All member reviews for The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 59 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byPintail April 27, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Reality Ain't All Smiles and Rainbows, Folks

This show definitely has it's dark undertones. There is no denying it, but that doesn't necessarily make it bad, does it? Some of you may remember "Aaah Real Monsters!", "Courage the Cowardly Dog", and "The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy". If you can recall, they all had their fair share of creepy, scary moments, but as far as I know, they didn't do any harm. Why should "Flapjack"? I realize, the characters are not the best role models in the world, but that's what's so great about this show--it's a good dose of reality. The characters aren't the typical "bad role model characters". They actually have a great deal of depth for a children's cartoon. Bubby, Flapjack's adoptive mother, while being an eavesdropper and frequently hypocritical, she just wants the best for her son and will go to great lengths to ensure his safety and always has his best-interest at heart, even though she may poorly express this. The relationship between Bubby and Flapjack proves that you do not have to be related to be family. K'Nuckles is another story. He's a drunkard, a liar, a theif, a bum, and a failure who often sweeps young Flapjack away in his highly-exaggerated (or completely made-up) tales of adventure, which blinds Flapjack from seeing his true character. Despite being a bit of a jerk and quite the anti-role model, he does express great love for Flapjack, even if he doesn't want to admit to it or if his methods of expressing his feelings for Flapjack are highly obscure. There are multiple references to his alcoholism through-out the series. I think his relationship with Flapjack proves that even less than perfect people can still be loving people. And of course, Flapjack is a painfully-naive wanna-be-adventurer. He's very dedicated and tries his best at everything he does. He's often swayed in the wrong direction by the ole captain, but isn't necessarily a bad kid. There are a few minor characters peppered in--there's the bartender, Peppermint Larry and his (possibly fictional) manipulative, controlling wife, 'Candy Wife', and Doctor Barber, the surgery-obsessed local doctor/barber. Many characters are illiterate. The show puts heavy-importance on creativity and adventure, which is always a good message for the children. The main trio have all shown dedication and hardwork and have promoted to "do the right thing" such as when a group of children make fun of Bubby and K'Nuckles, instead of going along with them for the popularity, Flapjack stands up for his friends, even after being called names. Characters have gotten "high" and "drunk" are more than one occasion. All in all, I think it's a good show with good messages and role-models, by they are often obscured by character flaws or reality itself.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byjfreighgiuhg March 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The pancake was over cooked, a while ago.

Worst Show ever! You can't live in a whale, drink candy, and what kind of a name is Flapjack? A three year old can come up with abetter name then that. Also, why does Knuckles get in trouble for what Flapjack does? Besides Flapjack's laugh makes me want to go listen to Rebecca Black!! If you want your kids to watch this, just have them watch paint dry instead. Trust me, that has more depth then this excuse for a cartoon.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 19, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Stupid and unentertaining

Flapjack is extremely stupid and boring and has no plot whatsoever. This show is not good for anyone.
Teen, 14 years old Written byAwesome_O September 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome, but dark.

This show is pretty awesome in a teen's opinion, but the show may be too dark for what Common Sense Media is saying it is targeted for. I'd say a tween audience would be good.
Teen, 15 years old Written byharryandjimmy January 11, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Scary and a waste of time.

This show is creepy, disgusting, and scary. If I had kids I woul never let them watch this. There is absolutley no point to this show and it's disgusting. The show is graphic, like when it has close ups of characters faces. I would suggest not letting your kids melt their brains by watching this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byLadyKitKat11 December 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FLAPJACK FTW!

Love it! Flapjack is so cute! Funny show, Thourop, you rock!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 12, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Sucky for everyone with brain

I hate flapjack this show is sooooo stupid and gross and pointless, its not even funny and their mouths and face expressions are disgusting, creepy drawings and ugly characters
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I made a huge mistake watching this show!

I used to like this show but now I realize I made a huge mistake when I watched cartoon network, This show is dumb! There was a reason it was canceled. So happy that Mr. Annoying/Flapjack is out of my life forever! Why does everybody like this show? Its so gross, boring and theres too much language kids can't use, I heard potty humor plenty of times in this crappy TV show! Glad it was cancelled because it was horrible!!! So horrible I wanted to murder myself in the living room.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 19, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Funny but some potty jokes

I like it but they say words like "poop" and "stupid" and alot of drinking candy out of beer glass
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byLydia D. May 11, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

One of The Best Cartoons I've Seen

This show is extremely clever and witty. The main character, Flapjack, is extremely cute and innocent, as is his guardian, the whale, Bubby. Pretty much everyone else on the show is disturbed in some hilarious way or another. Like, the grumpy, maple syrup drinking Captain Knuckles, pronounced "K" Nuckles, or the somewhat sadistic "Dr. Barber". And, n this show, if you're not Flapjack, Bubby, or mentally disturbed, then you're grotesque and/or deformed. The odd thing about the show is, while it is not outright inappropriate for young children, it almost feels like a show intended for adults. Not that young children won't get a barrel of laughs out of it, but it's just not always a childs humor. But, it's still a great show, perfect even, and deserves a five!
Teen, 13 years old Written byOmiwako April 6, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

"Marvelous"

Captures the innocence of childhood, bullies and over-protective parents included. A must-watch in my book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written by211472 November 23, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
OK. Really? Maple syrup, not beer. Do you thing a 5 year old knows what beer is? And if they are older, they know better! Gosh!
Kid, 10 years old January 7, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I LOVE THIS SHOW
Kid, 11 years old June 6, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Don't Bother Watching

Terrible show. It's not really funny, just weird. I like the guy who created it, but this show was a fail. It is a very creepy show about a weird wanna-be pirate blonde kid and some kind of captain-monster-thing who go on "ADVENTURE!"s
Kid, 12 years old February 21, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Some Fantasy Violence (as intended in the rating), but a fun (some dark moments), entertaining show for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byTheGreatNoOne August 18, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The nightmare fuel level... IT'S OVER 9000!!!!!!!!!

Creepy show. It's like the only reason it existed was to spread nightmares over little girls' heads at bedtime. Great for people who enjoy dark themes and gross-up close-ups. Bad for people who get disturbed easily.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMoshata February 7, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I think it's quite dandy!

For those of you saying this show was dark and disturbing,.... doesn't anyone remember "Courage the Cowardly Dog", "Aaahh! Real Monsters!!!", or disturbing "Ren & Stimpy"? In Aaahh! Real Monsters!!, a show created by members of the RUGRATS crew, there is a monster named Oblina who pulls her organs out of her mouth to scare people. Her brain, intestine, heart(s), ect. Yep. a show. about how monsters. attend a school. to learn to scare people. And I loved it! I remember staying up 'till twelve AM just to turn on my Tv, and whether I stayed awake or not, kept it on so it would get that +1 view! Back to MMOF, his was just creepy moments in the show, and my 4-year-old brother watches it, ALONG with me and my mum. It's really not that bad at all. Honestly, kids need a little dark and creepy in their cartoons. They need to know, that even in the cartoons they escape to, bad stuff and scary things can happen, and it's beyong their control, like life. As wierd as that sounds, it's yeah kinda true. Sorry, adults. Kids can handle a lot more than they are given, I'll tell you that much. But a couple negative points were a shaky plot, lack of interest, ect. the obvious, of course.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byiwillbefamous November 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Sorry Kids, this show is horrible

Im sorry this review annoys me. This site gives codename: kids next door a review saying how terrible it is, but this show, which is truly creepy and freaky a review like it's nothing! I watch horror movies, even go to halloween horror nights every yeah, and THIS show truly freaks me out! it has a sinister tone and it creepy. it has kids sick and dying, no parents and the only role models are k'nuckles who is a lying, stealing, alcoholic old man and a whale who ease drops on everyones. this show is stright up scary and i would NEVER let my child watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old September 14, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

im crying

cn why why why. you actly put something liike this on? not happy-__-
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byFrylock September 10, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

um...

Silly little show.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages