All member reviews for The Lying Game

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Scintillating mystery thriller is OK for sturdy teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 21 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byscissorluv971 September 27, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Just Fine

I don't really know what to think of this show because it's nothing like the book... I was really surprised that Sutton is still alive, EVERYONE knows where Thayer is, That Madeline's dad is actually friends with Sutton's dad, that Ethan's last name is "Whitehorse", that Ethan and Sutton were together, and that Thayer and Sutton did some "things" together. Overall its a pretty good show it would be way better if they kept it more like the book but whatever.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byPinkladykari September 2, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Watch with your child!

I've watched both episodes of this new series with my 11 yr. old daughter. We're enjoying the twist and turns. We talk about the fact that it's 'fiction' and that normal people don't act this way and just enjoy the story line.
Parent of a 6 year old Written byjulieinga August 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A nice surprise-

I watched this show and was pleased by how simple it was- no one's pregnant, no one's sexually confused, no one was doing drugs, or any of the other things that seem to be on every other show made for teenagers. Based on the first episode, I think it is appropriate for all tweens and teenagers.
Adult Written bycrazyfangirl12345 May 16, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Lying Game!!!!!!!!

If you are 13 and above this show is AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Being 13 I'd say pause for 12 and under. I personally love this show. One episode and I was hooked!!!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviefanatic88 July 2, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Similar to Pretty Little Liars, but in a different way.

If you like pretty little liars, you will likely enjoy this show as well. It is addictive and I like that it is less sexual than pretty little liars. The only real reason why I said pause at 11 and under is because I don't know if 11 year olds will enjoy it as much. Overall, addictive.
Kid, 11 years old August 17, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Cool show for tweens and teens :)

great show, some sexual content that kids might not be able to see/ Hand holding, kissing, make out scenes, and hookups are mentioned and shown. While much more appropriate than Pretty Little Liars, also made by the same author, it has a great mystery and is a must watch for tweens and teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 March 17, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Excellent!

The show is compelling and will keep you hooked. There is very mild violence. There is no sex only talk about sex. There is positive role models and positive messages through the seasons.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written by808girl February 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Mature Content

for mature teens only
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bykatie <3 May 29, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycatluva4eva February 9, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Parents should watch first- but overall not too inaproprate

One character by the name of emma is a VERY good role model for teens. She sports good grades, kindness, and doesn't curse too much or sleep around. Her twin, Sutton, however is not a good role model for teens. She sleeps around, fails many classes, and is cruel to peoples faces at very harsh degrees. Other than that there are few sexual scenes and words such as b***h and h**l. The plot is very mysterious and exciting so it is overall based upon parental opinion whether their teen should watch the show or not.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrazy~chic'98 January 3, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Overall Great Show!

The book and the show are very different and at first it really bothered me but the show turned out to be really good! I'm kinda obsessed with it now! Its definitely a great show however there is some inappropriate language and kissing! It is very spontaneous and will definitetly keep you guessing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bylmtrav December 30, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Pretty decent show

This show is pretty good. It isn't quite as good as its sister show, Pretty Little Liars, but I like it. The content is not that bad, and anyone around 12 and up should be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysevenstarburst November 12, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

GREAT!

very good show! just know your child and what they can handle. most 12-13-14 year olds already are well aware of the stuff going on in high schoolers lives.
Teen, 13 years old Written bystoryteller13524 October 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Review for The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

I think that this show is the best! I tried watching it, and it's just so full of suspense and mystery. Of course, there are a few things that are inappropriate, but it is only implied and never shown. This show would be good for sturdy 12-year-olds and teens. Anyone 12 and over is appropriate.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 23, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Love the show!

If you can watch pretty little liars, this you definitely can. pretty little liars i say ages 12 and up, and the lying game is not as ad as pretty little liars.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemisshannahxxx October 18, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing and suspensful

This is my FAVORITE show right now and I HIGHLY recommend it to teens. I actually like the show more than the book. The twists and suspense are crazy and it leaves me at a cliff hanger and at the edge of my seat!!! There is not too much sexual content, nothing your teens can't handle.
Parent Written byGaga Fan September 6, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Guilty pleasure for the squeamish

This series is much milder than the books. Plus it glosses over the fact that in the book, Sutton has been murdered. I wish ABC Family would stick to the actual plots, yeesh! I would recommend this over Pretty Little Liars at this point for squeamish parents. It's a good, guilty pleasure.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMillyMolly September 5, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Just started to watch it...

and it's ok. Pretty interesting, wanna know what happens next! Update: Amazing, addicting, loooove it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old September 4, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing

I loove this show :)
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnoziram September 3, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for mature teenagers

Good show. Some inappropriate stuff, but nothing that bad. You can watch it with your parents without feeling awkward. It's suspenseful, interesting, and fun. I'd recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages