it has its own teachings as well. There we learn about capitalism and theocracy, seeing that although capitalism is great, it has a dark side in that money can push people to do despicable things. Theocracy is greatly vilified here as the theocratic antagonist oppresses and even risks dooming the world in his zealous actions. It is not, in my opinion at least, bashing religion. Only that blind belief can ruin all. In season three, Legend of Korra discusses the concept of anarchy and the difficulty in accepting change. Here is when the story really begins to shine, and the mature aspects begin to increase. We see that anarchy does have a point in a minor villain being a corrupt monarch who abuses her power, but shows to us that anarchy has a dark side: no rules means chaos can ensue and ruin lives. Meanwhile, we see that change isn't favored at first when it disrupts the status quo, but that people have to adapt no matter what their opinion of change is. Finally, we have the masterpiece of season four. In season four, the concepts of totalitarianism and delve into the devastating effects PTSD can have on one's psyche. The show talks about how totalitarianism has dark and light sides as well, showing how it allows one to organize ways to ensure the survival and safety of civilians while pointing out that it can be awful because it limits freedom. It also points out the reason people give up freedom for it: safety. The villain herself is even portrayed in a sympathetic light at the end, saying she only ruled with an iron fist and ruthlessly conquered because she saw her land abandoned and helpless and wanted to ensure its safety. It also discusses how PTSD can cripple one's ability to function, showing how Korra gets hindered by her inner demons. On the characters, we see them all grow and mature as people, and all bear the realistic flaws and strengths we all have. Korra matures from a hotheaded, independent woman who fails to see others criticisms about her into a fully realized Avatar, gaining the assets of empathy and thoughtfulness and learning to listen to others through post-traumatic growth. Bolin evolves from the comic relief easygoing wiseguy to a man who, while still being the wise comic relief, begins to stand up for his beliefs and act to fix what he sees wrong. Mako matures as well, though it's harder to see, and evolves to fully embrace his responsibilities. Asami becomes wiser and more empathetic, learning to stand on her own two feet and stay strong. It is true that in the end, the main character does establish a homosexual romance, but this should NOT be a reason to deny viewing pleasure. it shows the watcher that sexual preference is not something that defines someone, and because of the fact that the two characters who end up together are two we see evolve and mature like real people onscreen, points out that all of us are alike. I wholeheartedly recommend this show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old July 11, 2015
 

Quite violent,bloody show is too much for teens.

My rating:TV-MA for bloody violence throughout,brief language,and suicide.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie time 123 June 19, 2015
 

amazing show. can't stop watching

First off ignore those who say this show is dark. They are obviously brainwashed. This show is kind and explains several topics of friendship and minor crushes and only one kiss in four seasons. The violence is impossible to recreate since you can't really bend the elements. However according to tthe directors the korrasammi theory is true. This is a question to parents but the theory was confermed after the end of the show and was never mentioned throughout the show. Over all this was a great show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCassiopia April 18, 2015
 

Beautiful show but...

This is, without a doubt, one of the best animated programs Nickelodeon has put out, so read the other reviews. I'd just like warn parents and kids that after Book 2 (season 2) they start to amp things up a bit in terms of older, darker and more adult themes, especially in the second half of Book 3, and the beginning of Book 4. A villain uses air bending to suffocate a victim (who then dies), the same villain pushes a man off a ledge. There is also a harrowing scene where Korra tries to fight poison and hallucinates. http://tinyurl.com/k2ztjnv. Some of themes in Books 3 and 4 may go over most children's heads. Overall it's an amazing show and my siblings (aged 5, 7, and 11) enjoy it very much. It's lovely to see a flawed female action hero and villains that actually have a proper motive.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byglendoflump April 8, 2015
 

One of the best animated shows in recent years

(BEWARE - SPOILERS AHEAD!) I loved this series - it had some tricky moments (the Mako/Korra storyline) but it's beautiful animation and complex and interesting plot and characters are unlike many other cartoons for kids. This show makes a great move by not underestimating it's audience and providing it with satisfying and enjoyable plot arcs. The action scenes are incredible, and Korra's world is magical and seriously fun. The finale was a pleasant surprise for me and many other viewers as it culminated in a relationship between the two female leads, Korra and Asami. To have this kind of representation in kids television is phenomenal. I can't recommend this show highly enough.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBellatrix-Lestrange March 22, 2015
 

Amazing Show

This show is entertaining and funny. The fight scenes are incredible. What I'm going to be focusing on in this review are the characters and the last episode. The last episode had an unexpected but amazing ending. It is implied that Korra and her female best friend began a romantic relationship, and the show producers have confirmed it. I think it is fantastic, and it is unprecedented for a popular show aimed at children to have an interracial LGTBQ+ couple. The show has incredible role models. Korra is strong, confident and sometimes stubborn. Asami is a rich, intelligent and beautiful entrepreneur. Unlike her friends, she cannot control the elements, but she can defend herself perfectly well. She is caring and incredibly generous with her friends. Mako and Bolin are brothers and orphans who grew up in the streets. With hard work and determination, they managed to become professional fighters. This is an amazing show, and I recommend it immensely.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015
 

I Tried To Like It, But Couldn't

This show (no offense to fans!) is...not good whatsoever. I can see how likers of the original Avatar (not that good either) could like it, but it's inappropriate and uninteresting. I was watching Back at the Barnyard on Nickelodeon the morning this show came out and decided to give it a chance. But it was awful! I will never watch the Nicktoons channel again until they remove this disgrace.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old September 3, 2014
 

best show on nick!

finally, nick has a non-disgusting show! when I saw the 13th episode, I did not think it was very good. But when I saw the first 5 episodes, it was EPIC! on the 6th episode, it was a little creepy when the bad guy took one of the best bender in the world's power. but love the show anyway!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages