All member reviews for The X-Files

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byEduardo Peixoto November 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great 90s gem

The only possible offense I imagine coming from this show it is it’s ever-building tension, which derives from its science fiction themes. Great show that represents quality TV and is completely appropriated for anyone which shows some good taste.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Scary!

The scariest sci-fi show ever. Not much violence, but truly creepy. You must watch Muldur and Scully, for X-Files is awesome.
Teen, 15 years old Written bymisfits1013 April 3, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

My all time favorite show

This show is exciting and scary. The writing and acting is amazing. Shows today still copy off the episodes and storylines. I started watching this when I was 13 and was OK. I have to say, it contains a fair amount of gore and violence as you get farther into the show. Season 9 is pretty gruesome. I am a horror fan and can handle quite a bit of gore, but I can admit to being very disturbed by some episodes. Many deal with "human" killers with special abilities or mutations. These are the ones to watch out for, as they are more realistic and disturbing. If I had kids, I certainly wouldn't let them watch things like that. It depends on the child, but I do disagree with exposing anyone under the age of 11 to such themes despite their maturity. A few of the episodes to watch out for: Home (even adults can't handle this), Gender Bender, Irresistible (very disturbing), Aubrey, Die Hand die verletzt, 2shy, Oubliette, and Sanguinarium (goriest episode yet). As far as sex/nudity, hookers are shown dead or picking up guys (Irresistible centers on a man who picks up a prostitute, kills her, and cuts off her hair and nails- something not easily forgotten), occasional rear nudity and women's breasts, implied sex or rape, Mulder often watches porn. Nothing real explicit. Gender Bender and Milagro are two to watch out for. Also, characters drink/occasionally get drunk. One of the main villain's is constantly smoking. That's about it. Language doesn't get much worse than b***h. S**t and f***k are sometimes implied. To sum it all up, parents should tread carefully. Violence is the main concern. The show can get very violent and gory at times. I would consider watching the more disturbing episodes with your kids or skipping over. OK for 15+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byRGG270 June 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The X Files is a great show for anyone who likes aliens and the ideas of the human mind that are uncharted.

The X Files is a great show, the acting is good and plot and character development is smooth sailing. The only thing to worry about may be the homicides in the show for younger teens, other than that, you'll be solving crimes right along side Mulder and Scully :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byzacpb19 August 21, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for young children

The X files is a very good SI-FI Show but it is very freaky in episodes and jumpy and sometimes very nightmare ish so I can say that kids will not like it what so ever. There are some episodes that a 13 year old could get away with watching but alot of episodes are pretty disturbing and spooky and could be very scary for a young child. I remember seeing an episode from season 2 and when I was little and I sh.t myself. Very creepy show but good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 10, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good for all ages [but under 9]

i love it,my concern is only if you or your kids are easy easy to cry. p.s don't not let your kids wach it because your scard easy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byOncomingStorm January 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best sci-fi of the millenium

This show is incredible.Violence,yes, but-these days- most kids have seen worse by the time they're eight or nine.This show has great characters and fascinating storylines,with at least one or two good funny moments per episode.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

An amazingly disturbing show. In a good way.

Love this show, but it isn't really for kids younger than 11, especially ones that get scared easily. The most inappropriate episodes to watch out for are 2shy, squeeze, oubliette, and gender bender. 2shy and gender bender are also a bit sexual. The episode oubliette is very disturbing, as a man kidnapped young teenagers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byDarudeLover April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Rocks!

I only just started watching the X-files, but already I think it is the best show ever created. I never used to watch much TV, but then I found the X-files. There may be creepy monsters, but they aren't really scary. The only creepy part of the show is the theme song, which also rocks.
Teen, 13 years old Written byxffanatic04 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW EVER

the xf in my screename stands for the x-files. I think its an awesome show. I got an autographed pic Gillian Anderson. (and no thats y I like the show)
Kid, 12 years old January 8, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing sci-fi series definitely not for kids

The X-Files was made in the 1990's, so it is definitely not as scary as if it were made today. However, there is quite a bit of violence, and younger kids will find it extremely creepy and scary. There is a small amount of swearing (a*s, b*tch, sh*t, etc.), and there is one episode which revolves around a person who can switch genders that kills people in the "throws of passion." The shows major story arc is about a government conspiracy to cover up extraterrestrial activity, and many other episodes depict local police stations and other government agencies in a bad light, which aren't the best messages for younger kids. But it is still an amazing show and I definitely recommend it to any tween or above.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old September 26, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Interesting...

This show is cool, somtimes startling and creepy. i reccomend that you only watch this if you are at least nine. -I've only watched ep.1 Pilot
Teen, 16 years old Written byMiscreant January 5, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A Guide to Triggers- Common Fears in The X-Files

14+? Really? Parents, google this chart and see if it seems like an appropriate show for your children to watch. A Guide to Triggers - Common Fears in The X-Files
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 27, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

X-files

great show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBadWolf1 October 21, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Brilliantly made!

I started watching this show when I was 11 and was not effected by the gruesome content or language. Though my friends disappear whenever I watch it because of the gore or disturbing story it isn't that bad. When you watch the show there isn't much of gore and the science fiction storylines are brilliant! They are very scientific and mythical at te same time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKennyMcCormick October 3, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Favourite TV Show!

Awesome! Some episodes could be gory, for mature audiences!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byPugluver577 June 10, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I love it!

i really love the x-files, it can be creepy at times but if you like creepy stuff this is perfect, i really liked mulder and scully's relationship and i think they're pretty good role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byFox William Mulder May 22, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
This is my favorite T.V. show of all time. I'm 14 years old and this brilliant Sci-fi cop drama should not be passed up. PERIOD. The characters are intriguing and the story is wonderfull. Best show ever.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 20, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Can be VERY scary sometimes

One episode freaked the crap out of me when I was 11. This show can sometimes be very gory including regurgitated severed fingers, graphically slicing off hands, being fried alive and much more. Some episodes like "Patience" and "X-Cops" can be very scary. At least two episodes feature prostitutes,(One of them was "Orison", that was also pretty gory). Some episodes are just tame.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 27, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Show, Sensitive Parents May Want to Censor Some Episodes

I really love this show, and I think both Scully and Mulder are awesome role models. I think that parents of kids under 11 or 12 though should check the show out first, and hand pick the episodes deemed appropriate. Some episodes like Squeeze or Ascension can be pretty scary, while others like Beyond the Sea has mild language (Scully uses the B word). Gender Bender and 2Shy are others that may be censored. On the other hand, female empowerment is a major theme in the show, as Scully is almost always the one to tough talk someone who's in their way, the first one to step into a scary room with a monster lurking inside, and always provides the voice of reason. She's been a role model of mine since I started watching the X Files, and she and Mulder inspired me to become an FBI agent. Parents, I highly suggest showing this show to your kids, and as once they turn 12, everything should be considered appropriate.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages