Common Sense Media says

Violent mob drama doesn't pull any punches.

Users say

(out of 33 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written bydavid.wallace May 13, 2011

Worse For Kids than Pornography

Excellent show. Awful role models, profuse cursing, nudity, simulated intercourse, frequent displays of high end items ($15,000 Patek watches, Harry Winston diamond earings and necklaces). Virtually every character curses- including the FBI, Kids, and Doctors. The mobsters commit murders as if life has no value. The mobsters show no remorse and the show portrays them as the heros. There are numerous bar scenes, heroin, meth, crack, cigars, and cigarettes. There is domestic abuse, graphic decapitation, people burned alive, smothering elderly women, brutal beatings (often accompanied by laughing and cheering), strangling (shown close up), prostitute killings, castration (implied), a head gets run over by a idling car with children in the backseat, and countless shootings (literally countless, at least one per episode). There are also many illegal gambling scenes, prostitution, and robbery. The show sends the message that it is cool to be a mobster. This show can impact a child or even some adults in a very negative way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byEntropy July 30, 2011

It's an incredible show, but certainly not for everyone.

To be honest, I find that attempting to rate a film, or Television show by whether or not it is age appropriate is completely ridiculous. What some 14 year old's can handle, will turn an adult's stomach, and vice versa. Thus, I will not base this review by age, but by the quality, and the content of the actual show. "The Sopranos" is in my somewhat bias opinion, one of the best shows ever made. Ever since I was 10 years old I have always had a fascination with the criminal psyche, and the Mafia as a whole. I read books like "The Godfather", and watched films such as "Goodfellas" and "Casino" starting at a very young age. Looking back, I may not have been mature enough to handle this sort of graphic content in the right tense, but what's done is done. The Sopranos is violent, passionate, and is packed full of sexual content and drugs. The criminals in this show have a very twisted sense of "moral" and "ethical" values, abiding by the "rules" set by their hierarchy, but It's a show about loyalty, family, and the mafioso way of life. You'll either love it, or hate it, and here's why. Many viewers will be pushed away from this show by the graphic beatings, shootings, stabbings, the seemingly excess amount of sexual content and nudity, and the horrific language spouted by the main characters in almost every sentence. But, it is one of most realistic depictions of mobster social structure that you'll ever see. Thus, I rate this show 5 Stars. Use your own discretion when watching it, or potentially allowing your children to watch it, but please don't blindly follow reviewer advice given to you by members of CSM staff that you will never meet. Reviews are very relative in the fact that someone else's moral viewpoint may not conform to your own. Rent a disc of this show, or catch a re-run on cable. If you like the first few episodes, I'd recommend renting the whole series. It is truly a visual masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old December 10, 2009

GOOGLE

GOOD
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byAllie Pierson June 10, 2012

The sydicated version is okay for kids, I'm sure.

I have not seen this show but I'm pretty sure that the sydicated version shown on A&E is okay.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written by012345678900000 December 23, 2012

Cool

This show is good but not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLedZepFan98 April 24, 2012

Graphic HBO Drama

While this one of the greatest TV shows ever it is not for kids. There are no postive role models or messages whatsoever. The show is graphically violent at some points I found it disturbing. There is Sex or Nudity in nearly every episode but it is never graphic. The Profanity is very strong it probably has the most swearing in a TV show in an average episode the "F word" is used around 50 times. One of the main characters is a drug addict he is shown constantly snorting cocaine or shooting heroin. It is recommend for non-impressonable children 15 or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRIPsquishy August 10, 2010

Badabing!

i'm a sucker for mafia-related paraphernalia. that said, this show is definitely one of the most intense & crazy tv shows i've ever seen. i can only say that i've seen it on A&E (edited), but even then, they show you enough to give you a little bit of a taste for the uncut version. NOT FOR THE KIDDIES. not even for teens, in my opinion. tons of violence, naked people & f-words flying off the pan. do yourselves a favor & keep this show for late-night watching when the kids are in bed. with your door locked. if the kids walked in on this, i can guarantee it'll be as awkward as the "mommy, where do babies come from?" conversation.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybigevil1888 January 19, 2009

Great Show!

This is a great show i love the story of Tony and his family. I'd give it a 10 out of 10. I'd recommend it for Mauture Audiance Only because of Language, violence and sexual content.
Adult Written bypulliamjrp April 9, 2008
Parent Written bymoviedude19 May 25, 2013

Tame Compared to Some of the Stuff on TV Nowadays

I used to sneak the channel to HBO to watch this when I was 11. I'm 24 now and rewatching it with an adult mindset. I always was more mature than the other children. But I can definitely say that this show is not for kids in the least. The sexuality isn't a deterrent so much as the gratuitous violence. I'm sure a kid of 13-14+ would have no problem watching it. I've seen worse stuff on FX nowadays.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bytentalicx77 May 8, 2012

Great for mature teens.

Most mature teenagers should be able to handle this show fine. As long as they understand that the characters are not role-models and are in general, horrible people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bythe wise one March 19, 2015

The Sopranos

I recently finished the entire six seasons of The Sopranos a few weeks ago, and I would like preface my review by stating that it is definitely one of the best pieces of entertainment I have ever seen. The acting, the writing, the pacing, the cinematography, the music, and the characters are the best I have ever seen in a TV show. The Sopranos is an amazing show because it takes the stereotypical mafia genre and transforms it into something incredible while exploring various complex themes such as loyalty, family, friendship, trust, greed, death, lust, violence, crime, racism, revenge, substance abuse, pop culture, Italian American culture, betrayal, guilt, corruption, mental illness, jealousy, and morality to name just a few. Throughout the show's six seasons I was always blown away by what the writers were able to fit in 55 minute long episodes. The acting here is top-notch, every single character has their own unique personality and they are easily distinguishable from each other. The character arcs are amazing and many different and interesting subplots are explored throughout the show. However, the true star of the show is without a doubt, Tony Soprano. As the audience, we are able to witness Tony go through an incredible range of emotions and changes. We see him at his lowest points and his highest points. The show provides us with an intimate look into Tony's world by showing us how he handles all aspects of his life. We see how Tony handles relationships with family friends, business associates, police officers, politicians and of course, his enemies. There are two things that help this show keep away from the tried-and-true traditional themes we usually encounter in mob movies, and those are Tony's therapy sessions and his dreams. The therapy sessions and dream sequences humanize Tony Soprano, a ruthless mob boss, in a way that no other mob movie has. The supporting cast such as Carmela (Tony's wife), AJ and Meadow (Tony's children), and Christopher Moltisanti (Tony's nephew and associate) always give amazing performances and never fall flat. The dialogue is witty, sharp and many times, extremely humorous. With all this mind, it is without a doubt, not a show for children by any means. Every episode of The Sopranos contains constant strong language, nearly every vulgar word you can possibly think of is said on this show. The show has no positive role models. People lie, cheat, steal, backstab, and kill without any hesitation. Politicians, judges, police officers and the FBI are all portrayed as being mostly corrupt and incompetent at their jobs. The majority of the men on the show cheat on their wives and have many different girlfriends. One of the main characters deals with a serious drug addiction and there are many graphic scenes of heroin and cocaine use. Nudity is prevalent in nearly every episode as one of the main hangouts of the characters is a strip club. Sexual content is graphic and often includes thrusting, explicit dialogue, nudity, and loud moaning. Oral sex and anal sex are graphically shown. There are explicit discussions about both heterosexual and homosexual sex. Violence occurs frequently and sometimes suddenly. There are brutal beatings shown throughout the series, many people are shot suddenly with copious amounts of blood spraying or oozing from their wounds, some people are stabbed or strangled to death, and other people are mercilessly beaten with blunt objects, sometimes leading to their death. An old woman is smothered to death in one episode. Mutilated body parts are shown in one episode, including a severed human head. At one point, a man throws another man out of a second story window. Many characters drink to excess and insult each other. Most of the main characters make their money by intimidating and stealing from others, sometimes at gunpoint. Characters often engage in disrespectful and reckless behavior. The spoils of the criminal life are shown very often with the main characters living in large homes, wearing designer suits and expensive jewelry, and driving luxury cars. Both legal and illegal gambling are shown often, including card games, table games, sports betting, and horse racing. One supporting character develops an extreme gambling habit and is forced to sell his business because of it. Women, for the most part, are treated very poorly and are expected to put up with it. There are some scenes of disturbing domestic violence, including men beating women. It also implied that many of the women employed at the strip club owned by the main character are prostitutes. Overall, there is nothing positive or of redeeming value here for children. I would recommend this show strictly for adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18+ and 18+ year old Written byfamily kid January 8, 2010

12 and up

this show is very good although there is harsh language and brutal violents it is amazing and u will be a fan very quickly i recommend this for ages 11 or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bylostspaz18 April 9, 2008

For Mature Audiences Only!

Amazing Show! But very explicit sex/nudity scenes every episode, sometimes mutiple times in one episode. Language is hurrendous f-words every minute and even the awful c-word has been used more than once. Violence does not appear as often as the sex and language but it is very relialistic and very gory. One of the best shows on TV, but its content, especially the sex, is innapriopriate for early teens. But, for the mature and older, it is indeed as good as the hype. Iffy for 15-16+
Teen, 16 years old Written bygodfather April 9, 2008

Brilliant!

This show has lots of violence, sex, nudity, and coarse language. It's very realistic, and doesn't pull any punches. As for the quality, it's absolutely the most brilliant TV show ever. It really brings a different dimension of artistry to television. Literary buffs should enjoy it. For a mature audience only.
Adult Written byshanicemariaxo April 4, 2016

Amazing show but not for kids

Absolutely fantastic show, one of the best ever made in the history of television in fact, but 100% not for children. Huge amount of violence, swearing and sex - and it's very realistic! I've rated it 17+ but maybe for a mature 16 year old? Definitely no younger than that though!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMasterman177 March 22, 2014

Great show, only for mature teens

Im 14 years old and i watch this show. It is a great show with some nudity, and some swearing. There is also violence. It is a great show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byShoopasmawoopas February 28, 2012

Brilliant series. Certainly for more mature audiences.

This is one of the best tv series ever created. I am currently on series two of the box set I borrowed from my friend, also 15 and we both can't get enough of it. Though it is definitely one more for the adults, or mature teenagers. Pretty much every episode will contain one or many instances of violence or sex, and of course bad language. The series focuses on the life of a mobster boss so crime is obviously an extremely large theme of the series. Very bad messages and ideas of role models emit from this film. Don't let your kids watch this, it's actually worse than a lot of classic Mafia films like Goodfellas, Casino and Scarface so, don't let the kids on it. But it's beautifully captivating for anyone else!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydalton81000 December 24, 2011

Is it really that bad?

This TV show is one of my favorite shows ever made. I don't think this show is that bad, nothing is actually graphic, the only thing that jumps people is the swearing. You can find most HBO shows on this website and if you scroll down on that page, then you will see 5 circles line up on columns meaning how much of that category applies in the thing you searched on. On the "Language" category, most HBO television series have 4 circles or more on each show, but it's just some words, it's not like anyone is gonna hurt someone. More about this show is guns play a big role. There is a lot of shooting, beating, killings, and somewhere in between season 1, Tony Soprano strangles and kills someone (I can't remember the guy's name but he was rare to the show.) This show came out on HBO when I was 7 years old so my parents convinced to order HBO. I never thought anything was graphic at all. Language big thing and one more thing if you ever find this show again watch it uncut so buy the DVDs. I wrote this on 12-24-11 so it is not on HBO anymore. I think it is very awkward to watch it on a different channel because they replace every bad word with something that gets awkward after a while. I don't think you can ever picture Tony Soprano not swearing. Great show buy on Amazon and, Enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bySopranos123s August 16, 2015

Greatest Show Ever - Intended for MATURE AUDIENCES ONLY

While "The Sopranos" is in fact the greatest show of all time, it is intended for a MATURE AUDIENCE. This show has gained notoriety for graphic violence, graphic sex, graphic nudity, drug use, and of course pervasive strong language. The show also contains mature themes such as infidelity, misogyny, addiction, etc. However it is extremely well written and the cast is incredible. The series as a whole is intoxicating and addictive, but nothing can beat its first two incredible seasons. A mature 15 year old would have no problem handling this show. If you haven't seen every episode, your missing out on a true visual masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages