All member reviews for The Sopranos

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent mob drama doesn't pull any punches.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byEntropy July 30, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

It's an incredible show, but certainly not for everyone.

To be honest, I find that attempting to rate a film, or Television show by whether or not it is age appropriate is completely ridiculous. What some 14 year old's can handle, will turn an adult's stomach, and vice versa. Thus, I will not base this review by age, but by the quality, and the content of the actual show. "The Sopranos" is in my somewhat bias opinion, one of the best shows ever made. Ever since I was 10 years old I have always had a fascination with the criminal psyche, and the Mafia as a whole. I read books like "The Godfather", and watched films such as "Goodfellas" and "Casino" starting at a very young age. Looking back, I may not have been mature enough to handle this sort of graphic content in the right tense, but what's done is done. The Sopranos is violent, passionate, and is packed full of sexual content and drugs. The criminals in this show have a very twisted sense of "moral" and "ethical" values, abiding by the "rules" set by their hierarchy, but It's a show about loyalty, family, and the mafioso way of life. You'll either love it, or hate it, and here's why. Many viewers will be pushed away from this show by the graphic beatings, shootings, stabbings, the seemingly excess amount of sexual content and nudity, and the horrific language spouted by the main characters in almost every sentence. But, it is one of most realistic depictions of mobster social structure that you'll ever see. Thus, I rate this show 5 Stars. Use your own discretion when watching it, or potentially allowing your children to watch it, but please don't blindly follow reviewer advice given to you by members of CSM staff that you will never meet. Reviews are very relative in the fact that someone else's moral viewpoint may not conform to your own. Rent a disc of this show, or catch a re-run on cable. If you like the first few episodes, I'd recommend renting the whole series. It is truly a visual masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written bydavid.wallace May 13, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Worse For Kids than Pornography

Excellent show. Awful role models, profuse cursing, nudity, simulated intercourse, frequent displays of high end items ($15,000 Patek watches, Harry Winston diamond earings and necklaces). Virtually every character curses- including the FBI, Kids, and Doctors. The mobsters commit murders as if life has no value. The mobsters show no remorse and the show portrays them as the heros. There are numerous bar scenes, heroin, meth, crack, cigars, and cigarettes. There is domestic abuse, graphic decapitation, people burned alive, smothering elderly women, brutal beatings (often accompanied by laughing and cheering), strangling (shown close up), prostitute killings, castration (implied), a head gets run over by a idling car with children in the backseat, and countless shootings (literally countless, at least one per episode). There are also many illegal gambling scenes, prostitution, and robbery. The show sends the message that it is cool to be a mobster. This show can impact a child or even some adults in a very negative way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old December 10, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

GOOGLE

GOOD
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byAllie Pierson June 10, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The sydicated version is okay for kids, I'm sure.

I have not seen this show but I'm pretty sure that the sydicated version shown on A&E is okay.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18 and 20 year old Written byfamily kid January 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12 and up

this show is very good although there is harsh language and brutal violents it is amazing and u will be a fan very quickly i recommend this for ages 11 or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 14, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It has plenty of sex, nudity, violence, swearing and drug use. Of course so do most mafia movies. I started watching the show at 12. If you watch other mafia films, you should be fine with this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

zits are stupid

this cartoon smells like bacon and beans
Parent Written bymoviedude19 May 25, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Tame Compared to Some of the Stuff on TV Nowadays

I used to sneak the channel to HBO to watch this when I was 11. I'm 24 now and rewatching it with an adult mindset. I always was more mature than the other children. But I can definitely say that this show is not for kids in the least. The sexuality isn't a deterrent so much as the gratuitous violence. I'm sure a kid of 13-14+ would have no problem watching it. I've seen worse stuff on FX nowadays.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLedZepFan98 April 24, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Graphic HBO Drama

While this one of the greatest TV shows ever it is not for kids. There are no postive role models or messages whatsoever. The show is graphically violent at some points I found it disturbing. There is Sex or Nudity in nearly every episode but it is never graphic. The Profanity is very strong it probably has the most swearing in a TV show in an average episode the "F word" is used around 50 times. One of the main characters is a drug addict he is shown constantly snorting cocaine or shooting heroin. It is recommend for non-impressonable children 15 or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydalton81000 December 24, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Is it really that bad?

This TV show is one of my favorite shows ever made. I don't think this show is that bad, nothing is actually graphic, the only thing that jumps people is the swearing. You can find most HBO shows on this website and if you scroll down on that page, then you will see 5 circles line up on columns meaning how much of that category applies in the thing you searched on. On the "Language" category, most HBO television series have 4 circles or more on each show, but it's just some words, it's not like anyone is gonna hurt someone. More about this show is guns play a big role. There is a lot of shooting, beating, killings, and somewhere in between season 1, Tony Soprano strangles and kills someone (I can't remember the guy's name but he was rare to the show.) This show came out on HBO when I was 7 years old so my parents convinced to order HBO. I never thought anything was graphic at all. Language big thing and one more thing if you ever find this show again watch it uncut so buy the DVDs. I wrote this on 12-24-11 so it is not on HBO anymore. I think it is very awkward to watch it on a different channel because they replace every bad word with something that gets awkward after a while. I don't think you can ever picture Tony Soprano not swearing. Great show buy on Amazon and, Enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2010
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT for kids in any way, shape or form

My dad used to watch this in front of me when i was in second grade. It deeply upset and disturbed. I didnt understand and wasnt prepared for such a graphic, mature show. This show is best for age 18 and older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bypulliamjrp April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bythe wise one March 19, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The Sopranos

I recently finished the entire six seasons of The Sopranos a few weeks ago, and I would like preface my review by stating that it is definitely one of the best pieces of entertainment I have ever seen. The acting, the writing, the pacing, the cinematography, the music, and the characters are the best I have ever seen in a TV show. The Sopranos is an amazing show because it takes the stereotypical mafia genre and transforms it into something incredible while exploring various complex themes such as loyalty, family, friendship, trust, greed, death, lust, violence, crime, racism, revenge, substance abuse, pop culture, Italian American culture, betrayal, guilt, corruption, mental illness, jealousy, and morality to name just a few. Throughout the show's six seasons I was always blown away by what the writers were able to fit in 55 minute long episodes. The acting here is top-notch, every single character has their own unique personality and they are easily distinguishable from each other. The character arcs are amazing and many different and interesting subplots are explored throughout the show. However, the true star of the show is without a doubt, Tony Soprano. As the audience, we are able to witness Tony go through an incredible range of emotions and changes. We see him at his lowest points and his highest points. The show provides us with an intimate look into Tony's world by showing us how he handles all aspects of his life. We see how Tony handles relationships with family friends, business associates, police officers, politicians and of course, his enemies. There are two things that help this show keep away from the tried-and-true traditional themes we usually encounter in mob movies, and those are Tony's therapy sessions and his dreams. The therapy sessions and dream sequences humanize Tony Soprano, a ruthless mob boss, in a way that no other mob movie has. The supporting cast such as Carmela (Tony's wife), AJ and Meadow (Tony's children), and Christopher Moltisanti (Tony's nephew and associate) always give amazing performances and never fall flat. The dialogue is witty, sharp and many times, extremely humorous. With all this mind, it is without a doubt, not a show for children by any means. Every episode of The Sopranos contains constant strong language, nearly every vulgar word you can possibly think of is said on this show. The show has no positive role models. People lie, cheat, steal, backstab, and kill without any hesitation. Politicians, judges, police officers and the FBI are all portrayed as being mostly corrupt and incompetent at their jobs. The majority of the men on the show cheat on their wives and have many different girlfriends. One of the main characters deals with a serious drug addiction and there are many graphic scenes of heroin and cocaine use. Nudity is prevalent in nearly every episode as one of the main hangouts of the characters is a strip club. Sexual content is graphic and often includes thrusting, explicit dialogue, nudity, and loud moaning. Oral sex and anal sex are graphically shown. There are explicit discussions about both heterosexual and homosexual sex. Violence occurs frequently and sometimes suddenly. There are brutal beatings shown throughout the series, many people are shot suddenly with copious amounts of blood spraying or oozing from their wounds, some people are stabbed or strangled to death, and other people are mercilessly beaten with blunt objects, sometimes leading to their death. An old woman is smothered to death in one episode. Mutilated body parts are shown in one episode, including a severed human head. At one point, a man throws another man out of a second story window. Many characters drink to excess and insult each other. Most of the main characters make their money by intimidating and stealing from others, sometimes at gunpoint. Characters often engage in disrespectful and reckless behavior. The spoils of the criminal life are shown very often with the main characters living in large homes, wearing designer suits and expensive jewelry, and driving luxury cars. Both legal and illegal gambling are shown often, including card games, table games, sports betting, and horse racing. One supporting character develops an extreme gambling habit and is forced to sell his business because of it. Women, for the most part, are treated very poorly and are expected to put up with it. There are some scenes of disturbing domestic violence, including men beating women. It also implied that many of the women employed at the strip club owned by the main character are prostitutes. Overall, there is nothing positive or of redeeming value here for children. I would recommend this show strictly for adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byThedude68683 October 4, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

iffy but fantastic

AGE18 QUALITY It's an incredible show, but certainly not for everyone. To be honest, I find that attempting to rate a film, or Television show by whether or not it is age appropriate is completely ridiculous. What some 14 year old's can handle, will turn an adult's stomach, and vice versa. Thus, I will not base this review by age, but by the quality, and the content of the actual show. "The Sopranos" is in my somewhat bias opinion, one of the best shows ever made. Ever since I was 10 years old I have always had a fascination with the criminal psyche, and the Mafia as a whole. I read books like "The Godfather", and watched films such as "Goodfellas" and "Casino" starting at a very young age. Looking back, I may not have been mature enough to handle this sort of graphic content in the right tense, but what's done is done. The Sopranos is violent, passionate, and is packed full of sexual content and drugs. The criminals in this show have a very twisted sense of "moral" and "ethical" values, abiding by the "rules" set by their hierarchy, but It's a show about loyalty, family, and the mafioso way of life. You'll either love it, or hate it, and here's why. Many viewers will be pushed away from this show by the graphic beatings, shootings, stabbings, the seemingly excess amount of sexual content and nudity, and the horrific language spouted by the main characters in almost every sentence.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMarcusNelson July 22, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

For mature teens and up

People need to know that The Sopranos is a very mature television show. The show is about a Mafia boss named Tony Soprano who has to deal with his family life and his mob life. He regularly sees a phsyciatrist named Jennifer Melfi to deal with the stress of his life. Tony is a troubled man, and is often depressed. His family knows that he is in the mafia and his wife Carmela knows how bad of a person he is. Throughout the show, we see Tony's dark side and his bright side, and how he balances his mafia life and his family responsibilities. This show deals with edgy subject matter. Murder, adultery, drugs, prostitution, and just the mafia life in general. These mobsters make there living by hurting people and blackmailing people to get what they want and they are ruthless in their pursuit of the almighty dollar. The mobsters in this show are horrible role models and the show glorifies mafia life. People who consider watching this show need to be mature enough to realize that everything the mobsters do is wrong, and that nobody should try to imitate them in any of their actions. I recommend this show for nobody under the age of 15. Mature and sensible teens will be old enough to watch this show as long as they realize that it's just a tv show. And if they can do that they will enjoy the show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMasterman177 March 22, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great show, only for mature teens

Im 14 years old and i watch this show. It is a great show with some nudity, and some swearing. There is also violence. It is a great show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bythesturgmachine February 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fantastic show, better than nearly any other mafia movie!

It not actually to bad for 13 but 14 is a better age. It does have some good messages though on why you shouldn't do all these horrible things the characters do. It has frequent usage of the f-word. Has a lot of smoking, a bit of drugs in it. In nearly every episode there is nudity and sex scenes. There are a lot of scenes that take place in a strip club. It can be quite violent as well. It's a must see though.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byDavebrayfbu December 28, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

100% not for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written by012345678900000 December 23, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Cool

This show is good but not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bytentalicx77 May 8, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great for mature teens.

Most mature teenagers should be able to handle this show fine. As long as they understand that the characters are not role-models and are in general, horrible people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages