All member reviews for The X-Files

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Brilliant sci-fi drama for brave teens and up.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byEduardo Peixoto November 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great 90s gem

The only possible offense I imagine coming from this show it is it’s ever-building tension, which derives from its science fiction themes. Great show that represents quality TV and is completely appropriated for anyone which shows some good taste.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bymisfits1013 April 3, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

My all time favorite show

This show is exciting and scary. The writing and acting is amazing. Shows today still copy off the episodes and storylines. I started watching this when I was 13 and was OK. I have to say, it contains a fair amount of gore and violence as you get farther into the show. Season 9 is pretty gruesome. I am a horror fan and can handle quite a bit of gore, but I can admit to being very disturbed by some episodes. Many deal with "human" killers with special abilities or mutations. These are the ones to watch out for, as they are more realistic and disturbing. If I had kids, I certainly wouldn't let them watch things like that. It depends on the child, but I do disagree with exposing anyone under the age of 11 to such themes despite their maturity. A few of the episodes to watch out for: Home (even adults can't handle this), Gender Bender, Irresistible (very disturbing), Aubrey, Die Hand die verletzt, 2shy, Oubliette, and Sanguinarium (goriest episode yet). As far as sex/nudity, hookers are shown dead or picking up guys (Irresistible centers on a man who picks up a prostitute, kills her, and cuts off her hair and nails- something not easily forgotten), occasional rear nudity and women's breasts, implied sex or rape, Mulder often watches porn. Nothing real explicit. Gender Bender and Milagro are two to watch out for. Also, characters drink/occasionally get drunk. One of the main villain's is constantly smoking. That's about it. Language doesn't get much worse than b***h. S**t and f***k are sometimes implied. To sum it all up, parents should tread carefully. Violence is the main concern. The show can get very violent and gory at times. I would consider watching the more disturbing episodes with your kids or skipping over. OK for 15+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Scary!

The scariest sci-fi show ever. Not much violence, but truly creepy. You must watch Muldur and Scully, for X-Files is awesome.
Adult Written byprincesskitten June 28, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Delightfully scary

While I love the X-Files, I think it may be a little too scary for kids. I recommend it for ages 13+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byOncomingStorm January 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best sci-fi of the millenium

This show is incredible.Violence,yes, but-these days- most kids have seen worse by the time they're eight or nine.This show has great characters and fascinating storylines,with at least one or two good funny moments per episode.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

An amazingly disturbing show. In a good way.

Love this show, but it isn't really for kids younger than 11, especially ones that get scared easily. The most inappropriate episodes to watch out for are 2shy, squeeze, oubliette, and gender bender. 2shy and gender bender are also a bit sexual. The episode oubliette is very disturbing, as a man kidnapped young teenagers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Parent of a 1, 8, and 10 year old Written bygenfoster78 November 26, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not for kids.

I enjoyed this movie very much.. I grew up watching the X- Files.. So for me it was a good movie.. I dont think I would let my kids watch it.... But some might.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written byChris LP April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A classic scary show

This program is a great show. The only 3 issues that overprotecting parents may have is the mild, but strong, sexual content that is most commonly more disturbing than sexual. Weird fetishes such as inbreeding and in one episode there was a situation where somebody would have sex with another person, then steal that person's gender to become somebody else of the opposite sex. Then the violence is pretty strong too. Then there is the scare factor which is more creepy and chilling than scary.
Teen, 15 years old Written byRGG270 June 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The X Files is a great show for anyone who likes aliens and the ideas of the human mind that are uncharted.

The X Files is a great show, the acting is good and plot and character development is smooth sailing. The only thing to worry about may be the homicides in the show for younger teens, other than that, you'll be solving crimes right along side Mulder and Scully :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byzacpb19 August 21, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for young children

The X files is a very good SI-FI Show but it is very freaky in episodes and jumpy and sometimes very nightmare ish so I can say that kids will not like it what so ever. There are some episodes that a 13 year old could get away with watching but alot of episodes are pretty disturbing and spooky and could be very scary for a young child. I remember seeing an episode from season 2 and when I was little and I sh.t myself. Very creepy show but good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byCalvin Bauer October 15, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing.

A very well written and produced T.V. show. In my top three shows ( at least). Can be intense though.
Kid, 10 years old May 10, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good for all ages [but under 9]

i love it,my concern is only if you or your kids are easy easy to cry. p.s don't not let your kids wach it because your scard easy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byDarudeLover April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Rocks!

I only just started watching the X-files, but already I think it is the best show ever created. I never used to watch much TV, but then I found the X-files. There may be creepy monsters, but they aren't really scary. The only creepy part of the show is the theme song, which also rocks.
Teen, 13 years old Written byxffanatic04 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW EVER

the xf in my screename stands for the x-files. I think its an awesome show. I got an autographed pic Gillian Anderson. (and no thats y I like the show)
Adult Written byLoverOfFilms June 28, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Fantastic!!! At some points very cheesy, gruesome, and violent. Although it doesn't show very much, this is my personal favorite and I would recommend this to teens, but be careful and know your child, and make sure that he/she isn't scared very easily.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byBryce 1 June 16, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great, intriguing and scary

I think that the x files are a very intriguing show that is scary at times but has a great storyline but at times it scared me to death ps the episode home in season 4 is rated TVMA i highly suggest you don't watch the episode
Adult Written bygamechangerz June 11, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great series

I think it is ok for kids like me who like movies like this i think it is appropriate for kids 10+ because it can get scary sometimes but all you have to think about is Mulder and Scully never die and nothing happens to them they only downside for children is the bad influence of the "Cigar smoking man" which can also be funny at the same time. I think this is appropriate
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfoxmalmage13 June 4, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

The X-Files

One of my all-time favorite shows, half of the time it can be very disturbing and quite frightning.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byanamaranza May 3, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Compelling Show

As you go through the television series, you and your fellow viewers experience a complexity within all of these characters, a dynamic and static balance. Scully and Mulder go through many situations, some mysterious, some urgent, some romantic*, some funny, and some outright grotesque. The X-Files is truly an amazing show that one can be intrigued and inspired by, especially with how much of a role model these characters are. Scully and Mulder are seen to have flaws, but nonetheless work very hard to solve cases. This show teaches not only diligence, but also instills an appreciation for our planet in its viewers. *I do suggest reading a review of the episode beforehand to be aware of any scenes that display sexually implicit/explicit scenes, which only happen very rarely. I honestly think that how to measure whether a kid should watch a show is how much maturity they display.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 8, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing sci-fi series definitely not for kids

The X-Files was made in the 1990's, so it is definitely not as scary as if it were made today. However, there is quite a bit of violence, and younger kids will find it extremely creepy and scary. There is a small amount of swearing (a*s, b*tch, sh*t, etc.), and there is one episode which revolves around a person who can switch genders that kills people in the "throws of passion." The shows major story arc is about a government conspiracy to cover up extraterrestrial activity, and many other episodes depict local police stations and other government agencies in a bad light, which aren't the best messages for younger kids. But it is still an amazing show and I definitely recommend it to any tween or above.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages