All member reviews for The West Wing

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAragorn King of... September 7, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Very mature drama.

Love this show
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byski123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the few good TV shows

Teen, 15 years old Written bycharlie519 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byrrateddrama September 13, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The West Wing (1999-2007) (7 seasons)

Amazing show. Sex: the episodes occasionally talk about condoms and high school sex, as a political issue. sub-plots include humorous, but destroying the characters moral (temporarily) relationship with a "$3,000 a night call girl". light, brief adult humor throughout D.D.S.: a woman smokes pot in the pilot. social drinking, reference to "Bringing out the victory kegs of rum!" Violence: proportional responses to acts of terrorism, war discussed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 6 years old May 18, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing show, outstanding acting, memorable and great writing, and overall a great show

A great show. Some content is mature, so know your kid (or yourself). Fast paced, with seven seasons, and great writing. Absolutely outstanding acting, and fabulous writing. Some positive messages; never give up, don't back down when things get hard. Almost all the main characters are positive role models, but bad things happen to everyone and mistakes and misunderstands are numerous. Violence occurs in it, and it can get pretty scary, there's a shooting somewhere around the second, third or fourth season, but it all ends up okay.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byGrace1111 April 24, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
The West Wing is probably my favorite tv show, and I wish it hadn't been cancelled. That being said I do understand that there might be a lot of people who don't really like this show becuase of its strong liberal bias.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Smart show for very smart kids/teens/adults.

Smart, funny political drama. The dialouge sort of outpaces the audience, but you can still cath on to the general story. Amazing, best drama ever! Too bad it's ending... :(
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Engrossing Political Drama for Ages 12 and up!

I want to start by saying that The West Wing is one of a tie for my favorite TV show (the other is Planet Earth). Kids may not be able to understand the complicated plots, but I strongly disagree with Common Sense rating it ages 15 and up. There is no sexual content really, but some talk of hookers and affairs. At the end of season one, there is an assasination attempt on the President's life, but only he and one other are shot and they are both fine. They say some language, but not horrible. The West Wing has smart characters who flub up but apologize and get better. They all have good values and can serve as excellent role models. The President cares about his country greatly, and devotes his life to it. Also, every episode has some sort of inspirational puch, and it never fails to leave me moved. All in all, the West Wing is an excellent drama with some blemishes and a complicated plot, but nothing bad for anyone over 12. Your whole family will enjoy it!
Teen, 13 years old Written bynchris April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I can not live w/o West Wing

Thank the Lord for this show! Anyone who likes civics will like this show.