All member reviews for The Sopranos

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent mob drama doesn't pull any punches.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bypulliamjrp April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byEntropy July 30, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

It's an incredible show, but certainly not for everyone.

To be honest, I find that attempting to rate a film, or Television show by whether or not it is age appropriate is completely ridiculous. What some 14 year old's can handle, will turn an adult's stomach, and vice versa. Thus, I will not base this review by age, but by the quality, and the content of the actual show. "The Sopranos" is in my somewhat bias opinion, one of the best shows ever made. Ever since I was 10 years old I have always had a fascination with the criminal psyche, and the Mafia as a whole. I read books like "The Godfather", and watched films such as "Goodfellas" and "Casino" starting at a very young age. Looking back, I may not have been mature enough to handle this sort of graphic content in the right tense, but what's done is done. The Sopranos is violent, passionate, and is packed full of sexual content and drugs. The criminals in this show have a very twisted sense of "moral" and "ethical" values, abiding by the "rules" set by their hierarchy, but It's a show about loyalty, family, and the mafioso way of life. You'll either love it, or hate it, and here's why. Many viewers will be pushed away from this show by the graphic beatings, shootings, stabbings, the seemingly excess amount of sexual content and nudity, and the horrific language spouted by the main characters in almost every sentence. But, it is one of most realistic depictions of mobster social structure that you'll ever see. Thus, I rate this show 5 Stars. Use your own discretion when watching it, or potentially allowing your children to watch it, but please don't blindly follow reviewer advice given to you by members of CSM staff that you will never meet. Reviews are very relative in the fact that someone else's moral viewpoint may not conform to your own. Rent a disc of this show, or catch a re-run on cable. If you like the first few episodes, I'd recommend renting the whole series. It is truly a visual masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written bydavid.wallace May 13, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Worse For Kids than Pornography

Excellent show. Awful role models, profuse cursing, nudity, simulated intercourse, frequent displays of high end items ($15,000 Patek watches, Harry Winston diamond earings and necklaces). Virtually every character curses- including the FBI, Kids, and Doctors. The mobsters commit murders as if life has no value. The mobsters show no remorse and the show portrays them as the heros. There are numerous bar scenes, heroin, meth, crack, cigars, and cigarettes. There is domestic abuse, graphic decapitation, people burned alive, smothering elderly women, brutal beatings (often accompanied by laughing and cheering), strangling (shown close up), prostitute killings, castration (implied), a head gets run over by a idling car with children in the backseat, and countless shootings (literally countless, at least one per episode). There are also many illegal gambling scenes, prostitution, and robbery. The show sends the message that it is cool to be a mobster. This show can impact a child or even some adults in a very negative way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

zits are stupid

this cartoon smells like bacon and beans
Teen, 16 years old Written byjwade123 January 11, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I dont understand

I really dont understand why a 13 or 14 year old will review a title and then recommend the age to be older than them. If they are reviewing it for older than why are they even watching it? Can someone answer that question for me.
Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2010
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT for kids in any way, shape or form

My dad used to watch this in front of me when i was in second grade. It deeply upset and disturbed. I didnt understand and wasnt prepared for such a graphic, mature show. This show is best for age 18 and older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRIPsquishy August 10, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Badabing!

i'm a sucker for mafia-related paraphernalia. that said, this show is definitely one of the most intense & crazy tv shows i've ever seen. i can only say that i've seen it on A&E (edited), but even then, they show you enough to give you a little bit of a taste for the uncut version. NOT FOR THE KIDDIES. not even for teens, in my opinion. tons of violence, naked people & f-words flying off the pan. do yourselves a favor & keep this show for late-night watching when the kids are in bed. with your door locked. if the kids walked in on this, i can guarantee it'll be as awkward as the "mommy, where do babies come from?" conversation.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byGhcool April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byDuckyCow1 August 23, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
This show is about an Italian mob's life in New Jersey. As a mafia show is, there is plenty of violence and language, the strongest being silenced out. There are sexual stuff in every episode, making it unsuitable for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 14, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It has plenty of sex, nudity, violence, swearing and drug use. Of course so do most mafia movies. I started watching the show at 12. If you watch other mafia films, you should be fine with this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJWilliams303 July 12, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good show but not one for kids

This show contains a lot of violence(it is a show about the mafia), sex scenes, drugs and alcohol, and tons of language. I'd probably say watch the episodes on A&E since they're more edited on that channel. This show is really good though, recommend this for anyone who love mafia type shows like the godfather.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18 and 20 year old Written byfamily kid January 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12 and up

this show is very good although there is harsh language and brutal violents it is amazing and u will be a fan very quickly i recommend this for ages 11 or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bylostspaz18 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

For Mature Audiences Only!

Amazing Show! But very explicit sex/nudity scenes every episode, sometimes mutiple times in one episode. Language is hurrendous f-words every minute and even the awful c-word has been used more than once. Violence does not appear as often as the sex and language but it is very relialistic and very gory. One of the best shows on TV, but its content, especially the sex, is innapriopriate for early teens. But, for the mature and older, it is indeed as good as the hype. Iffy for 15-16+
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The Greatest show on T.V.

Although this show is packed with violence, sex, drugs and language, every episode is a new adventure. I Think you should be about thirteen before you are aloud to watch this. The Acting is great and the story is even better. If you liked movies like scarface then you will be addicted to this show. I know i was. My favorite episode was the first on were Tony Soprano talks to his therapist about his life in the mafia. If your 13+. this would be great for you
Adult Written bybigevil1888 January 19, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great Show!

This is a great show i love the story of Tony and his family. I'd give it a 10 out of 10. I'd recommend it for Mauture Audiance Only because of Language, violence and sexual content.
Adult Written byAllie Pierson June 10, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The sydicated version is okay for kids, I'm sure.

I have not seen this show but I'm pretty sure that the sydicated version shown on A&E is okay.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLedZepFan98 April 24, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Graphic HBO Drama

While this one of the greatest TV shows ever it is not for kids. There are no postive role models or messages whatsoever. The show is graphically violent at some points I found it disturbing. There is Sex or Nudity in nearly every episode but it is never graphic. The Profanity is very strong it probably has the most swearing in a TV show in an average episode the "F word" is used around 50 times. One of the main characters is a drug addict he is shown constantly snorting cocaine or shooting heroin. It is recommend for non-impressonable children 15 or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old December 10, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

GOOGLE

GOOD
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bygodfather April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Brilliant!

This show has lots of violence, sex, nudity, and coarse language. It's very realistic, and doesn't pull any punches. As for the quality, it's absolutely the most brilliant TV show ever. It really brings a different dimension of artistry to television. Literary buffs should enjoy it. For a mature audience only.
Teen, 14 years old Written byThedude68683 October 4, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

iffy but fantastic

AGE18 QUALITY It's an incredible show, but certainly not for everyone. To be honest, I find that attempting to rate a film, or Television show by whether or not it is age appropriate is completely ridiculous. What some 14 year old's can handle, will turn an adult's stomach, and vice versa. Thus, I will not base this review by age, but by the quality, and the content of the actual show. "The Sopranos" is in my somewhat bias opinion, one of the best shows ever made. Ever since I was 10 years old I have always had a fascination with the criminal psyche, and the Mafia as a whole. I read books like "The Godfather", and watched films such as "Goodfellas" and "Casino" starting at a very young age. Looking back, I may not have been mature enough to handle this sort of graphic content in the right tense, but what's done is done. The Sopranos is violent, passionate, and is packed full of sexual content and drugs. The criminals in this show have a very twisted sense of "moral" and "ethical" values, abiding by the "rules" set by their hierarchy, but It's a show about loyalty, family, and the mafioso way of life. You'll either love it, or hate it, and here's why. Many viewers will be pushed away from this show by the graphic beatings, shootings, stabbings, the seemingly excess amount of sexual content and nudity, and the horrific language spouted by the main characters in almost every sentence.

Pages