All member reviews for The Simpsons

Common Sense Media says

Clever, fast-paced cartoon with edgy humor.
 

Users say

(out of 714 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written bywillweber July 8, 2009
age 10+
 

Not as bad as Family Guy

Most episodes of this show are O.K. for kids to watch, unless you worry about Homer's frequent alcohol consumption. Some episodes have mildy sexual content, so watch out. About the bad language, however, from what I can tell, my 12 year old son hears worse in middle school than this show ever utters. One last note; although Bart can be a bad role model, most of his stunts would be impossible for your child to repeat, so I wouldn't worry too much.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byracolson February 27, 2011
age 6+
 

Awesome show for 6+

Good show all around, one of my favorite shows. I have been watching this since i was about 6 and honestly i think its good for kids 6+. There isn't too much violence or cussing, although Homer excessively drinks beer. Either way, a very well written show except for the latest episodes (2004-Present). I would prefer the older ones.
Kid, 10 years old October 13, 2010
age 10+
 

Awesome show!!

Great show, nothing worse than d--n or a-s. Iffy 10+, on 12+. Common Sense has it wrong, as this is NOT aimed at adults, as it is partly a older family show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 15, 2012
age 8+
 

Very good.

This is a great show! It is really funny.It never fails to make me laugh!
Parent of a 17 year old Written byastrictparent May 29, 2013
age 18+
 

NOT APPROPRIATE AT ALL!

Ok. It is seriously NOT FOR KIDS because this show is very inapporpraite. I cannot believe you'd let your 9 year old son watch this. Definately not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2010
age 9+
 
I love it perfect for ages 9+ ages 6-8 Parent supervison
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byANRAVEL April 9, 2008
Adult Written bygloobadude April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Thats it! Its rated PG!

The Simpsons, first off, is not 14! It is PG, some, I think around 7 or 9, are rated 14, but the whole show is mostly PG! The Simpsons has some stuff that parents might find inappropriate... for 4 year olds! Okay, sorry, there might be some stuff that might be found inappropriate but I've watched this since I was a baby, litterally! (Yes I faked my age) Some sex is included, but its mostly in the newer season. It's not that bad, and most of it is just, well, not bad. And sex is part of nature, why not get a head start! (Just kidding, but its really not that bad) Now language, thats a different story. They say the h word, a word, d word, and somtimes the b word. They swear in every episode, but it's not like that many bad words are there much, but they cuss every episode. Now violience is just like a regular cartoon, except blood apears somtimes. Overall Simpsons is a great show everyone should watch.
Written byAnonymous September 12, 2013
age 15+
 

I LOVE IT!!!! THE BEST ADULT CARTOON EVER!!

The Simpsons is great! The old and new episodes! It's funny, fun to watch, great animation, etc etc etc. I just flat out love everything about this awesome show!
Kid, 12 years old April 14, 2013
age 2+
 

nice funny family show for all ages

the simpsons is every family's favorite show i have watched this show since i was a baby but the new episodes that come out are for more older kids like 9 up give your family a chance on a show they will love suitable for the whole family
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bybatmansuperman March 16, 2013
age 12+
 

Not the best choice.

Lots of sex and violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old December 9, 2012
age 11+
 

The Best For Eleven And Up

I think it is good for eleven and up or someone who knows not to have sex, violence or drugs. Bart isn't a good role model (In the movie, he drank beer.) Homer is an alcoholic and hangs out at the bar and sometimes swears. (Violent) Marge is Homer's wife (Not a big problem) Lisa is very nice, she is one of the only positive role models. Then there's the baby who isn't a problem at all. I think this is a pretty good family-friendly show and movie. The newer episodes are rated TV-14 though. The old ones are rated PG. The TV-14 ones made in 2011-2012 has sex (It doesnt show anything other than butt though and noises) So I think it is a pretty good show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byibarncat February 3, 2012
age 9+
 

Clever, witty cartoon has stood the test of time very well

Quite simply, this is the greatest animated sitcom of all time, not that there are that many animated sitcoms. It has very brilliant satire in a show that family audiences ought to be able to watch. The only problems with calling it a family show are the occasional innuendos and the increasing amount of violence that the show is using. But other than that, the show is perfectly safe for kids. That is, if they can understand why this show is so funny and so well-written. Essentially, if this show is EVER put on cable, it should be on Nick@Nite, not Adult Swim.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 3, 2012
age 11+
 

simpson show

simpsons is a funny animated comedy that never gets old!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
age 9+
 

Hilarious

This is a great TV show... one of my all time favorites I really wouldnt be conserned about your kids watching this
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2010
age 10+
 

great!

i watched it when i was 5 or 6 just because of the slapstick and cartoons. Nothing to worry about as i didn't care about the jokes i didn't understand then. Now i like it alot more.
Teen, 17 years old Written byCoolj204 May 29, 2009
age 10+
 

Caution: READ THIS REVIEW IF YOUR KID IS WACTHING THIS SHOW.

Listen up parents, if your kids are wacthing this, they may be at risk. Back when it first came out, it was clean, now i do not know what happend to it. It has uses of curses,drugs, and other inpropiate talk that kids may repeat. Please, if your child is wacthing the new episodes, stay with them because they may see some things NOT for their age. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU MAKE SURE KIDS YOUNGER THEN 10 DONT REPEAT THE THINGS THEY DO ON THIS SHOW. SO PLEASE, BE CAUTION WHEN WACTHING THIS SHOW WITH KIDS. IT HAS SOME 'SEX WORDS', BUT NOT VERY HARSH BUT KIDS MAY STILL BE AT DANGER. THANK YOU FOR READING ME COMMENT. -Coolj204
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

hilarious, but not for kids

Teen, 15 years old Written byleahcar June 8, 2014
age 13+
 

A classic in cartoons

The Simpsons is a very popular, long-running animated sitcom about the titular dysfunctional yellow family. There's Homer, a beer-drinking dimwitted father, his hardworking stay-at-home wife Marge, their daredevil son Bart, and their two daughters: intelligent Lisa and baby Maggie. In my opinion, the newer episodes aren't as good as the older ones, so if you have never watched The Simpsons and would like to, I suggest you look up the older ones. Although this is a cartoon, this is not intended for children. Some of the humour in this cartoon is reliant on pop culture, sexual innuendo and alcohol, and there is some mild language. Stereotypes make themselves present as well, but all for comedic appeal. Comical violence is also seen, and is sometimes quite brutal. All in all, though, The Simpsons is very tame in comparison to other adult animated shows such as South Park and Family Guy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySomeperson1234567890 April 16, 2013
age 2+
 

Best Cartoon of our Time

Best show since the Flintstones
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages