All parent member reviews for The Walking Dead

Parents say

(out of 67 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Parent Written byHoneyBadgerEthan January 27, 2013

110 out of 100

This is my favorite tv show. All though there is a lot of violence including, zombies ripping people open/apart. A man interrogating a woman and forcing her to take off her shirt and bra. He then gets up, unties his belt and hits her head on a table. ect. It has great role models including a group of people who take care of each other and act as if they are all one family. But There is also a lot of shooting people, and one scene a character hits another with a machete and kills him.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byZebrasareawesome June 4, 2013

Awesome show, but graphic

This show is my all time favorite show. Has awesome fight scenes and great action but very violent. Zombies tear into human flesh get shot and some images you see a zombies head getting crushed by a car. Some s*its and damns ect. but no worse then that. Some sex offscreen and a girl being forced to remove her shirt and bra. This show is very well done and it is very good but some may find it to violent. A mature 11 year old could watch this for sure. But know your child.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymeganjohnson June 12, 2016

Amazing Show

This show is truly the best. It may contain slight violence but it isn't enough to be worried about your child, I mean the show is about zombies. My thirteen year old twins love the show and watch it all the time, even with me there. The sex scenes are barely anything, they show zero inappropriate body parts and arent even a full minute. They are pretty much not even there. There are no drug/smoking parts and this show represents multiple role models. Leadership, survival, and putting others before themselves. The actors themselves go to something called "Walker Stalker Con" where they meet and interact with fans. It's amazing how they put aside their time for the viewers. They are great role models as well. Overall, other parents should not be the slightest bit concerned when they see their kid watching "The Walking Dead".
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written bysweetserendipity October 26, 2014

Other reviewers are missing the mark..

I will differ from other reviewers in saying that this show is not really about zombies. Walking Dead is an excellent character drama that explores themes of true human evil. The concerns that parents should consider when researching this show cannot be confined to the little review clickboxes about violence, sex, and so on; the show goes darker and deeper than that. Topics that have come up in this show include, but are not limited to: rape, molestation of minors, spouse abuse, cannibalism, infanticide, complete mental breakdown, euthanasia, torture, betrayal, tyranny, cult psychology, execution of a child, execution of the ill, and more. So when deciding whether to allow your tween or young teen to watch this show, the question is much deeper than whether they will find the zombie gore troubling or not. Ask yourself whether your child is ready to contemplate the deeper themes of evil in the show.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byReflexian March 6, 2016

Some parents need to stop over exaggerating.

Some parents are exaggerating quite a bit when it comes to the sexual content in The Walking Dead , there is hardly any of that to be found and the sexual content that is in it is not explicit at all compared to some shows / movies that are rated for a younger audience. Kids from 13 and up should have no problems with the sexual content thats in this show because they have learned enough about it at school or from their parents to be able to deal with the content in the walking dead. The thing to watch out for most is the other content though, not every 13 year old will be able to handle the gore in the walking dead and there is a LOT of it in the show. My daughter is turning 13 this month and i'm trying to figure out if i should allow her to watch or not because of the violence and gore, not because of the sexual content. She has watched the vampire diaries, teenwolf and the hunger games without any problems so shes not that affected by violence etc, but the walking dead is a step further and it's really up to the parents if they think their kids will be able to handle it or not. Definitely not for kids under the age13 anyway. It is a great show with great role models, but also shows how low the human race can go from acts of kindness to inhumane acts like using people as a food source (canibalism) and i don't mean the zombies, everyone knows what zombies do. The story is wel written and played by a great cast. The sexual content is non explicit and short, bad language is there but it's not used a lot, hardly any drugs or alcohol abuse. .. The really bad things when it comes to deciding at what age a kid should be able to watch the walking dead is the abundance of violence and gore. I have watched every episode including Fear the walking dead (spin off) so i do know what i am talking about. If you want to see how your kids react to zombies and such, i would advice to let them watch Fear the walking dead first, the first season doesn't have a whole lot of the violence and gore in it so it wont be as "in the face" as the walking dead which is violence and gore from the start.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 13 year old Written byRonanellard June 5, 2014
My nine year old and twelve year old love this show! Can't say the same myself but it's a zombie apocalypse who doesn't love that!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 5 year old Written byLuvBinAMommy08 October 16, 2013

Violents and gore but has a positive message

Some sexual content, not often, no nudity. Lots of violence and gore, some episode more than others, some language, and drinking. On a positive note the main character is a father trying to do right and show his child that you can still do good and help people.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytreat02 March 16, 2013

I love the show, but there isn't exactly kid-appropriate stuff in it

I love this show! LOVE! It's a well-made show, and sometimes it's funny. Being based off of the comic books, some people who read them might get upset. SPOILER***** When Sophia died, people who read the comic books were like, "What?" . The cusses aren't bleeped out, so things like s--t, a--, d--n, p---y. A lot of this is Daryl, who is actually amusing and funny. About the sexual occurrences, well, you really don't see them often. But if you're watching with any sort of kid you will *SHOULD* skip through them. The zombies and gore: Well, they kill zombies by guns, crossbows (Daryl :), axes, knives, baseball-bats. More stuff, too, like their bare hands (cough Daryl). This, though, can get very bloody. This doesn't bother ME very much, but if you don't have a strong stomach OR your kid doesn't have one, I advise you not to watch this show. Sometimes the Walkers look kind of "scary." The REALLY freaky ones I've seen are SPOILER**** (This is only if you want to know when to skip through if you're afraid): Dale's killer, The "Well Walker" and the one that was in the beginning with Rick. Those were the most scary I'd seen. Also: Choose wisely about who you make your favorite character. A lot of characters get killed off, even main ones.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, 2, 9, and 11 year old Written bydizzatifation February 9, 2013

Survival is the name of the game for this show

I personally think this show is okay for children that have a basic understanding of what is real and what isn't. This show is a get you thinking show on how to survive. This show is nothing more then a survival book into a movie with a interesting twist to get your attention.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBossManJones March 19, 2012

Very good but quite mature

This show is absolutely spectacular. Fantastic writing, cinematography, and sound design. However, it is exceptionally realistic (other than the whole zombie thing) in virtually every way. It is very violent and the violence is emphasized and prolonged. When it gets gore, it is blatant. The camera focuses in on the most brutal moments and never shies away. Also, there is a significant amount of language (s**t, b**ch, and other milder obscenities). There is a sex scene at the beginning of the second episode with two characters stripping down to underwear (the actual act is off-screen). Finally, the show is very dark and intense in tone. It is not for the faint of heart but if you can handle it, then you can't miss it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byfirstavenger11 February 12, 2012

The walking dead

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywoooooooooo June 28, 2015

amazing for the right audience

Very very good but includes a couple of sexual content but nothing explicit. Also includes some strong language and a lot of violence,blood,guts. Apart from them minor issues the show is amazing!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written bysallyd1 March 4, 2015

Great for adults 17+ = NOT KIDS!!!!

This is a show my husband and I like, but, definitely not for children. What are parents thinking, letting children whose minds are still forming (up till age 21) watch this? There are good role models, its poetic, good story lines, but there is graphic violence and lots of killing that kids should not become used to watching. There are swear words. It has some redeeming values - I will just wait till my teenager is a bit older!
Educator Written byBigsamillion October 24, 2013

What you want to know about the Walking Dead

This is an artful and dramatic take on what is generally a thoughtless genre. Zombie film is generally brain dead (pun intended), and it's refreshing to see such an intelligent aim at a cult subject. The violence is graphic, leaving nothing to imagination. This violence and gore permeates the portrayal. Anyone with violent tendencies or a weak stomach should think twice. The sexual content is not explicit, and handled well. In the first three seasons, there are a total of four sexual scenes. One is dirty, and lasts about 20 seconds. One is impulsive, and has a crotch grab. This takes all of 5 seconds. One is not sexual but poses sexual themes. This lasts a minute. The last is romantic, and lasts around 30 seconds. For adults, these are lightly provocative at worst, but for children and teens, I would advise consideration. This has been one of my favorite series of late. Definitely worth a watch, if you feel like it's a good fit.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRater_01 February 18, 2016

Walking dead rievew

My son has been watching it since he was 11
Adult Written byMediaHelp June 20, 2015

Very different

An excellent, developed story line that is very gory but makes you think about difficult situations and hard decisions people in this pandemic have to face. Not sure why many reviews are concerned about the sexual content as their are very few sex scenes for a TV-MA rated TV show. The show is focussed on when to make violent decisions, as it is shown as an appropriate action for the situations. Teenagers, especially older should be able to understand this and the gory isn't really an age factor as it all depends on the person.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 15 year old Written byzinger55 May 12, 2012

nice show, for mature teens.

There is a sex scene that opens the second episode of the first season.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySusane234 March 23, 2016

Definitely not for kids

The walking dead is a good show for grown mature adults, but Definitely not for kids this gory show is filled with lots of gore violence and smoking but, it's okay for mature 12 year olds that know this is not real and cannot happen
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written byMommyof22016 February 21, 2016

Amazing

One of the best shows I have seen on tv but no made for children. There is violence, zombies and sexual scenes. It's hard to set an age for the show because children handle stuff at different ages. I recommend you watch before letting your children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJacobTC June 16, 2015

between iffy and off...

VERY BLOODY with tons of cussing even words like n***r and motherf**k some sex and drugs NOT for anyone under 15!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages